Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Monday, September 30, 2013

One Way to Mars

These people deserve a one-way ticket to another planet. Or anywhere. 
Once an Ocean, Now an Island Sunday, September 29, 20130

Once an Ocean, Now an Island

We often forget what a dynamic bit of rock we live on until being reminded by an earthquake.
95% Certain Friday, September 27, 20130

95% Certain

The latest IPCC report on climate change states that humans are the cause of global temperature increases with 95% certainty.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

The Bonobo and the Atheist

Plant Breeders Rock Tuesday, September 24, 20130

Plant Breeders Rock

Everyone depends on the creations of a plant breeder.

Monday, September 23, 2013

Are Dung Beetles Smarter Than Us?

[He's coming for your dung! Run! In a straight line!] By Reilly Capps Dung beetles navigate by the stars. Either dung beetles are...
Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Sunday, September 22, 20130

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Robots are far better than humans for exploring planets and far off moons. The ESA is showing the way with 'slither-bots' for Mars.
My First Week on Plastic Island Saturday, September 21, 20130

My First Week on Plastic Island

By Lucas Gardner Far out in the Pacific exists a massive island of trash known as Plastic Island. Here is a recap of my first week living there.
Have a Wonderful Day...or Night Thursday, September 19, 20130

Have a Wonderful Day...or Night

With bad news galore, a long-exposure image of the moon and Venus reminds us that beauty still happens.
Undersea Mountains Sunday, April 7, 20190

Undersea Mountains

Seamounts include volcanoes.

Hi, my name is Click, Whistle, Pop Friday, April 5, 20190

Hi, my name is Click, Whistle, Pop

Dolphins recognize their own names.

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge Wednesday, April 3, 20190

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge

New additions to the tree of life.

I Took The Road Less Traveled Tuesday, April 2, 20190

I Took The Road Less Traveled

"I took the road less traveled", Robert Frost.

Animation Influencing Science Monday, April 1, 20190

Animation Influencing Science

Researchers are using animation.

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light Friday, March 29, 20190

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light

Luminous sea creatures.

Combining Art & Science Wednesday, March 27, 20190

Combining Art & Science

Two sides of creativity.

Fixing the Climate Crisis Tuesday, March 26, 20190

Fixing the Climate Crisis

Fixing CO2 pollution in two minutes.

Building a Forest...quickly Monday, March 25, 20190

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Plastic-eating Enzyme Sunday, March 24, 20190

Plastic-eating Enzyme

A plastic-eating bacteria was discovered.

A Super Bloom Friday, March 22, 20190

A Super Bloom

California landscapes flower. 

Ode to Mars Thursday, March 21, 20190

Ode to Mars

A planetary haiku for Poetry Day.

Conserving, The Mother Load Tuesday, March 19, 20190

Conserving, The Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Animating Environmental Change Monday, March 18, 20190

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats Saturday, March 16, 20190

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats

Here come the CubeSats.

A Gift of Gratitude Friday, March 15, 20190

A Gift of Gratitude

A gift of gratitude to share.

A Fungal Future Wednesday, March 13, 20190

A Fungal Future

A natural alternative to plastic.

A Life in Translation Monday, March 11, 20190

A Life in Translation

Can technology recover ancient wisdom?