Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Monday, September 30, 2013

One Way to Mars

These people deserve a one-way ticket to another planet. Or anywhere. 
Once an Ocean, Now an Island Sunday, September 29, 20130

Once an Ocean, Now an Island

We often forget what a dynamic bit of rock we live on until being reminded by an earthquake.
95% Certain Friday, September 27, 20130

95% Certain

The latest IPCC report on climate change states that humans are the cause of global temperature increases with 95% certainty.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

The Bonobo and the Atheist

Monday, September 23, 2013

Are Dung Beetles Smarter Than Us?

[He's coming for your dung! Run! In a straight line!] By Reilly Capps Dung beetles navigate by the stars. Either dung beetles are...
My First Week on Plastic Island Saturday, September 21, 20130

My First Week on Plastic Island

By Lucas Gardner Far out in the Pacific exists a massive island of trash known as Plastic Island. Here is a recap of my first week living there.
Have a Wonderful Day...or Night Thursday, September 19, 20130

Have a Wonderful Day...or Night

With bad news galore, a long-exposure image of the moon and Venus reminds us that beauty still happens.

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Statistics Matter, Even in Times of Tragedy

By Reilly Capps  It's awful to hear news like Navy Yard, but every news story about anything tragic should, by the third paragraph,...
Mount Sinabung Erupts Wednesday, September 18, 20130

Mount Sinabung Erupts

The mega-volcano in Indonesia has exploded sending smoke and ash high into the atmosphere.
Valuing Nature Friday, January 10, 20200

Valuing Nature

How to measure nature's value.

Navel of the World Thursday, January 9, 20200

Navel of the World

Tibet's sacred mountain.

Supporting Australian 1st Responders & Wildlife Monday, January 6, 20200

Supporting Australian 1st Responders & Wildlife

Supporting emergency responders in Australia.

Smoke Sunday, January 5, 20200

Smoke

Smoke from bushfires is tracked from space.

Hey teachers...make it fun! Thursday, January 2, 20200

Hey teachers...make it fun!

Teachers should make it fun.

Phenology, Flowers, & Climate Change Monday, December 30, 20190

Phenology, Flowers, & Climate Change

Watching seasonal biological changes.

Compassion...a new meaning Sunday, December 29, 20190

Compassion...a new meaning

Mindfulness for this world.

My Country Will Be Underwater Soon Friday, December 27, 20190

My Country Will Be Underwater Soon

Kiribati and the impacts climate change.

Noam Chomsky interview Thursday, December 26, 20190

Noam Chomsky interview

On responsibility and humility.

Opportunity's Last Photo Tuesday, December 24, 20190

Opportunity's Last Photo

A Martian panorama.

Surreal Landscapes Monday, December 23, 20190

Surreal Landscapes

A surreal river from space.

Toolmaking Crows Friday, December 20, 20190

Toolmaking Crows

New Caledonian crows use hunting tools.

A Botanical Gem, Cephalotus Tuesday, December 17, 20190

A Botanical Gem, Cephalotus

The Albany pitcher plant.

Mapping Fires Monday, December 16, 20190

Mapping Fires

Satellite data used to visualize wildfires.

Conservation Photography Saturday, December 14, 20190

Conservation Photography

Photography in service for conservation.

International Mountain Day Wednesday, December 11, 20190

International Mountain Day

Arctic Report Card, 2019 Tuesday, December 10, 20190

Arctic Report Card, 2019

Gallery Ready Monday, December 9, 20190

Gallery Ready

Space cameras have captured gallery-ready images.