Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Reading Trees Thursday, October 31, 20130

Reading Trees

Plants speak to us if we're willing to pay attention and trees are excellent books to read.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

One Year Since Sandy, and 'The Jersey Shore' is Still Dumb

Some thoughts on the Jersey Shore, "The Jersey Shore" and climate change.  
Kraken Mare Saturday, October 26, 20130

Kraken Mare

In ancient Greek legends, the Kraken was a sea monster that came from the deep to devour unsuspecting fishermen and sailors. JPL has located the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Electric, Cute.

Eight U.S. states are working toward getting more electric cars on the road, making it easier and cheaper to charge them. They hope to up the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Black Holes Might Have a Wall of Fire Around Them

At the event horizon of a black hole, there might be a "wall of fire" that destroys everything.  
Saturn Mosaic Thursday, October 24, 20130

Saturn Mosaic

Cassini continues to surprise us with a mosaic of multiple images acquired from Saturn.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

The View from Above

This is nice. 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Telepathy Just a Few Years Away

You can watch your own dreams, and scientists can read your mind. 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Why Are We Here?

We don't have any idea why there is something rather than nothing. 
Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge Wednesday, April 3, 20190

Good News: Your Ancestor was a Jellyfish, not a Sponge

New additions to the tree of life.

I Took The Road Less Traveled Tuesday, April 2, 20190

I Took The Road Less Traveled

"I took the road less traveled", Robert Frost.

Animation Influencing Science Monday, April 1, 20190

Animation Influencing Science

Researchers are using animation.

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light Friday, March 29, 20190

Bioluminescence, Weird & Wonderful Light

Luminous sea creatures.

Combining Art & Science Wednesday, March 27, 20190

Combining Art & Science

Two sides of creativity.

Fixing the Climate Crisis Tuesday, March 26, 20190

Fixing the Climate Crisis

Fixing CO2 pollution in two minutes.

Building a Forest...quickly Monday, March 25, 20190

Building a Forest...quickly

What if you could re-build a forest, quickly?

Plastic-eating Enzyme Sunday, March 24, 20190

Plastic-eating Enzyme

A plastic-eating bacteria was discovered.

A Super Bloom Friday, March 22, 20190

A Super Bloom

California landscapes flower. 

Ode to Mars Thursday, March 21, 20190

Ode to Mars

A planetary haiku for Poetry Day.

Conserving, The Mother Load Tuesday, March 19, 20190

Conserving, The Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Animating Environmental Change Monday, March 18, 20190

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats Saturday, March 16, 20190

Crazy Engineering: CubeSats

Here come the CubeSats.

A Gift of Gratitude Friday, March 15, 20190

A Gift of Gratitude

A gift of gratitude to share.

A Fungal Future Wednesday, March 13, 20190

A Fungal Future

A natural alternative to plastic.

A Life in Translation Monday, March 11, 20190

A Life in Translation

Can technology recover ancient wisdom?

Mars-copters Sunday, March 10, 20190

Mars-copters

A flying machine for Mars.

Landforms & Walls Friday, March 8, 20190

Landforms & Walls

Geomorphology complicates building walls.