Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris? Thursday, December 31, 20150

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris?

Video shows space debris accumulation from 1957 - 2015
Kepler Planets Animated Thursday, December 31, 20150

Kepler Planets Animated

The Kepler space telescope discovered more alien planets now that its vision has been restored.
NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research Wednesday, December 30, 20150

NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research

A 2016 bill instructs the agency, vaguely, to look into sustaining human life during space exploration.
Earth Images from Himawari-8 Wednesday, December 30, 20150

Earth Images from Himawari-8

Japan's  Meteorological Agency has a new satellite that captures images of Earth in virtually 'real time'.
Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video) Monday, December 28, 20150

Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video)

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing Sunday, December 27, 20150

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing

NOAA has created a photo animation to show a dramatic time-line of Arctic ice decline.
Toolmaking crows captured on video Saturday, December 26, 20150

Toolmaking crows captured on video

New Caledonian crows have been documented making and using hook-like tools for hunting
Pluto in Infrared Friday, December 25, 20150

Pluto in Infrared

Pluto's composition mapped in infrared light by the New Horizons probe continues being received.
Earthrise, redux Wednesday, December 23, 20150

Earthrise, redux

NASA has released a new version of Earthrise and it is breathtaking.
An Ice-cap Is Melting Monday, August 12, 20190

An Ice-cap Is Melting

Greenland recorded its highest temperatures.

Animal Husbandry Sunday, August 11, 20190

Animal Husbandry

Compassion is important in conservation.

Jardines de la Reina Saturday, August 10, 20190

Jardines de la Reina

Cuba shows how to sustain a coral reef.

Ecologist, Tim Flannery Thursday, August 8, 20190

Ecologist, Tim Flannery

An Australian's 'call to action' on climate change.

Repurposing Abandoned Golf Courses? Wednesday, August 7, 20190

Repurposing Abandoned Golf Courses?

Japan has an answer.

Talking Trees Tuesday, August 6, 20190

Talking Trees

Plants use sophisticated ways to communicate.

I will be a hummingbird Monday, August 5, 20190

I will be a hummingbird

The presence of Wangari Maathai.

Sulawesi Sunrise Sunday, August 4, 20190

Sulawesi Sunrise

A beautiful island seen from space.

Masters of Deception Friday, August 2, 20190

Masters of Deception

Creative octopus show their capabilities.

Meltdown Thursday, August 1, 20190

Meltdown

Ice melting in Greenland accelerates.

Chasing Ghosts Wednesday, July 31, 20190

Chasing Ghosts

Solving a botanical enigma.
Montana Summer Break Monday, July 29, 20190

Montana Summer Break

Visiting the Big Sky

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Saturday, July 27, 20190

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program to de-carbonize.

Europe Swelters Again Thursday, July 25, 20190

Europe Swelters Again

The "new normal" has arrived.

Rare Bird Re-discovered Wednesday, July 24, 20190

Rare Bird Re-discovered

A rare cloud forest bird found again.

Frankincense Tuesday, July 23, 20190

Frankincense

An ancient tree is dying.

Greenland on Fire....Again! Monday, July 22, 20190

Greenland on Fire....Again!

Fires above the Arctic Circle, again.

An Inspirational Journey Sunday, July 21, 20190

An Inspirational Journey

Jane Goodall on being mindful.