Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon

a straight forward climate solution exists...price carbon polution

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, June 30, 2013/Categories: sustainability, climate change

What ecologists have known for some time, economists are coming to realize as well: if you want to make a real impact on the climate crisis, develop a price for carbon pollution.

When a single price/ton for the generated greenhouse gas is developed, market mechanisms would respond with efficiency adjustments. This is not a top-down dictate from a bureaucracy but recognizes the power of technological and business management creativity released from the bottom-up by proper pricing. NPR's Planet Money aired an excellent perspective on how:

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change

Not only would the environment greatly benefit from such a climate solution but the economy would benefit from new products and services as well. Whether or not this carbon pricing approach will ever come into effect is anyone's guess, but a lot depends on the answer.

WHB
Print

Number of views (6596)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.

Irma & Jose Together Thursday, September 7, 20170

Irma & Jose Together

Two hurricanes viewed in real-time data.

As Irma Approaches Wednesday, September 6, 20170

As Irma Approaches

Hurricane Irma is arriving 1-week after Harvey!

Endangered Species...Individual Actions Sunday, September 3, 20170

Endangered Species...Individual Actions

Individuals involved directly in species conservation.

Juno as Monet Friday, September 1, 20170

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge Thursday, August 31, 20170

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge

Remembering good times before the bad.

Parking Lot Wednesday, August 30, 20170

Parking Lot

"They paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event Tuesday, August 29, 20170

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event

Harvey is breaking all rainfall records and it's still raining.
What Climate Models Show & Predict Sunday, August 27, 20170

What Climate Models Show & Predict

Weather events are amplified by climate change.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 26, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Here Comes Harvey Thursday, August 24, 20170

Here Comes Harvey

Hurricane Harvey carrying a 'waterworld' of rain.

Environmental Space Monitoring Wednesday, August 23, 20170

Environmental Space Monitoring

Volcanic eruption seen from space.

Tetons in Totality Monday, August 21, 20170

Tetons in Totality

A national and local eclipse festival.

Night Vision Thursday, August 17, 20170

Night Vision

Tracking ice cracks in thermal infrared.

Elemental Haikus Wednesday, August 16, 20170

Elemental Haikus

A table of elemental poems with purpose.

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him? Tuesday, August 15, 20170

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him?

Phillipe Cousteau invisions a new environmental movement.