Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon

a straight forward climate solution exists...price carbon polution

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, June 30, 2013/Categories: sustainability, climate change

What ecologists have known for some time, economists are coming to realize as well: if you want to make a real impact on the climate crisis, develop a price for carbon pollution.

When a single price/ton for the generated greenhouse gas is developed, market mechanisms would respond with efficiency adjustments. This is not a top-down dictate from a bureaucracy but recognizes the power of technological and business management creativity released from the bottom-up by proper pricing. NPR's Planet Money aired an excellent perspective on how:

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change

Not only would the environment greatly benefit from such a climate solution but the economy would benefit from new products and services as well. Whether or not this carbon pricing approach will ever come into effect is anyone's guess, but a lot depends on the answer.

WHB
Print

Number of views (10169)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Photography's Silent Drama Friday, February 8, 20190

Photography's Silent Drama

Sebastiao Salgado

Billion Dollar Disasters Wednesday, February 6, 20190

Billion Dollar Disasters

Extreme weather events are multiplying.

Earth's Driest Place Tuesday, February 5, 20190

Earth's Driest Place

The Atacama as Mars analog.

Risk Independence Sunday, February 3, 20190

Risk Independence

The new frontiers of Sundance storytelling.

Polar Extremes Friday, February 1, 20190

Polar Extremes

Bi-polar disorders.

Nepal Reflections Wednesday, January 30, 20190

Nepal Reflections

Remembrances from Nepal

Visualizing Climate Data Wednesday, January 30, 20190

Visualizing Climate Data

NASA & NOAA use illustration tools.

A Polar Vortex Descends Tuesday, January 29, 20190

A Polar Vortex Descends

Another extreme weather event.

Arctic Greening Monday, January 28, 20190

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening, and fast.

Melting Tundra Sunday, January 27, 20190

Melting Tundra

Permafrost can explode.

Launching Rocks, Building Mountains Friday, January 25, 20190

Launching Rocks, Building Mountains

Traveling by bus can be hazardous.

"The Garden of Eden Is No More" Wednesday, January 23, 20190

"The Garden of Eden Is No More"

David Attenborough interviewed at Davos forum.

Look & See Tuesday, January 22, 20190

Look & See

A Portrait of Wendell Berry.

The Power of Empathy Monday, January 21, 20190

The Power of Empathy

Animating empathy.
Archaeology from Space Sunday, January 20, 20190

Archaeology from Space

Rmote-sensing for finding lost cities.

George the Poet on Climate Change Saturday, January 19, 20190

George the Poet on Climate Change

A poet takes on climate change.

Poseidon is Watching Thursday, January 17, 20190

Poseidon is Watching

Poseidon watches his domain.

Interactive Earth Wednesday, January 16, 20190

Interactive Earth

Mapping planetary changes.