Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Chasing Volcanoes

volcanos remain dramatically beautiful and still mysterious

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, March 13, 2013/Categories: natural history, photography

Volcanoes are impressive. I thought of this when a good friend of Riled Up, James Balog, the photographer who gained international fame for his graphic time-lapse studies of climate change in the film  Chasing Ice , wrote to say he was on vacation in Hawaii  "chasing volcanoes".

NASA has just released an image of Japan's Sakurajima volcano that erupted in January. Magma shoots away from the crater's surface from deep below. The photograph is notable for the lightning bolts generated near the summit. Why this occurs just like with common thunderstorms remains a research topic and a mystery.


Sakurajima Volcano with Lightning  (credit: NASA/Martin Rietze)

Years earlier, I was traveling in Central America and invited to view Pacaya volcano in Guatemala that happened to be erupting. I thought we would drive to a 'scenic overlook' and observe the eruption from a safe distance but after driving several hours in the middle of the night we reached the summit with the lava flowing below us. This was probably not the smartest thing I have ever done but I will never forget the experience.

It will be exciting to see the visual results of James Balog's "chasing volcanos" investigations even if they don't relate to climate change.

WHB
Print

Number of views (10429)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Phoenix Corals Wednesday, August 17, 20160

Phoenix Corals

Like the Phoenix bird, some reefs are showing recovery from bleaching.
Extreme Rains & Floods Monday, August 15, 20160

Extreme Rains & Floods

Catastrophic rains and floods are underway.
 

It's Climate Change so, Game On Sunday, August 14, 20160

It's Climate Change so, Game On

Bring it on, the climate change challenge!

Fishing for Plastic Saturday, August 13, 20160

Fishing for Plastic

It takes garbage to make a boat.

A New Plastics Economy Friday, August 12, 20160

A New Plastics Economy

A more sustainable economy for plastics is envisioned.

Climate Time Machine Wednesday, August 10, 20160

Climate Time Machine

A 'time machine' has been developed to visualize climate data.
Simplifying Complexity Tuesday, August 9, 20160

Simplifying Complexity

Are complex ecosystems also hard to understand?

Empathetic Whales Monday, August 8, 20160

Empathetic Whales

Humpback whales appear to show empathy towards other marine species.
Solar Trackers Saturday, August 6, 20160

Solar Trackers

Sunflowers are experts at solar tracking.

Mud Flow Staircase Friday, August 5, 20160

Mud Flow Staircase

The Grand Staircase can be awesome and deadly, sometimes together.
Turtle Campaign Wednesday, August 3, 20160

Turtle Campaign

Sea turtles are being helped by a new conservation campaign.

Slip-slidin' Away Tuesday, August 2, 20160

Slip-slidin' Away

Permafrost in Denali NP is sliding away like butter.

Rain Bursts Monday, August 1, 20160

Rain Bursts

Extreme rain events and high ocean temps become common.

Bad Bugs Sunday, July 31, 20160

Bad Bugs

Caterpillar-caused defoliation was photographed from space.

Rockin' Science Friday, July 29, 20160

Rockin' Science

Music comes to the rescue for science.

The Wild Edge Thursday, July 28, 20160

The Wild Edge

See a 'wild edge' from the Baja to the Beaufort.

Bobbing Boulders Wednesday, July 27, 20160

Bobbing Boulders

Building landforms can be a long or short term process.

De-extinction, the Good News Tuesday, July 26, 20160

De-extinction, the Good News

De-extinction of lost species may be closer than you realize.