Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Four Disgusting Uses for Colorado River Water Thursday, May 30, 20130

Four Disgusting Uses for Colorado River Water

By Reilly Capps It's easy to wax poetic about rivers, to talk about them as the veins of the Earth, the coursing blood of a planet alive. Here...
Nuclear Fall-In: New Flicks Helping Nukes Change their Rep Wednesday, May 29, 20130

Nuclear Fall-In: New Flicks Helping Nukes Change their Rep

By Reilly Capps For years, America hated nuclear power with a steadfastness that seemed just as solid and unbreakable as an atom -- a greek word...

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

You Must Have at Least One Good Eye

To get shots like these, you have to have patience and a good lens. But, mostly, you must have at least one eye -- preferably a good one. Photos...
The Last Ocean Wednesday, May 29, 20130

The Last Ocean

The Ross Sea in Antarctica is one of the last untouched bits of ocean anywhere. Its designation as a marine protected area is pending.
What America's Ballsiest Eco-Activist Says About Prison Will Surprise You Sunday, May 26, 20130

What America's Ballsiest Eco-Activist Says About Prison Will Surprise You

By Reilly Capps Tim DeChristopher's worst moment in prison: sick, hungry, beginning to feel like he was on his own. He worried that, by sending...
Living Tiny Sunday, May 26, 20130

Living Tiny

Some people are exploring small spaces and learning to 'live large' in the process.
What Made This Gentle Giant Kill? Saturday, May 25, 20130

What Made This Gentle Giant Kill?

By Reilly Capps What made an apparently gentle giant kill? After a Sea World trainer was killed by an orca, filmmakers set out to answer that...

Friday, May 24, 2013

The Magic Artificial Leaf

By Reilly Capps Daniel Nocera is one of the most exciting scientists in the world. He's working on doing nothing less than building an...
How to Glow: the Very Simple Way of Energy Making Friday, May 24, 20130

How to Glow: the Very Simple Way of Energy Making

By Reilly Capps  If you break down the essence of energy like you're talking to a kindergartner, it really comes down to one thing: the sun....
Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge Wednesday, April 3, 20190

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge

New additions to the tree of life.

I Took The Road Less Traveled Tuesday, April 2, 20190

I Took The Road Less Traveled

"I took the road less traveled", Robert Frost.

Animation Influencing Science Monday, April 1, 20190

Animation Influencing Science

Researchers are using animation.

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light Friday, March 29, 20190

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light

Luminous sea creatures.

Combining Art & Science Wednesday, March 27, 20190

Combining Art & Science

Two sides of creativity.

Fixing the Climate Crisis Tuesday, March 26, 20190

Fixing the Climate Crisis

Fixing CO2 pollution in two minutes.

Building a Forest...quickly Monday, March 25, 20190

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Plastic-eating Enzyme Sunday, March 24, 20190

Plastic-eating Enzyme

A plastic-eating bacteria was discovered.

A Super Bloom Friday, March 22, 20190

A Super Bloom

California landscapes flower. 

Ode to Mars Thursday, March 21, 20190

Ode to Mars

A planetary haiku for Poetry Day.

Conserving, The Mother Load Tuesday, March 19, 20190

Conserving, The Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Animating Environmental Change Monday, March 18, 20190

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats Saturday, March 16, 20190

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats

Here come the CubeSats.

A Gift of Gratitude Friday, March 15, 20190

A Gift of Gratitude

A gift of gratitude to share.

A Fungal Future Wednesday, March 13, 20190

A Fungal Future

A natural alternative to plastic.

A Life in Translation Monday, March 11, 20190

A Life in Translation

Can technology recover ancient wisdom?

Mars-copters Sunday, March 10, 20190

Mars-copters

A flying machine for Mars.

Landforms & Walls Friday, March 8, 20190

Landforms & Walls

Geomorphology complicates building walls.