Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Endangered Species Takes Another Critical Blow Sunday, May 31, 20150

Endangered Species Takes Another Critical Blow

What appears to be a fatal disease has wiped out a significant fraction of the Central Asian saiga
Plant of the Month Saturday, May 30, 20150

Plant of the Month

Gum trees are found throughout Australia from the tropics to the alpine. Many are very beautiful and very rare.
Drenching the Drought Thursday, May 28, 20150

Drenching the Drought

90% of Texas was in drought conditions in 2014, much of it extreme. In May 2015, the percentage of affected areas has fallen to 30% and it is...
Temperature Anomalies Wednesday, May 27, 20150

Temperature Anomalies

A temperature anomaly occurred this week when Alaska had higher temperatures than Texas.
Scientific Misconduct Is A Bigger Problem Than You Think Tuesday, May 26, 20150

Scientific Misconduct Is A Bigger Problem Than You Think

The recent dispute over a study published in Science is an occasion to look at the deeper problems in science publishing
Ocean Blooming Tuesday, May 26, 20150

Ocean Blooming

The "blooming" of algae in the North Atlantic offers hope for restoration of depleted fisheries.
Why Is It So Lame to Love Plants? Tuesday, May 19, 20150

Why Is It So Lame to Love Plants?

Maybe Leaving Earth Doesn't Make Sense Monday, May 18, 20150

Maybe Leaving Earth Doesn't Make Sense

Is DNA the Soul? Sunday, May 17, 20150

Is DNA the Soul?

Is it possible to find meaning in a string of acids? 
Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment Saturday, October 5, 20190

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment

On environmental compassion.

Intelligent Designers Thursday, October 3, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

Condor's Hope Tuesday, October 1, 20190

Condor's Hope

Another bird takes flight.

Get Ready For Starship Monday, September 30, 20190

Get Ready For Starship

To the moon, Mars, and beyond.

Reversing Desertification & Climate Change Saturday, September 28, 20190

Reversing Desertification & Climate Change

Restoring degraded lands.

Peering At Space-Time Thursday, September 26, 20190

Peering At Space-Time

Visualizing a black hole.

Reasons For Hope Wednesday, September 25, 20190

Reasons For Hope

Costa Rica shows what is possibly.

The Super Termites Monday, September 23, 20190

The Super Termites

A real 'terminator' is out there.

Optus: Whale Song Monday, September 23, 20190

Optus: Whale Song

To communicate with whales.

A Universe Beyond The Fence Sunday, September 22, 20190

A Universe Beyond The Fence

A universe beyond th fence.

The Hunt Thursday, September 19, 20190

The Hunt

2 hunters, one above & one below 

Tibetan Fan Wednesday, September 18, 20190

Tibetan Fan

A real desert painting.

"The Blob" Returns Tuesday, September 17, 20190

"The Blob" Returns

In 'hot water' again.

Tree Huggers Sunday, September 15, 20190

Tree Huggers

Thermography shows why Koalas hug trees.

in vino veritas Friday, September 13, 20190

in vino veritas

Art and science making wine.

A Water World Revealed Wednesday, September 11, 20190

A Water World Revealed

A planet with water is found.

Rewilding Tuesday, September 10, 20190

Rewilding

Bringing back the wild again.

Chain of Storms Sunday, September 8, 20190

Chain of Storms

Cyclones across the hemisphere.