Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris? Thursday, December 31, 20150

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris?

Video shows space debris accumulation from 1957 - 2015
Kepler Planets Animated Thursday, December 31, 20150

Kepler Planets Animated

The Kepler space telescope discovered more alien planets now that its vision has been restored.
NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research Wednesday, December 30, 20150

NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research

A 2016 bill instructs the agency, vaguely, to look into sustaining human life during space exploration.
Earth Images from Himawari-8 Wednesday, December 30, 20150

Earth Images from Himawari-8

Japan's  Meteorological Agency has a new satellite that captures images of Earth in virtually 'real time'.
Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video) Monday, December 28, 20150

Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video)

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing Sunday, December 27, 20150

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing

NOAA has created a photo animation to show a dramatic time-line of Arctic ice decline.
Toolmaking crows captured on video Saturday, December 26, 20150

Toolmaking crows captured on video

New Caledonian crows have been documented making and using hook-like tools for hunting
Pluto in Infrared Friday, December 25, 20150

Pluto in Infrared

Pluto's composition mapped in infrared light by the New Horizons probe continues being received.
Earthrise, redux Wednesday, December 23, 20150

Earthrise, redux

NASA has released a new version of Earthrise and it is breathtaking.
A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.

Lights, Action, CRISPR Saturday, June 8, 20190

Lights, Action, CRISPR

DNA becomes a data storage device.

Happiness, Gorilla-style Thursday, June 6, 20190

Happiness, Gorilla-style

Being a 'happy camper'

Projects That Matter Tuesday, June 4, 20190

Projects That Matter

Conservation, one project at a time.

Photography abd Endangered Cultures Monday, June 3, 20190

Photography abd Endangered Cultures

Photography for cultural preservation.

Ice Age Deglaciation Saturday, June 1, 20190

Ice Age Deglaciation

The Ice age collapses.
Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans Friday, May 31, 20190

Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans

New technology to protect the oceans.

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl Thursday, May 30, 20190

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl

Bio-bots for exploring alien environments.

Pixar Magic & Science Tuesday, May 28, 20190

Pixar Magic & Science

Animation telling science stories.

UFO's...just maybe? Monday, May 27, 20190

UFO's...just maybe?

Are UFO's being tracked?

Finance & Climate Change Saturday, May 25, 20190

Finance & Climate Change

Financial tools could tackle climate change.

World Turtle Day Thursday, May 23, 20190

World Turtle Day

A day to learn about turtles and tortoises.

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs Wednesday, May 22, 20190

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs

Intelligent designs from nature.

PenguinWatch Wants You Tuesday, May 21, 20190

PenguinWatch Wants You

A call for "citizen scientists".

A Day for Bees Monday, May 20, 20190

A Day for Bees

World Bee Day is here.

James Balog: '1000 Cuts' Sunday, May 19, 20190

James Balog: '1000 Cuts'

Viewing changes to Utah's Canyonlands.

Dark Continents Beneath Us Friday, May 17, 20190

Dark Continents Beneath Us

There are 'lost worlds' underground.