Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” Friday, January 31, 20140

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.”

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” said Mark Twain about Hawaii.
Panoramic Views Thursday, January 30, 20140

Panoramic Views

The rover Curiosity has produced another remarkable panorama from its vantage point in Gale Crater on Mars. The level of detail looks like Arizona...
An Odd Future. Hope we See It. Wednesday, January 29, 20140

An Odd Future. Hope we See It.

What does the sky look like? No – let me start over. Are you there?

'Before & After' Rocks Tuesday, January 28, 20140

'Before & After' Rocks

Mars is full of surprises. A photograph taken twelve days apart shows a new rock had appeared where it hadn't been before.
Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster Sunday, January 26, 20140

Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster

Economics is often called the 'dismal science'. A hamster shows the consequences.
Convergences Saturday, January 25, 20140

Convergences

Mountain tops and remote islands are perfect environments to see convergent evolution expressed. The results are often strikingly odd and...
When Galaxies Collide Friday, January 24, 20140

When Galaxies Collide

In a couple of billion years or so, the Milky Way and the Andromeda galaxies will collide.
Attacking the Drones Thursday, January 23, 20140

Attacking the Drones

The FAA is putting up a stink about drones, saying these drones are not allowed. Why? Is the stuff they come back with too pretty? Too...
Migrating Mangroves Tuesday, January 21, 20140

Migrating Mangroves

Mangroves are on the move. They are telling a climate change story as they march north and south.
An Ice-cap Is Melting Monday, August 12, 20190

An Ice-cap Is Melting

Greenland recorded its highest temperatures.

Animal Husbandry Sunday, August 11, 20190

Animal Husbandry

Compassion is important in conservation.

Jardines de la Reina Saturday, August 10, 20190

Jardines de la Reina

Cuba shows how to sustain a coral reef.

Ecologist, Tim Flannery Thursday, August 8, 20190

Ecologist, Tim Flannery

An Australian's 'call to action' on climate change.

Repurposing Abandoned Golf Courses? Wednesday, August 7, 20190

Repurposing Abandoned Golf Courses?

Japan has an answer.

Talking Trees Tuesday, August 6, 20190

Talking Trees

Plants use sophisticated ways to communicate.

I will be a hummingbird Monday, August 5, 20190

I will be a hummingbird

The presence of Wangari Maathai.

Sulawesi Sunrise Sunday, August 4, 20190

Sulawesi Sunrise

A beautiful island seen from space.

Masters of Deception Friday, August 2, 20190

Masters of Deception

Creative octopus show their capabilities.

Meltdown Thursday, August 1, 20190

Meltdown

Ice melting in Greenland accelerates.

Chasing Ghosts Wednesday, July 31, 20190

Chasing Ghosts

Solving a botanical enigma.
Montana Summer Break Monday, July 29, 20190

Montana Summer Break

Visiting the Big Sky

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Saturday, July 27, 20190

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program to de-carbonize.

Europe Swelters Again Thursday, July 25, 20190

Europe Swelters Again

The "new normal" has arrived.

Rare Bird Re-discovered Wednesday, July 24, 20190

Rare Bird Re-discovered

A rare cloud forest bird found again.

Frankincense Tuesday, July 23, 20190

Frankincense

An ancient tree is dying.

Greenland on Fire....Again! Monday, July 22, 20190

Greenland on Fire....Again!

Fires above the Arctic Circle, again.

An Inspirational Journey Sunday, July 21, 20190

An Inspirational Journey

Jane Goodall on being mindful.