Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Octo-Moms Thursday, July 31, 20140

Octo-Moms

Giant octopus make good, and very patient, moms.
FoxNews's Astronomical Knowledge Shines Through Wednesday, July 30, 20140

FoxNews's Astronomical Knowledge Shines Through

​FoxNews: Your source for the latest in science news, as long as 'latest' is defined as 2500 years old. 
River Deltas...here & there Tuesday, July 29, 20140

River Deltas...here & there

River deltas result when materials are moved from uplands to lowlands. They happen wherever liquids flow.
No More Frozen Ponds, No More Hockey Monday, July 28, 20140

No More Frozen Ponds, No More Hockey

It's not just glaciers: the NHL frets about the melting ice. 

Monday, July 28, 2014

How Can People Be Skeptical About Facts?

Let me ask you about our planet. Think about the whole planet, now, from Boulder to Bangladesh, not just your little corner of it. 
Twitter As A Scientific Resource Friday, July 25, 20140

Twitter As A Scientific Resource

Examining Twitter's potential as a scientific source

Friday, July 25, 2014

Iceberg Collapses -- Woman Shrieks in Fear

Watch this terrifying footage of an iceberg collapsing off Newfoundland. 
Buckled Lands Friday, July 25, 20140

Buckled Lands

Afghanistan's Sulaiman Ranges are one of the most buckled landscapes on Earth.
Do You Ever Feel Trapped? Thursday, July 24, 20140

Do You Ever Feel Trapped?

"Nature is a movie that goes by outside the car window."
Undersea Mountains Sunday, April 7, 20190

Undersea Mountains

Seamounts include volcanoes.

Hi, my name is Click, Whistle, Pop Friday, April 5, 20190

Hi, my name is Click, Whistle, Pop

Dolphins recognize their own names.

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge Wednesday, April 3, 20190

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge

New additions to the tree of life.

I Took The Road Less Traveled Tuesday, April 2, 20190

I Took The Road Less Traveled

"I took the road less traveled", Robert Frost.

Animation Influencing Science Monday, April 1, 20190

Animation Influencing Science

Researchers are using animation.

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light Friday, March 29, 20190

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light

Luminous sea creatures.

Combining Art & Science Wednesday, March 27, 20190

Combining Art & Science

Two sides of creativity.

Fixing the Climate Crisis Tuesday, March 26, 20190

Fixing the Climate Crisis

Fixing CO2 pollution in two minutes.

Building a Forest...quickly Monday, March 25, 20190

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Plastic-eating Enzyme Sunday, March 24, 20190

Plastic-eating Enzyme

A plastic-eating bacteria was discovered.

A Super Bloom Friday, March 22, 20190

A Super Bloom

California landscapes flower. 

Ode to Mars Thursday, March 21, 20190

Ode to Mars

A planetary haiku for Poetry Day.

Conserving, The Mother Load Tuesday, March 19, 20190

Conserving, The Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Animating Environmental Change Monday, March 18, 20190

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats Saturday, March 16, 20190

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats

Here come the CubeSats.

A Gift of Gratitude Friday, March 15, 20190

A Gift of Gratitude

A gift of gratitude to share.

A Fungal Future Wednesday, March 13, 20190

A Fungal Future

A natural alternative to plastic.

A Life in Translation Monday, March 11, 20190

A Life in Translation

Can technology recover ancient wisdom?