Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Chasing Volcanoes

volcanos remain dramatically beautiful and still mysterious

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, March 13, 2013/Categories: natural history, photography

Volcanoes are impressive. I thought of this when a good friend of Riled Up, James Balog, the photographer who gained international fame for his graphic time-lapse studies of climate change in the film  Chasing Ice , wrote to say he was on vacation in Hawaii  "chasing volcanoes".

NASA has just released an image of Japan's Sakurajima volcano that erupted in January. Magma shoots away from the crater's surface from deep below. The photograph is notable for the lightning bolts generated near the summit. Why this occurs just like with common thunderstorms remains a research topic and a mystery.


Sakurajima Volcano with Lightning  (credit: NASA/Martin Rietze)

Years earlier, I was traveling in Central America and invited to view Pacaya volcano in Guatemala that happened to be erupting. I thought we would drive to a 'scenic overlook' and observe the eruption from a safe distance but after driving several hours in the middle of the night we reached the summit with the lava flowing below us. This was probably not the smartest thing I have ever done but I will never forget the experience.

It will be exciting to see the visual results of James Balog's "chasing volcanos" investigations even if they don't relate to climate change.

WHB
Print

Number of views (12704)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Geologic History on Earth and Mars Monday, April 9, 20180

Geologic History on Earth and Mars

Satellite images show similar geology.

Wolves Change Rivers Saturday, April 7, 20180

Wolves Change Rivers

Ecological restoration by wolves.

How To Be An ROV Explorer Friday, April 6, 20180

How To Be An ROV Explorer

Become a DIY explorer.

Conservation Dollars Thursday, April 5, 20180

Conservation Dollars

In celebration of The Conservation Alliance

Science at Sundance Tuesday, April 3, 20180

Science at Sundance

Art & Science collaborations can produce amazing results.

Landforms & Walls Monday, April 2, 20180

Landforms & Walls

Geomorphology complicates building walls.

Compassion in Action Saturday, March 31, 20180

Compassion in Action

A pilot rescues a young chimp.

Ecology Restored One Tree At A Time Friday, March 30, 20180

Ecology Restored One Tree At A Time

A playbook for ecological restoration.

Supernovas Animated Thursday, March 29, 20180

Supernovas Animated

Animations of White dwarfs exploding.

Plant Fossils and Rapid Climate Change Wednesday, March 28, 20180

Plant Fossils and Rapid Climate Change

Fossil records of extreme climate change past.

A Life in Translation Monday, March 26, 20180

A Life in Translation

Can high technology recover ancient wisdom?

Plant of the Month: National Eucalypt Day Saturday, March 24, 20180

Plant of the Month: National Eucalypt Day

A national day in celebration of tree.

A Fungus Future? Friday, March 23, 20180

A Fungus Future?

A natural alternative to plastic.

Louie Schwartzberg on Gratitude Wednesday, March 21, 20180

Louie Schwartzberg on Gratitude

Being mindful of gratitude as a daily mantra.

New Solar Developments Tuesday, March 20, 20180

New Solar Developments

3 exciting solar developments.

Gene Editing with CRISPR Monday, March 19, 20180

Gene Editing with CRISPR

CRISPR has been adopted by laboratories worldwide.

To The Future of Fly-fishing Sunday, March 18, 20180

To The Future of Fly-fishing

Fly-fishing's future and rivers.

Masters of Their Environment Saturday, March 17, 20180

Masters of Their Environment

Cephalopods are masters of disguise.