Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Yardangs & Salt Flats Monday, June 30, 20140

Yardangs & Salt Flats

Inhospitable might best describe the Salar de Arizaro in South America.
Placing Lids on Emissions Sunday, June 29, 20140

Placing Lids on Emissions

A new map shows that real progress can be made in reducing air pollutants if "lids" are put on the gases.
Martian Selfie Friday, June 27, 20140

Martian Selfie

The Martian explorer Curiosity took a birthday selfie.
Risky Business Thursday, June 26, 20140

Risky Business

Risk analysis is used in business to identify factors that can jeopardize a project. Climate change is ideal for such an analysis.
Mission Ocean Wednesday, June 25, 20140

Mission Ocean

The Global Oceans Commission has just released an important report: Mission Ocean
Auroras by Any Name Tuesday, June 24, 20140

Auroras by Any Name

A progression of stunning ultra-violet auroras.
Wavy Jets Monday, June 23, 20140

Wavy Jets

The jet stream has been making some big waves lately. 
March of the Penguins Sunday, June 22, 20140

March of the Penguins

Science is self-correcting as new data disrupts old dogmas. A colony of marching penguins shows the way.
Daily Show rips "adorable" global warming deniers Friday, June 20, 20140

Daily Show rips "adorable" global warming deniers

How's your blood pressure? If it's high, don't watch this Daily Show clip. 
An Ice-cap Is Melting Monday, August 12, 20190

An Ice-cap Is Melting

Greenland recorded its highest temperatures.

Animal Husbandry Sunday, August 11, 20190

Animal Husbandry

Compassion is important in conservation.

Jardines de la Reina Saturday, August 10, 20190

Jardines de la Reina

Cuba shows how to sustain a coral reef.

Ecologist, Tim Flannery Thursday, August 8, 20190

Ecologist, Tim Flannery

An Australian's 'call to action' on climate change.

Repurposing Abandoned Golf Courses? Wednesday, August 7, 20190

Repurposing Abandoned Golf Courses?

Japan has an answer.

Talking Trees Tuesday, August 6, 20190

Talking Trees

Plants use sophisticated ways to communicate.

I will be a hummingbird Monday, August 5, 20190

I will be a hummingbird

The presence of Wangari Maathai.

Sulawesi Sunrise Sunday, August 4, 20190

Sulawesi Sunrise

A beautiful island seen from space.

Masters of Deception Friday, August 2, 20190

Masters of Deception

Creative octopus show their capabilities.

Meltdown Thursday, August 1, 20190

Meltdown

Ice melting in Greenland accelerates.

Chasing Ghosts Wednesday, July 31, 20190

Chasing Ghosts

Solving a botanical enigma.
Montana Summer Break Monday, July 29, 20190

Montana Summer Break

Visiting the Big Sky

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Saturday, July 27, 20190

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program to de-carbonize.

Europe Swelters Again Thursday, July 25, 20190

Europe Swelters Again

The "new normal" has arrived.

Rare Bird Re-discovered Wednesday, July 24, 20190

Rare Bird Re-discovered

A rare cloud forest bird found again.

Frankincense Tuesday, July 23, 20190

Frankincense

An ancient tree is dying.

Greenland on Fire....Again! Monday, July 22, 20190

Greenland on Fire....Again!

Fires above the Arctic Circle, again.

An Inspirational Journey Sunday, July 21, 20190

An Inspirational Journey

Jane Goodall on being mindful.