EasyDNNNews

EasyDNNNews

Banners

EasyDNNNews

Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Chasing Volcanoes

volcanos remain dramatically beautiful and still mysterious

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, March 13, 2013/Categories: natural history, photography

Volcanoes are impressive. I thought of this when a good friend of Riled Up, James Balog, the photographer who gained international fame for his graphic time-lapse studies of climate change in the film  Chasing Ice , wrote to say he was on vacation in Hawaii  "chasing volcanoes".

NASA has just released an image of Japan's Sakurajima volcano that erupted in January. Magma shoots away from the crater's surface from deep below. The photograph is notable for the lightning bolts generated near the summit. Why this occurs just like with common thunderstorms remains a research topic and a mystery.


Sakurajima Volcano with Lightning  (credit: NASA/Martin Rietze)

Years earlier, I was traveling in Central America and invited to view Pacaya volcano in Guatemala that happened to be erupting. I thought we would drive to a 'scenic overlook' and observe the eruption from a safe distance but after driving several hours in the middle of the night we reached the summit with the lava flowing below us. This was probably not the smartest thing I have ever done but I will never forget the experience.

It will be exciting to see the visual results of James Balog's "chasing volcanos" investigations even if they don't relate to climate change.

WHB
Print

Number of views (11584)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x

Rains in Antarctica Friday, June 16, 20170

Rains in Antarctica

It has rained in Antarctica, a polar desert.

Mud Creek Slide Thursday, June 15, 20170

Mud Creek Slide

The California coastline just increased in size.

Photographing Endangered Cultures Wednesday, June 14, 20170

Photographing Endangered Cultures

Photography as a tool for cultural preservation.

A Tale of Two Glaciers Tuesday, June 13, 20170

A Tale of Two Glaciers

Glaciers are climate change barometers.

Art & Science Saturday, June 10, 20170

Art & Science

Artists and scientists at work.

Poseidon is Watching Friday, June 9, 20170

Poseidon is Watching

Poseidon watches over his ocean domains.

21st Century Energy Thursday, June 8, 20170

21st Century Energy

Intelligent designers and their 21st Century energy solutions.

Juno & El Greco Wednesday, June 7, 20170

Juno & El Greco

Polar animation from Jupiter.

World Environment Day Monday, June 5, 20170

World Environment Day

World Environment Day should be celebrated every day.

EasyDNNNews

Rocks at Rest Sunday, June 4, 20170

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a resting rock.

'Next Gen' Environmentalist Saturday, June 3, 20170

'Next Gen' Environmentalist

Where are the next environmentalists?

The Colours of Australia are Fading Friday, June 2, 20170

The Colours of Australia are Fading

Major changes have occurred recently to Australian forests.

The Greening Arctic Thursday, June 1, 20170

The Greening Arctic

The Arctic is becoming far greener and very fast.

When Lakes Collapse Wednesday, May 31, 20170

When Lakes Collapse

Detecting Ancient Water Tuesday, May 30, 20170

Detecting Ancient Water

A dry lake discovery on Mars.

Super Storms & Cloudscapes Sunday, May 28, 20170

Super Storms & Cloudscapes

Juno as 'art house' photographer.

Super Coral...a Super Hero? Friday, May 26, 20170

Super Coral...a Super Hero?

Heat-tolerant corals may help reef restoration.

A Climate Solution Where Everyone Wins Thursday, May 25, 20170

A Climate Solution Where Everyone Wins

An entrepreneur's vision of solving climate change.