EasyDNNNews

EasyDNNNews

Banners

EasyDNNNews

Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

External to What?

An externality is a cost not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. It should be.

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, March 10, 2013/Categories: sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Externalities are just that, external to an analysis or model. They shouldn't be.

An externality is a cost that is not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. In the case of environmental externalities, effects such as air and water pollution, species extinction, and loss of soils, they are all negative. They are now becoming central to how best to control carbon pollution proactively and effectively.


Shi-Ling Hsu is an instructor at Florida State University and an expert in environmental and natural resource law, climate change, and economics. He has taken a big step forward with his book: The Case for a Carbon Tax in addressing the existential externality of carbon pollution and the lack of its proper pricing. In a post from his law school, Hsu summarizes the points he believes would move us forward to an:

Effective Climate Policy, The Case for a Carbon Tax




Economics and product pricing models may not be at the top of your reading list but you should be interested in their external affects on environmental sustainability.

WHB
Print

Number of views (6925)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x

Fashion Accessory Wednesday, September 5, 20180

Fashion Accessory

Lionfish as a fashion statement.

Rewilding Tuesday, September 4, 20180

Rewilding

A 'silent spring' could become a 'wild summer' 
Auroras Animated Sunday, September 2, 20180

Auroras Animated

Saturn's auroras imaged by Hubble.

Global Weirding Report Friday, August 31, 20180

Global Weirding Report

Climate change now unfolds in 'real time'.

The Atlas of Emotions Thursday, August 30, 20180

The Atlas of Emotions

The Dalai Lama says: "if you want to find a new world, you need a map".
Save the Oceans, Feed the world Wednesday, August 29, 20180

Save the Oceans, Feed the world

The Oceans are hurting.

in vino veritas Tuesday, August 28, 20180

in vino veritas

Blending art & science....making wine!

Going, Going, Gone... Monday, August 27, 20180

Going, Going, Gone...

A retreating glacier may soon be gone.

Reversing both Desertification and Climate Change Saturday, August 25, 20180

Reversing both Desertification and Climate Change

A hopeful method for restoring degraded lands.

EasyDNNNews

Cryovolcanoes Thursday, August 23, 20180

Cryovolcanoes

Chasing ice-volcanoes!

Secrets of Rare Plants Wednesday, August 22, 20180

Secrets of Rare Plants

They still offer important discoveries.

Ecology Lesson, 2 Monday, August 20, 20180

Ecology Lesson, 2

Permafrost and marine ecology are interconnected.

Ecology Lesson Saturday, August 18, 20180

Ecology Lesson

The consequences of deforestation.

Smoke Goes Global Friday, August 17, 20180

Smoke Goes Global

Satellites see forest fires on-high.

Sand Sea Wednesday, August 15, 20180

Sand Sea

Namibia's Skeleton Coast.

Why Science? Tuesday, August 14, 20180

Why Science?

Carl Sagan was interviewed about this.

Ring of Fire Sunday, August 12, 20180

Ring of Fire

15 year earthquake data visualized

CAL-Fires & Smoke Detection Friday, August 10, 20180

CAL-Fires & Smoke Detection

The Smoke Map