Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Chasing Volcanoes

volcanos remain dramatically beautiful and still mysterious

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, March 13, 2013/Categories: natural history, photography

Volcanoes are impressive. I thought of this when a good friend of Riled Up, James Balog, the photographer who gained international fame for his graphic time-lapse studies of climate change in the film  Chasing Ice , wrote to say he was on vacation in Hawaii  "chasing volcanoes".

NASA has just released an image of Japan's Sakurajima volcano that erupted in January. Magma shoots away from the crater's surface from deep below. The photograph is notable for the lightning bolts generated near the summit. Why this occurs just like with common thunderstorms remains a research topic and a mystery.


Sakurajima Volcano with Lightning  (credit: NASA/Martin Rietze)

Years earlier, I was traveling in Central America and invited to view Pacaya volcano in Guatemala that happened to be erupting. I thought we would drive to a 'scenic overlook' and observe the eruption from a safe distance but after driving several hours in the middle of the night we reached the summit with the lava flowing below us. This was probably not the smartest thing I have ever done but I will never forget the experience.

It will be exciting to see the visual results of James Balog's "chasing volcanos" investigations even if they don't relate to climate change.

WHB
Print

Number of views (10836)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
The Beauty of Math, Corals, and Crochet Sunday, November 20, 20160

The Beauty of Math, Corals, and Crochet

How can math and crochet help corals?

Curious George Friday, November 18, 20160

Curious George

Whales are very curious creatures...like humans.

A CO2 History Thursday, November 17, 20160

A CO2 History

Measurements from 800,000 BCE to 2016.

Abalone Rescue Wednesday, November 16, 20160

Abalone Rescue

Thousands of shellfish were exposed in New Zealand.

Climate Change & Ecosystems Monday, November 14, 20160

Climate Change & Ecosystems

Climate change and ecosystem processes are now quantified.

Projects That Matter Saturday, November 12, 20160

Projects That Matter

Conservation successes happen one project at a time.

Climate Signals, 2 Friday, November 11, 20160

Climate Signals, 2

Climate signals in 'real time'.

Non-Life to Life Thursday, November 10, 20160

Non-Life to Life

Exploring Space Tuesday, November 8, 20160

Exploring Space

New accomplishments offer 3 fine examples of human intelligence

Vanishing Lake Monday, November 7, 20160

Vanishing Lake

The Great Salt Lake is vanishing.
 

Secrets of Rare Plants Saturday, November 5, 20160

Secrets of Rare Plants

The importance of botanical rarities.

Intelligence of Plants Friday, November 4, 20160

Intelligence of Plants

Amazing new understandings of intelligence in plants.

Fashion Accessory Wednesday, November 2, 20160

Fashion Accessory

Consider Lionfish as a fashion statement.

From Glacier...To Lake Tuesday, November 1, 20160

From Glacier...To Lake

A once glacier-filled valley is now a lake...in 30 years!             
Sadness for Reefs Monday, October 31, 20160

Sadness for Reefs

The  grades on the reef report card aren't good.

Short but Spectacular Sunday, October 30, 20160

Short but Spectacular

Aspen trees postcard.

The Last Ocean, part 2 Saturday, October 29, 20160

The Last Ocean, part 2

The Last Ocean is finally protected as a marine reserve.

Status of Plants & Animals, 2016 Friday, October 28, 20160

Status of Plants & Animals, 2016

New reports on the status of Life on Earth were released.