Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon

a straight forward climate solution exists...price carbon polution

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, June 30, 2013/Categories: sustainability, climate change

What ecologists have known for some time, economists are coming to realize as well: if you want to make a real impact on the climate crisis, develop a price for carbon pollution.

When a single price/ton for the generated greenhouse gas is developed, market mechanisms would respond with efficiency adjustments. This is not a top-down dictate from a bureaucracy but recognizes the power of technological and business management creativity released from the bottom-up by proper pricing. NPR's Planet Money aired an excellent perspective on how:

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change

Not only would the environment greatly benefit from such a climate solution but the economy would benefit from new products and services as well. Whether or not this carbon pricing approach will ever come into effect is anyone's guess, but a lot depends on the answer.

WHB
Print

Number of views (11114)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Projects That Matter Tuesday, June 4, 20190

Projects That Matter

Conservation, one project at a time.

Photography abd Endangered Cultures Monday, June 3, 20190

Photography abd Endangered Cultures

Photography for cultural preservation.

Ice Age Deglaciation Saturday, June 1, 20190

Ice Age Deglaciation

The Ice age collapses.
Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans Friday, May 31, 20190

Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans

New technology to protect the oceans.

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl Thursday, May 30, 20190

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl

Bio-bots for exploring alien environments.

Pixar Magic & Science Tuesday, May 28, 20190

Pixar Magic & Science

Animation telling science stories.

UFO's...just maybe? Monday, May 27, 20190

UFO's...just maybe?

Are UFO's being tracked?

Finance & Climate Change Saturday, May 25, 20190

Finance & Climate Change

Financial tools could tackle climate change.

World Turtle Day Thursday, May 23, 20190

World Turtle Day

A day to learn about turtles and tortoises.

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs Wednesday, May 22, 20190

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs

Intelligent designs from nature.

PenguinWatch Wants You Tuesday, May 21, 20190

PenguinWatch Wants You

A call for "citizen scientists".

A Day for Bees Monday, May 20, 20190

A Day for Bees

World Bee Day is here.

James Balog: '1000 Cuts' Sunday, May 19, 20190

James Balog: '1000 Cuts'

Viewing changes to Utah's Canyonlands.

Dark Continents Beneath Us Friday, May 17, 20190

Dark Continents Beneath Us

There are 'lost worlds' underground.

Fire & Ice Thursday, May 16, 20190

Fire & Ice

Visual artists tell powerful environmental stories.

Rewilding Nature Tuesday, May 14, 20190

Rewilding Nature

Restoring once complex ecosystems.

Extreme Shrimps and Ocean Worlds Monday, May 13, 20190

Extreme Shrimps and Ocean Worlds

Extreme shrimps? How would we know?

Fog Catchers Saturday, May 11, 20190

Fog Catchers

Fogged-in takes on new meaning.