Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The Catseye Saturday, May 31, 20140

The Catseye

The Catseye Nebulae is a celestial beauty three thousand light-years away.
Reefs 2, Miners 0 Thursday, May 29, 20140

Reefs 2, Miners 0

Turns out that placing a coal shipping facility near a world famous coral reef ecosystem isn't such a good idea.
Fire Rainbows Tuesday, May 27, 20140

Fire Rainbows

Fire Rainbows or are known for their odd appearance and unusual production requirements.
How Rich is Bill Gates? Saturday, May 24, 20140

How Rich is Bill Gates?

One of the many reasons to love this man -- he makes me understand things. 
Half Empty or Half Full? Thursday, May 22, 20140

Half Empty or Half Full?

Lake Powell in Utah and Arizona is "running on empty", waterwise.
Supercells Wednesday, May 21, 20140

Supercells

Supercell thunderstorms can produce extreme weather events. Watch out!
Floods & Arks Tuesday, May 20, 20140

Floods & Arks

In the children's fable, Noah built an ark to survive a flood of Biblical proportions. Noah may be needed again.
In Sun-burnt Lands Sunday, May 18, 20140

In Sun-burnt Lands

Two of my favorite places, California and Australia, are experiencing some of their worst drought conditions ever.
Hitting a Bullseye Friday, May 16, 20140

Hitting a Bullseye

Like hitting a bullseye, meteors have revealed water ice occurs at shallow depths on Mars.
A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.

Lights, Action, CRISPR Saturday, June 8, 20190

Lights, Action, CRISPR

DNA becomes a data storage device.

Happiness, Gorilla-style Thursday, June 6, 20190

Happiness, Gorilla-style

Being a 'happy camper'

Projects That Matter Tuesday, June 4, 20190

Projects That Matter

Conservation, one project at a time.

Photography abd Endangered Cultures Monday, June 3, 20190

Photography abd Endangered Cultures

Photography for cultural preservation.

Ice Age Deglaciation Saturday, June 1, 20190

Ice Age Deglaciation

The Ice age collapses.
Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans Friday, May 31, 20190

Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans

New technology to protect the oceans.

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl Thursday, May 30, 20190

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl

Bio-bots for exploring alien environments.

Pixar Magic & Science Tuesday, May 28, 20190

Pixar Magic & Science

Animation telling science stories.

UFO's...just maybe? Monday, May 27, 20190

UFO's...just maybe?

Are UFO's being tracked?

Finance & Climate Change Saturday, May 25, 20190

Finance & Climate Change

Financial tools could tackle climate change.

World Turtle Day Thursday, May 23, 20190

World Turtle Day

A day to learn about turtles and tortoises.

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs Wednesday, May 22, 20190

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs

Intelligent designs from nature.

PenguinWatch Wants You Tuesday, May 21, 20190

PenguinWatch Wants You

A call for "citizen scientists".

A Day for Bees Monday, May 20, 20190

A Day for Bees

World Bee Day is here.

James Balog: '1000 Cuts' Sunday, May 19, 20190

James Balog: '1000 Cuts'

Viewing changes to Utah's Canyonlands.

Dark Continents Beneath Us Friday, May 17, 20190

Dark Continents Beneath Us

There are 'lost worlds' underground.