Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Monday, September 30, 2013

One Way to Mars

These people deserve a one-way ticket to another planet. Or anywhere. 
Once an Ocean, Now an Island Sunday, September 29, 20130

Once an Ocean, Now an Island

We often forget what a dynamic bit of rock we live on until being reminded by an earthquake.
95% Certain Friday, September 27, 20130

95% Certain

The latest IPCC report on climate change states that humans are the cause of global temperature increases with 95% certainty.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

The Bonobo and the Atheist

Monday, September 23, 2013

Are Dung Beetles Smarter Than Us?

[He's coming for your dung! Run! In a straight line!] By Reilly Capps Dung beetles navigate by the stars. Either dung beetles are...
Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Sunday, September 22, 20130

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Robots are far better than humans for exploring planets and far off moons. The ESA is showing the way with 'slither-bots' for Mars.
My First Week on Plastic Island Saturday, September 21, 20130

My First Week on Plastic Island

By Lucas Gardner Far out in the Pacific exists a massive island of trash known as Plastic Island. Here is a recap of my first week living there.
Have a Wonderful Day...or Night Thursday, September 19, 20130

Have a Wonderful Day...or Night

With bad news galore, a long-exposure image of the moon and Venus reminds us that beauty still happens.

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Statistics Matter, Even in Times of Tragedy

By Reilly Capps  It's awful to hear news like Navy Yard, but every news story about anything tragic should, by the third paragraph,...
Jane Goodall Recognition Monday, October 7, 20190

Jane Goodall Recognition

A life of being mindful to nature.

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment Saturday, October 5, 20190

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment

On environmental compassion.

Intelligent Designers Thursday, October 3, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

Condor's Hope Tuesday, October 1, 20190

Condor's Hope

Another bird takes flight.

Get Ready For Starship Monday, September 30, 20190

Get Ready For Starship

To the moon, Mars, and beyond.

Reversing Desertification & Climate Change Saturday, September 28, 20190

Reversing Desertification & Climate Change

Restoring degraded lands.

Peering At Space-Time Thursday, September 26, 20190

Peering At Space-Time

Visualizing a black hole.

Reasons For Hope Wednesday, September 25, 20190

Reasons For Hope

Costa Rica shows what is possibly.

The Super Termites Monday, September 23, 20190

The Super Termites

A real 'terminator' is out there.

Optus: Whale Song Monday, September 23, 20190

Optus: Whale Song

To communicate with whales.

A Universe Beyond The Fence Sunday, September 22, 20190

A Universe Beyond The Fence

A universe beyond th fence.

The Hunt Thursday, September 19, 20190

The Hunt

2 hunters, one above & one below 

Tibetan Fan Wednesday, September 18, 20190

Tibetan Fan

A real desert painting.

"The Blob" Returns Tuesday, September 17, 20190

"The Blob" Returns

In 'hot water' again.

Tree Huggers Sunday, September 15, 20190

Tree Huggers

Thermography shows why Koalas hug trees.

in vino veritas Friday, September 13, 20190

in vino veritas

Art and science making wine.

A Water World Revealed Wednesday, September 11, 20190

A Water World Revealed

A planet with water is found.

Rewilding Tuesday, September 10, 20190

Rewilding

Bringing back the wild again.