Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Concerto for a Changing Climate

a musician developed a cello concerto for our warming planet

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, July 5, 2013/Categories: sustainability, art and design, environment, climate change

If music was being written to accompany our warming climate, a solo cello concerto is a good start. Daniel Crawford, a University of Minnesota music student, in collaboration with the University's Institute on the Environment, used his cello to communicate temperature data over a 130 year time-line.

Climate change is typically illustrated by charts and maps showing yearly changes in temperatures. Using data gathered since the 1880's, the young musician took a different approach and used data sonification to convert the temperature records into musical notes. The result was Song for our Warming Planet, created as part of his internship with the Institute's geography professor.

As Crawford commented: "climate change is a defining issue for our generation and it's still not something that many people understand."




Visualization of 'big data' is increasingly important as volumes of scientific measurements are gathered by multiple technologies. Combining art and science via music is a perfect way to communicate the importance of the underlying information.

WHB
Print

Number of views (5722)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Hawaii's Vanishing Birds Monday, August 7, 20170

Hawaii's Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's endemic birds are declining fast.

Catching An Eclipse Event Sunday, August 6, 20170

Catching An Eclipse Event

Prepare for some very cool eclipse events.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 5, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Blue Genes and Chrysanthemums Friday, August 4, 20170

Blue Genes and Chrysanthemums

Blue genes for fashionable flowers.

National Tree Day Wednesday, August 2, 20170

National Tree Day

Tree planting goes national in Australia.

The First Flower Tuesday, August 1, 20170

The First Flower

Reconstructing the evolution of flowers, step by step.

Radar Mapping Glaciers Monday, July 31, 20170

Radar Mapping Glaciers

Radar for glacier ice-loss maps.

It's Hotter Saturday, July 29, 20170

It's Hotter

The data is in and summers are hotter.

Supporting Public Lands Friday, July 28, 20170

Supporting Public Lands

Join the campaign to protect public lands.

Advice To A Young Scientist Wednesday, July 26, 20170

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

Terrestrial Orchids of SW Australia: Plant of the Month Tuesday, July 25, 20170

Terrestrial Orchids of SW Australia: Plant of the Month

Rare plants from a little known biological 'hotspot'.

What Rivers Can Tell About Earth's History Saturday, July 22, 20170

What Rivers Can Tell About Earth's History

Rivers tells us about Earth's history.

Holographic Microbes Friday, July 21, 20170

Holographic Microbes

Exobiology as holograms.

When Monsoons Arrive Wednesday, July 19, 20170

When Monsoons Arrive

Monsoons bring benefits and problems as they arrive.

Reef Fish and Oil Don't Mix Tuesday, July 18, 20170

Reef Fish and Oil Don't Mix

Oil affects fish behavior, badly.

Pluto, the movie Sunday, July 16, 20170

Pluto, the movie

NASA movie of Pluto.

Juno's Jupiter: the Great Red Spot Friday, July 14, 20170

Juno's Jupiter: the Great Red Spot

Juno's deep view of Jupiter's Great Red Spot.

Lights, Action, CRISPR Thursday, July 13, 20170

Lights, Action, CRISPR

The era of using DNA as a storage device begins.