Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon

a straight forward climate solution exists...price carbon polution

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, June 30, 2013/Categories: sustainability, climate change

What ecologists have known for some time, economists are coming to realize as well: if you want to make a real impact on the climate crisis, develop a price for carbon pollution.

When a single price/ton for the generated greenhouse gas is developed, market mechanisms would respond with efficiency adjustments. This is not a top-down dictate from a bureaucracy but recognizes the power of technological and business management creativity released from the bottom-up by proper pricing. NPR's Planet Money aired an excellent perspective on how:

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change

Not only would the environment greatly benefit from such a climate solution but the economy would benefit from new products and services as well. Whether or not this carbon pricing approach will ever come into effect is anyone's guess, but a lot depends on the answer.

WHB
Print

Number of views (9826)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Tannins Producing Art Wednesday, November 28, 20180

Tannins Producing Art

Space images as abstract art.

InSight on Mars Monday, November 26, 20180

InSight on Mars

InSight has landed!

3D Corals Printed Sunday, November 25, 20180

3D Corals Printed

3D Printing for restoring corals.

Where Do Good Ideas Come From? Saturday, November 24, 20180

Where Do Good Ideas Come From?

A storyteller suggests an answer.

My Life As A Turkey Wednesday, November 21, 20180

My Life As A Turkey

A true turkey story for Thanksgiving.

A New Tree of Life Tuesday, November 20, 20180

A New Tree of Life

Where are you on the Tree of Life?
The Future is in Hydrogen...maybe Sunday, November 18, 20180

The Future is in Hydrogen...maybe

Potentially a renewable energy breakthrough.

Forgotten Microbe Could Transform Medicine Friday, November 16, 20180

Forgotten Microbe Could Transform Medicine

Phages may come to the rescue.

Acid Lakes Wednesday, November 14, 20180

Acid Lakes

No swimming in the lake.

Remembrance Poppies Monday, November 12, 20180

Remembrance Poppies

Using poppies to remember.

Orion Rising Sunday, November 11, 20180

Orion Rising

The Greeks named the constellations.
Alpine Indicators Saturday, November 10, 20180

Alpine Indicators

Biological indicators are migrating uphill fast.

Wood Wide Web Thursday, November 8, 20180

Wood Wide Web

Trees "talk" to each other.

Animating Ice Tuesday, November 6, 20180

Animating Ice

What would Greenland look without ice?

Time fo VOTE Monday, November 5, 20180

Time fo VOTE

Time for you to Vote!

Bison Restoration on National Bison Day Saturday, November 3, 20180

Bison Restoration on National Bison Day

A day to honor a national symbol.

Light Painting Friday, November 2, 20180

Light Painting

Nature creates a 'light painting'.

Very Old and Very Alive Thursday, November 1, 20180

Very Old and Very Alive

How old is old?