Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Stunning View Wednesday, July 31, 20130

Stunning View

Cassini produced a stunning view of Titan, Enceladus, and Saturn's rings.
John Hunter on 4th Grader Achievements Tuesday, July 30, 20130

John Hunter on 4th Grader Achievements

Everyone knows great teachers matter.
Attack of the Cannibal Lobsters Sunday, July 28, 20130

Attack of the Cannibal Lobsters

Marine studies in Maine have observed cannibalization in lobsters for the first time
Granary's Rainbow Saturday, July 27, 20130

Granary's Rainbow

Up a desolate canyon, by a slow-moving river, far from any roads...sounds like the beginning of a mystery novel. A novel it isn't but a mystery it...
Dam Down Friday, July 26, 20130

Dam Down

Using cranes and heavy-duty engineering gear, the Veazie Dam has been breached on the Penobscot River in Maine.
Size Doesn't Matter Thursday, July 25, 20130

Size Doesn't Matter

Hurricanes and cyclones can be tiny or large. Irrespective of the size they are a danger.
River Running Monday, July 22, 20130

River Running

Environmental restoration has multiple meanings. Reseeding a tall-grass prairie, helping to recover endangered sea turtles, or restoring a river...
Bright Ideas Sunday, July 21, 20130

Bright Ideas

Grassroots ideas that aim to move us forward in positive, creative, and sustainable ways are worth following and supporting.
Khumbu IR Saturday, July 20, 20130

Khumbu IR

Human eyes see objects only in visible light. What would the world look like viewed in other wavelengths?
Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge Wednesday, April 3, 20190

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge

New additions to the tree of life.

I Took The Road Less Traveled Tuesday, April 2, 20190

I Took The Road Less Traveled

"I took the road less traveled", Robert Frost.

Animation Influencing Science Monday, April 1, 20190

Animation Influencing Science

Researchers are using animation.

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light Friday, March 29, 20190

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light

Luminous sea creatures.

Combining Art & Science Wednesday, March 27, 20190

Combining Art & Science

Two sides of creativity.

Fixing the Climate Crisis Tuesday, March 26, 20190

Fixing the Climate Crisis

Fixing CO2 pollution in two minutes.

Building a Forest...quickly Monday, March 25, 20190

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Plastic-eating Enzyme Sunday, March 24, 20190

Plastic-eating Enzyme

A plastic-eating bacteria was discovered.

A Super Bloom Friday, March 22, 20190

A Super Bloom

California landscapes flower. 

Ode to Mars Thursday, March 21, 20190

Ode to Mars

A planetary haiku for Poetry Day.

Conserving, The Mother Load Tuesday, March 19, 20190

Conserving, The Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Animating Environmental Change Monday, March 18, 20190

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats Saturday, March 16, 20190

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats

Here come the CubeSats.

A Gift of Gratitude Friday, March 15, 20190

A Gift of Gratitude

A gift of gratitude to share.

A Fungal Future Wednesday, March 13, 20190

A Fungal Future

A natural alternative to plastic.

A Life in Translation Monday, March 11, 20190

A Life in Translation

Can technology recover ancient wisdom?

Mars-copters Sunday, March 10, 20190

Mars-copters

A flying machine for Mars.

Landforms & Walls Friday, March 8, 20190

Landforms & Walls

Geomorphology complicates building walls.