Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Re-photography, Nepal Thursday, April 30, 20150

Re-photography, Nepal

Re-photography is a powerful tool for comparisons and is now being applied in Nepal.
Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else Wednesday, April 29, 20150

Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else

That's why it's a good thing he brought his anger translator, Luther. 
How Fragile is the Earth? Wednesday, April 29, 20150

How Fragile is the Earth?

It's easy to forget how thin our life-sustaining biosphere is. Here's a visualization. 
The Universe, as Hologram Tuesday, April 28, 20151

The Universe, as Hologram

Physicists continue to develop the idea that our universe is, at core, two dimensional
The Earth Shakes in Nepal Tuesday, April 28, 20150

The Earth Shakes in Nepal

The Earth shook in Nepal and the resulting destruction has been massive.
Optus: Whale Song Sunday, April 26, 20150

Optus: Whale Song

An attempt at cross-species communications with whales but no idea what they thought of the song.
Prince Ea speaks to "Dear: Future Generations" Saturday, April 25, 20150

Prince Ea speaks to "Dear: Future Generations"

The rapper Prince Ea has a few spoken words to offer about trees and future generations.
"Look to the Mountains" Friday, April 24, 20150

"Look to the Mountains"

A photographer, mountaineer, and environmental ambassador says: "look to the mountains".
Volcano Power Thursday, April 23, 20150

Volcano Power

A stunning display of raw volcanic power was captured on video.
Undersea Mountains Sunday, April 7, 20190

Undersea Mountains

Seamounts include volcanoes.

Hi, my name is Click, Whistle, Pop Friday, April 5, 20190

Hi, my name is Click, Whistle, Pop

Dolphins recognize their own names.

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge Wednesday, April 3, 20190

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge

New additions to the tree of life.

I Took The Road Less Traveled Tuesday, April 2, 20190

I Took The Road Less Traveled

"I took the road less traveled", Robert Frost.

Animation Influencing Science Monday, April 1, 20190

Animation Influencing Science

Researchers are using animation.

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light Friday, March 29, 20190

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light

Luminous sea creatures.

Combining Art & Science Wednesday, March 27, 20190

Combining Art & Science

Two sides of creativity.

Fixing the Climate Crisis Tuesday, March 26, 20190

Fixing the Climate Crisis

Fixing CO2 pollution in two minutes.

Building a Forest...quickly Monday, March 25, 20190

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Plastic-eating Enzyme Sunday, March 24, 20190

Plastic-eating Enzyme

A plastic-eating bacteria was discovered.

A Super Bloom Friday, March 22, 20190

A Super Bloom

California landscapes flower. 

Ode to Mars Thursday, March 21, 20190

Ode to Mars

A planetary haiku for Poetry Day.

Conserving, The Mother Load Tuesday, March 19, 20190

Conserving, The Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Animating Environmental Change Monday, March 18, 20190

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats Saturday, March 16, 20190

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats

Here come the CubeSats.

A Gift of Gratitude Friday, March 15, 20190

A Gift of Gratitude

A gift of gratitude to share.

A Fungal Future Wednesday, March 13, 20190

A Fungal Future

A natural alternative to plastic.

A Life in Translation Monday, March 11, 20190

A Life in Translation

Can technology recover ancient wisdom?