EasyDNNNews

EasyDNNNews

Banners

EasyDNNNews

Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

External to What?

An externality is a cost not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. It should be.

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, March 10, 2013/Categories: sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Externalities are just that, external to an analysis or model. They shouldn't be.

An externality is a cost that is not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. In the case of environmental externalities, effects such as air and water pollution, species extinction, and loss of soils, they are all negative. They are now becoming central to how best to control carbon pollution proactively and effectively.


Shi-Ling Hsu is an instructor at Florida State University and an expert in environmental and natural resource law, climate change, and economics. He has taken a big step forward with his book: The Case for a Carbon Tax in addressing the existential externality of carbon pollution and the lack of its proper pricing. In a post from his law school, Hsu summarizes the points he believes would move us forward to an:

Effective Climate Policy, The Case for a Carbon Tax




Economics and product pricing models may not be at the top of your reading list but you should be interested in their external affects on environmental sustainability.

WHB
Print

Number of views (6617)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x

Kilauea Advances Monday, June 11, 20180

Kilauea Advances

The volcanoes power.

Happy Monkey Saturday, June 9, 20180

Happy Monkey

A monkey also likes taking his selfie.

Follow the Methane Thursday, June 7, 20180

Follow the Methane

Methane measured on Mars.

World Environment Day Tuesday, June 5, 20180

World Environment Day

Solving our addiction to plastic.

Fixing the Climate Crisis in 2 Minutes Monday, June 4, 20180

Fixing the Climate Crisis in 2 Minutes

An economist explains how to fix CO2 pollution in 2 minutes.

Compassion for Creation Sunday, June 3, 20180

Compassion for Creation

2 spiritual leaders have spoken loudly about the environment.

Building a Forest...quickly Friday, June 1, 20180

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Turtle Cams Wednesday, May 30, 20180

Turtle Cams

Digital technology can help wildlife conservation.

Prom Beauties Tuesday, May 29, 20181

Prom Beauties

Australian natural beauties preserved.

EasyDNNNews

Kilauea Eruption From Space Monday, May 28, 20180

Kilauea Eruption From Space

Infrared imaging of lava from space.

Tibet and the Power of Photography Saturday, May 26, 20180

Tibet and the Power of Photography

With 75,000 images a photographer can tell a story.

Canyoneering in Antarctica Friday, May 25, 20180

Canyoneering in Antarctica

Canyons buried under the Antarctic Icecap.

Tree Huggers Wednesday, May 23, 20180

Tree Huggers

Thermography shows why Koalas hug trees.

A Long Drive Tuesday, May 22, 20180

A Long Drive

Reflections of an earlier time and place.

Artifical Photosysnthesis Saturday, May 19, 20180

Artifical Photosysnthesis

If artificial photosynthesis works, hydrogen could be a big energy source.
Saving Darwin's Finches Friday, May 18, 20180

Saving Darwin's Finches

What does it take to save a species?

Khumbu update, Conrad Anker Wednesday, May 16, 20180

Khumbu update, Conrad Anker

Climbing center progress report.

The Weight of Mountains Tuesday, May 15, 20180

The Weight of Mountains

The process that creates and destroys mountains is fascinating.