Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris? Thursday, December 31, 20150

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris?

Video shows space debris accumulation from 1957 - 2015
Kepler Planets Animated Thursday, December 31, 20150

Kepler Planets Animated

The Kepler space telescope discovered more alien planets now that its vision has been restored.
NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research Wednesday, December 30, 20150

NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research

A 2016 bill instructs the agency, vaguely, to look into sustaining human life during space exploration.
Earth Images from Himawari-8 Wednesday, December 30, 20150

Earth Images from Himawari-8

Japan's  Meteorological Agency has a new satellite that captures images of Earth in virtually 'real time'.
Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video) Monday, December 28, 20150

Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video)

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing Sunday, December 27, 20150

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing

NOAA has created a photo animation to show a dramatic time-line of Arctic ice decline.
Toolmaking crows captured on video Saturday, December 26, 20150

Toolmaking crows captured on video

New Caledonian crows have been documented making and using hook-like tools for hunting
Pluto in Infrared Friday, December 25, 20150

Pluto in Infrared

Pluto's composition mapped in infrared light by the New Horizons probe continues being received.
Earthrise, redux Wednesday, December 23, 20150

Earthrise, redux

NASA has released a new version of Earthrise and it is breathtaking.
Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge Wednesday, April 3, 20190

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge

New additions to the tree of life.

I Took The Road Less Traveled Tuesday, April 2, 20190

I Took The Road Less Traveled

"I took the road less traveled", Robert Frost.

Animation Influencing Science Monday, April 1, 20190

Animation Influencing Science

Researchers are using animation.

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light Friday, March 29, 20190

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light

Luminous sea creatures.

Combining Art & Science Wednesday, March 27, 20190

Combining Art & Science

Two sides of creativity.

Fixing the Climate Crisis Tuesday, March 26, 20190

Fixing the Climate Crisis

Fixing CO2 pollution in two minutes.

Building a Forest...quickly Monday, March 25, 20190

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Plastic-eating Enzyme Sunday, March 24, 20190

Plastic-eating Enzyme

A plastic-eating bacteria was discovered.

A Super Bloom Friday, March 22, 20190

A Super Bloom

California landscapes flower. 

Ode to Mars Thursday, March 21, 20190

Ode to Mars

A planetary haiku for Poetry Day.

Conserving, The Mother Load Tuesday, March 19, 20190

Conserving, The Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Animating Environmental Change Monday, March 18, 20190

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats Saturday, March 16, 20190

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats

Here come the CubeSats.

A Gift of Gratitude Friday, March 15, 20190

A Gift of Gratitude

A gift of gratitude to share.

A Fungal Future Wednesday, March 13, 20190

A Fungal Future

A natural alternative to plastic.

A Life in Translation Monday, March 11, 20190

A Life in Translation

Can technology recover ancient wisdom?

Mars-copters Sunday, March 10, 20190

Mars-copters

A flying machine for Mars.

Landforms & Walls Friday, March 8, 20190

Landforms & Walls

Geomorphology complicates building walls.