Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Monday, September 30, 2013

One Way to Mars

These people deserve a one-way ticket to another planet. Or anywhere. 
Once an Ocean, Now an Island Sunday, September 29, 20130

Once an Ocean, Now an Island

We often forget what a dynamic bit of rock we live on until being reminded by an earthquake.
95% Certain Friday, September 27, 20130

95% Certain

The latest IPCC report on climate change states that humans are the cause of global temperature increases with 95% certainty.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

The Bonobo and the Atheist

Plant Breeders Rock Tuesday, September 24, 20130

Plant Breeders Rock

Everyone depends on the creations of a plant breeder.

Monday, September 23, 2013

Are Dung Beetles Smarter Than Us?

[He's coming for your dung! Run! In a straight line!] By Reilly Capps Dung beetles navigate by the stars. Either dung beetles are...
Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Sunday, September 22, 20130

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Robots are far better than humans for exploring planets and far off moons. The ESA is showing the way with 'slither-bots' for Mars.
My First Week on Plastic Island Saturday, September 21, 20130

My First Week on Plastic Island

By Lucas Gardner Far out in the Pacific exists a massive island of trash known as Plastic Island. Here is a recap of my first week living there.
Have a Wonderful Day...or Night Thursday, September 19, 20130

Have a Wonderful Day...or Night

With bad news galore, a long-exposure image of the moon and Venus reminds us that beauty still happens.
Chasing Mars Tuesday, June 11, 20190

Chasing Mars

Sounds of Mars recorded.

A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.

Lights, Action, CRISPR Saturday, June 8, 20190

Lights, Action, CRISPR

DNA becomes a data storage device.

Happiness, Gorilla-style Thursday, June 6, 20190

Happiness, Gorilla-style

Being a 'happy camper'

Projects That Matter Tuesday, June 4, 20190

Projects That Matter

Conservation, one project at a time.

Photography abd Endangered Cultures Monday, June 3, 20190

Photography abd Endangered Cultures

Photography for cultural preservation.

Ice Age Deglaciation Saturday, June 1, 20190

Ice Age Deglaciation

The Ice age collapses.
Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans Friday, May 31, 20190

Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans

New technology to protect the oceans.

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl Thursday, May 30, 20190

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl

Bio-bots for exploring alien environments.

Pixar Magic & Science Tuesday, May 28, 20190

Pixar Magic & Science

Animation telling science stories.

UFO's...just maybe? Monday, May 27, 20190

UFO's...just maybe?

Are UFO's being tracked?

Finance & Climate Change Saturday, May 25, 20190

Finance & Climate Change

Financial tools could tackle climate change.

World Turtle Day Thursday, May 23, 20190

World Turtle Day

A day to learn about turtles and tortoises.

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs Wednesday, May 22, 20190

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs

Intelligent designs from nature.

PenguinWatch Wants You Tuesday, May 21, 20190

PenguinWatch Wants You

A call for "citizen scientists".

A Day for Bees Monday, May 20, 20190

A Day for Bees

World Bee Day is here.

James Balog: '1000 Cuts' Sunday, May 19, 20190

James Balog: '1000 Cuts'

Viewing changes to Utah's Canyonlands.