Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Chasing Volcanoes

volcanos remain dramatically beautiful and still mysterious

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, March 13, 2013/Categories: natural history, photography

Volcanoes are impressive. I thought of this when a good friend of Riled Up, James Balog, the photographer who gained international fame for his graphic time-lapse studies of climate change in the film  Chasing Ice , wrote to say he was on vacation in Hawaii  "chasing volcanoes".

NASA has just released an image of Japan's Sakurajima volcano that erupted in January. Magma shoots away from the crater's surface from deep below. The photograph is notable for the lightning bolts generated near the summit. Why this occurs just like with common thunderstorms remains a research topic and a mystery.


Sakurajima Volcano with Lightning  (credit: NASA/Martin Rietze)

Years earlier, I was traveling in Central America and invited to view Pacaya volcano in Guatemala that happened to be erupting. I thought we would drive to a 'scenic overlook' and observe the eruption from a safe distance but after driving several hours in the middle of the night we reached the summit with the lava flowing below us. This was probably not the smartest thing I have ever done but I will never forget the experience.

It will be exciting to see the visual results of James Balog's "chasing volcanos" investigations even if they don't relate to climate change.

WHB
Print

Number of views (12954)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Fixing the Climate Crisis in 2 Minutes Monday, June 4, 20180

Fixing the Climate Crisis in 2 Minutes

An economist explains how to fix CO2 pollution in 2 minutes.

Compassion for Creation Sunday, June 3, 20180

Compassion for Creation

2 spiritual leaders have spoken loudly about the environment.

Building a Forest...quickly Friday, June 1, 20180

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Turtle Cams Wednesday, May 30, 20180

Turtle Cams

Digital technology can help wildlife conservation.

Prom Beauties Tuesday, May 29, 20181

Prom Beauties

Australian natural beauties preserved.

Kilauea Eruption From Space Monday, May 28, 20180

Kilauea Eruption From Space

Infrared imaging of lava from space.

Tibet and the Power of Photography Saturday, May 26, 20180

Tibet and the Power of Photography

With 75,000 images a photographer can tell a story.

Canyoneering in Antarctica Friday, May 25, 20180

Canyoneering in Antarctica

Canyons buried under the Antarctic Icecap.

Tree Huggers Wednesday, May 23, 20180

Tree Huggers

Thermography shows why Koalas hug trees.

A Long Drive Tuesday, May 22, 20180

A Long Drive

Reflections of an earlier time and place.

Artifical Photosysnthesis Saturday, May 19, 20180

Artifical Photosysnthesis

If artificial photosynthesis works, hydrogen could be a big energy source.
Saving Darwin's Finches Friday, May 18, 20180

Saving Darwin's Finches

What does it take to save a species?

Khumbu update, Conrad Anker Wednesday, May 16, 20180

Khumbu update, Conrad Anker

Climbing center progress report.

The Weight of Mountains Tuesday, May 15, 20180

The Weight of Mountains

The process that creates and destroys mountains is fascinating.
ExoGeysers Confirmed Monday, May 14, 20180

ExoGeysers Confirmed

Europa exploration is now on a 'fast track'.

A Mother's Day Remembrance Sunday, May 13, 20180

A Mother's Day Remembrance

A greeting from space.

Mars-copter Friday, May 11, 20180

Mars-copter

Testing a Mars flying machine.

California Goes Solar Thursday, May 10, 20180

California Goes Solar

California leads again into the 21st Century.