Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Concerto for a Changing Climate

a musician developed a cello concerto for our warming planet

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, July 5, 2013/Categories: sustainability, art and design, environment, climate change

If music was being written to accompany our warming climate, a solo cello concerto is a good start. Daniel Crawford, a University of Minnesota music student, in collaboration with the University's Institute on the Environment, used his cello to communicate temperature data over a 130 year time-line.

Climate change is typically illustrated by charts and maps showing yearly changes in temperatures. Using data gathered since the 1880's, the young musician took a different approach and used data sonification to convert the temperature records into musical notes. The result was Song for our Warming Planet, created as part of his internship with the Institute's geography professor.

As Crawford commented: "climate change is a defining issue for our generation and it's still not something that many people understand."




Visualization of 'big data' is increasingly important as volumes of scientific measurements are gathered by multiple technologies. Combining art and science via music is a perfect way to communicate the importance of the underlying information.

WHB
Print

Number of views (7603)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Friday, January 4, 20190

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost a 1000 years ago.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Thursday, January 3, 20190

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

An animated story of de-extension.

New Years Flyby Tuesday, January 1, 20190

New Years Flyby

A robotic explorer beyond the known frontier.

Caving on Mars Monday, December 31, 20180

Caving on Mars

Living underground on Mars.

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2 Saturday, December 29, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2

Krakatau is again active.

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Friday, December 28, 20180

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program for fossil fuel sobriety.

A Rover's Photo Album Thursday, December 27, 20180

A Rover's Photo Album

Martian geology seen by Curiosity. 

A Frozen Crater Lake Tuesday, December 25, 20180

A Frozen Crater Lake

A lake on Mars.

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space Friday, December 21, 20180

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space

A photograph that changed perceptions.

Surf's Up, Way Up Wednesday, December 19, 20180

Surf's Up, Way Up

Stay well back!

Rare Bird Rediscovered Tuesday, December 18, 20180

Rare Bird Rediscovered

Rediscovered cloud forest species.

Plant Intelligence Monday, December 17, 20180

Plant Intelligence

An understanding of intelligence in plants.

Plant of the Month Saturday, December 15, 20180

Plant of the Month

An occasional series of botanical treats.

Life on Mars, 2020 Thursday, December 13, 20180

Life on Mars, 2020

A new Mars rover will search for past life.

Arctic Report Card Wednesday, December 12, 20180

Arctic Report Card

Arctic changes make records again.

Goodbye Voyager 2 Monday, December 10, 20180

Goodbye Voyager 2

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space

A Volcano & Climate Change Sunday, December 9, 20180

A Volcano & Climate Change

A Canadian volcano re-awakens.
Australia's Solar Battery Success Friday, December 7, 20180

Australia's Solar Battery Success

Tesla battery saved $40million in 1st year.