Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Comet Ison Fizzles? Saturday, November 30, 20130

Comet Ison Fizzles?

Comet Ison passed near the Sun on Thanksgiving Day and photo animations captured the event.
A Different View Thursday, November 28, 20130

A Different View

The space station had a different perspective of the Thanksgiving parades.
Midsummer Fires Tuesday, November 26, 20130

Midsummer Fires

Yosemite National Park experienced the massive Rim Fire in mid-August. Snow now covers the burn scars but run-off will carry exposed sediment in...

Monday, November 25, 2013

I Have Fallen in Love With a Car (Sharing Service)

[These sleek little Car2Go cars have just been introduced in my city, Denver. Photo from Daimler.] America's love affair with big fat...
Transition Lab Friday, November 22, 20130

Transition Lab

An existential angst often happens to college students saddled with large debts to gain degrees requiring them to then spend their lives paying it...
What a Difference a Year Makes Thursday, November 21, 20130

What a Difference a Year Makes

Deforestation occurs in many ways: clearing for agriculture, illegal logging, political corruption, and fires. With remote sensing, researchers...

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

How to Convince Your Grandkids You're Not a Smelly A-Hole

  [If you own a car like this, smear mud on it. That will make it more plausible.]

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

On the Level of Animals

By Reilly Capps The animals keep getting more human. Or maybe it's the other way around.
What Next? answered and it's strange Tuesday, November 19, 20130

What Next? answered and it's strange

Queensland's Sunshine Coast known for its fine beaches but now has now been pummeled by orange-sized hail.
Photogenic Mars Tuesday, February 4, 20200

Photogenic Mars

A phtographic mantra is, "location, location, location".
Arctic Greening Sunday, February 2, 20200

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening, and fast.

Docs at Sundance Saturday, February 1, 20200

Docs at Sundance

Global documentaries premiere at Sundance.

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Friday, January 31, 20200

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Slither-bots for Mars.

Plant Trees Wednesday, January 29, 20200

Plant Trees

One doable climate change solution.

Eagle as Filmmaker Monday, January 27, 20200

Eagle as Filmmaker

Sea Eagle becomes a movie producer.

Luminescent Turtles & Young Explorers Sunday, January 26, 20200

Luminescent Turtles & Young Explorers

Biodiversity constantly surprises.

Where Buffaloes Once Roamed Friday, January 24, 20201

Where Buffaloes Once Roamed

The first wildlife restoration.

Drawing Fish Wednesday, January 22, 20200

Drawing Fish

James Prosek ponders fish.

Bobbing Boulders Tuesday, January 21, 20200

Bobbing Boulders

Building landforms is a continuous process.

Visualizing the Biosphere Monday, January 20, 20200

Visualizing the Biosphere

The Earth's fragility visualized.

A Stark Divide Saturday, January 18, 20200

A Stark Divide

Earth's brown, green, and blue colors.

North Pole, Mars Thursday, January 16, 20200

North Pole, Mars

New polar feature observed.

Fog Farmers Tuesday, January 14, 20200

Fog Farmers

Fog harvesters gather water.

Where Do Good Ideas Come From? Monday, January 13, 20200

Where Do Good Ideas Come From?

A storyteller suggests an answer.

Look & See Sunday, January 12, 20200

Look & See

A Portrait of Wendell Berry.

Valuing Nature Friday, January 10, 20200

Valuing Nature

How to measure nature's value.

Navel of the World Thursday, January 9, 20200

Navel of the World

Tibet's sacred mountain.