Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

DeChristopher's a Wrecking Ball Friday, February 28, 20140

DeChristopher's a Wrecking Ball

Tim DeChristopher came to prominence as a monkey wrencher, but the tool that best describes him now is probably "sledgehammer." 
So Many New Planets, So Little Time to Explore Friday, February 28, 20140

So Many New Planets, So Little Time to Explore

Kepler announced confirmation of 715 new planets with more to come from the trove of stars already scanned into the database.
The Distorting Effect of Ideology Thursday, February 27, 20140

The Distorting Effect of Ideology

Why would so many Republicans see the evidence on a natural phenomenon so differently from the way that most people see it? Do they also have...
Beyond the Beyond Wednesday, February 26, 20140

Beyond the Beyond

Ancient mariners and Tibetan monks each had their ideas of a place that was 'beyond the beyond', the very definition of faraway. They could have...
The Cosmos is All That Is ... Cool Monday, February 24, 20140

The Cosmos is All That Is ... Cool

In just two weeks, Fox debuts their new version of Cosmos. I need to find some Sheldon-level geeks to watch it with. I need to...
The Tree of Life, in Your Pocket Monday, February 24, 20140

The Tree of Life, in Your Pocket

Because, sometimes, when you're on the bus, you need to know how finches are related to budgies. 
A Bad Attitude Monday, February 24, 20141

A Bad Attitude

By Reilly Capps  If physical violence is always wrong -- and it is -- then why does it sometimes feel so good?
Sochi, the Caucasus Sunday, February 23, 20140

Sochi, the Caucasus

The 2014 Winter Olympics are ending in Sochi, Russia. An impressive 'last look' shows the entire venue even if not the skiers.
Swamped Saturday, February 22, 20140

Swamped

Between December 2013 and January 2014, a series of storms in the UK left 15 inches of rain on southern England. The storms have produced major...
A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.

Lights, Action, CRISPR Saturday, June 8, 20190

Lights, Action, CRISPR

DNA becomes a data storage device.

Happiness, Gorilla-style Thursday, June 6, 20190

Happiness, Gorilla-style

Being a 'happy camper'

Projects That Matter Tuesday, June 4, 20190

Projects That Matter

Conservation, one project at a time.

Photography abd Endangered Cultures Monday, June 3, 20190

Photography abd Endangered Cultures

Photography for cultural preservation.

Ice Age Deglaciation Saturday, June 1, 20190

Ice Age Deglaciation

The Ice age collapses.
Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans Friday, May 31, 20190

Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans

New technology to protect the oceans.

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl Thursday, May 30, 20190

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl

Bio-bots for exploring alien environments.

Pixar Magic & Science Tuesday, May 28, 20190

Pixar Magic & Science

Animation telling science stories.

UFO's...just maybe? Monday, May 27, 20190

UFO's...just maybe?

Are UFO's being tracked?

Finance & Climate Change Saturday, May 25, 20190

Finance & Climate Change

Financial tools could tackle climate change.

World Turtle Day Thursday, May 23, 20190

World Turtle Day

A day to learn about turtles and tortoises.

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs Wednesday, May 22, 20190

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs

Intelligent designs from nature.

PenguinWatch Wants You Tuesday, May 21, 20190

PenguinWatch Wants You

A call for "citizen scientists".

A Day for Bees Monday, May 20, 20190

A Day for Bees

World Bee Day is here.

James Balog: '1000 Cuts' Sunday, May 19, 20190

James Balog: '1000 Cuts'

Viewing changes to Utah's Canyonlands.

Dark Continents Beneath Us Friday, May 17, 20190

Dark Continents Beneath Us

There are 'lost worlds' underground.