Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Reading Trees Thursday, October 31, 20130

Reading Trees

Plants speak to us if we're willing to pay attention and trees are excellent books to read.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

One Year Since Sandy, and 'The Jersey Shore' is Still Dumb

Some thoughts on the Jersey Shore, "The Jersey Shore" and climate change.  
Kraken Mare Saturday, October 26, 20130

Kraken Mare

In ancient Greek legends, the Kraken was a sea monster that came from the deep to devour unsuspecting fishermen and sailors. JPL has located the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Electric, Cute.

Eight U.S. states are working toward getting more electric cars on the road, making it easier and cheaper to charge them. They hope to up the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Black Holes Might Have a Wall of Fire Around Them

At the event horizon of a black hole, there might be a "wall of fire" that destroys everything.  
Saturn Mosaic Thursday, October 24, 20130

Saturn Mosaic

Cassini continues to surprise us with a mosaic of multiple images acquired from Saturn.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

The View from Above

This is nice. 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Telepathy Just a Few Years Away

You can watch your own dreams, and scientists can read your mind. 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Why Are We Here?

We don't have any idea why there is something rather than nothing. 
A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.

Lights, Action, CRISPR Saturday, June 8, 20190

Lights, Action, CRISPR

DNA becomes a data storage device.

Happiness, Gorilla-style Thursday, June 6, 20190

Happiness, Gorilla-style

Being a 'happy camper'

Projects That Matter Tuesday, June 4, 20190

Projects That Matter

Conservation, one project at a time.

Photography abd Endangered Cultures Monday, June 3, 20190

Photography abd Endangered Cultures

Photography for cultural preservation.

Ice Age Deglaciation Saturday, June 1, 20190

Ice Age Deglaciation

The Ice age collapses.
Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans Friday, May 31, 20190

Wiring, Monitoring, & Protecting the Oceans

New technology to protect the oceans.

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl Thursday, May 30, 20190

Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl

Bio-bots for exploring alien environments.

Pixar Magic & Science Tuesday, May 28, 20190

Pixar Magic & Science

Animation telling science stories.

UFO's...just maybe? Monday, May 27, 20190

UFO's...just maybe?

Are UFO's being tracked?

Finance & Climate Change Saturday, May 25, 20190

Finance & Climate Change

Financial tools could tackle climate change.

World Turtle Day Thursday, May 23, 20190

World Turtle Day

A day to learn about turtles and tortoises.

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs Wednesday, May 22, 20190

Biomimicry & Light Bulbs

Intelligent designs from nature.

PenguinWatch Wants You Tuesday, May 21, 20190

PenguinWatch Wants You

A call for "citizen scientists".

A Day for Bees Monday, May 20, 20190

A Day for Bees

World Bee Day is here.

James Balog: '1000 Cuts' Sunday, May 19, 20190

James Balog: '1000 Cuts'

Viewing changes to Utah's Canyonlands.

Dark Continents Beneath Us Friday, May 17, 20190

Dark Continents Beneath Us

There are 'lost worlds' underground.