Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

External to What?

An externality is a cost not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. It should be.

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, March 10, 2013/Categories: sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Externalities are just that, external to an analysis or model. They shouldn't be.

An externality is a cost that is not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. In the case of environmental externalities, effects such as air and water pollution, species extinction, and loss of soils, they are all negative. They are now becoming central to how best to control carbon pollution proactively and effectively.


Shi-Ling Hsu is an instructor at Florida State University and an expert in environmental and natural resource law, climate change, and economics. He has taken a big step forward with his book: The Case for a Carbon Tax in addressing the existential externality of carbon pollution and the lack of its proper pricing. In a post from his law school, Hsu summarizes the points he believes would move us forward to an:

Effective Climate Policy, The Case for a Carbon Tax




Economics and product pricing models may not be at the top of your reading list but you should be interested in their external affects on environmental sustainability.

WHB
Print

Number of views (5340)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Hawaii's Vanishing Birds Monday, August 7, 20170

Hawaii's Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's endemic birds are declining fast.

Catching An Eclipse Event Sunday, August 6, 20170

Catching An Eclipse Event

Prepare for some very cool eclipse events.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 5, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Blue Genes and Chrysanthemums Friday, August 4, 20170

Blue Genes and Chrysanthemums

Blue genes for fashionable flowers.

National Tree Day Wednesday, August 2, 20170

National Tree Day

Tree planting goes national in Australia.

The First Flower Tuesday, August 1, 20170

The First Flower

Reconstructing the evolution of flowers, step by step.

Radar Mapping Glaciers Monday, July 31, 20170

Radar Mapping Glaciers

Radar for glacier ice-loss maps.

It's Hotter Saturday, July 29, 20170

It's Hotter

The data is in and summers are hotter.

Supporting Public Lands Friday, July 28, 20170

Supporting Public Lands

Join the campaign to protect public lands.

Advice To A Young Scientist Wednesday, July 26, 20170

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

Terrestrial Orchids of SW Australia: Plant of the Month Tuesday, July 25, 20170

Terrestrial Orchids of SW Australia: Plant of the Month

Rare plants from a little known biological 'hotspot'.

What Rivers Can Tell About Earth's History Saturday, July 22, 20170

What Rivers Can Tell About Earth's History

Rivers tells us about Earth's history.

Holographic Microbes Friday, July 21, 20170

Holographic Microbes

Exobiology as holograms.

When Monsoons Arrive Wednesday, July 19, 20170

When Monsoons Arrive

Monsoons bring benefits and problems as they arrive.

Reef Fish and Oil Don't Mix Tuesday, July 18, 20170

Reef Fish and Oil Don't Mix

Oil affects fish behavior, badly.

Pluto, the movie Sunday, July 16, 20170

Pluto, the movie

NASA movie of Pluto.

Juno's Jupiter: the Great Red Spot Friday, July 14, 20170

Juno's Jupiter: the Great Red Spot

Juno's deep view of Jupiter's Great Red Spot.

Lights, Action, CRISPR Thursday, July 13, 20170

Lights, Action, CRISPR

The era of using DNA as a storage device begins.