Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Energy + Water = Life Friday, September 30, 20160

Energy + Water = Life

Europa is a good place to look for life beyond Earth.

Super Bio-materials from Nature Thursday, September 29, 20160

Super Bio-materials from Nature

Nano-biology is now producing super-materials from nature.

The Iceman Cometh Tuesday, September 27, 20160

The Iceman Cometh

Otzi the iceman has been reconstructed.

Hubble Sees Water Plumes on Europa Monday, September 26, 20160

Hubble Sees Water Plumes on Europa

Europa may have geysers to rival anything on Earth.

Gentle Geniuses Saturday, September 24, 20160

Gentle Geniuses

Bonobos are 'gentle geniuses' of the rainforest.

Charon, Up Close Friday, September 23, 20160

Charon, Up Close

Charon in a new full-color view seen by New Horizons.

Super Diego Thursday, September 22, 20160

Super Diego

A super-rare tortoise was restored by a single male, Super Diego.
China's Tidal River Tuesday, September 20, 20160

China's Tidal River

The Qiantang River produces one powerful surge.

Open Passage Monday, September 19, 20160

Open Passage

Mid-century predictions of an Arctic 'open ocean' need to be revised.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.