Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Monday, September 30, 2013

One Way to Mars

These people deserve a one-way ticket to another planet. Or anywhere. 
Once an Ocean, Now an Island Sunday, September 29, 20130

Once an Ocean, Now an Island

We often forget what a dynamic bit of rock we live on until being reminded by an earthquake.
95% Certain Friday, September 27, 20130

95% Certain

The latest IPCC report on climate change states that humans are the cause of global temperature increases with 95% certainty.
Cane Toad Horrors Thursday, September 26, 20130

Cane Toad Horrors

Cane toads are voracious, carnivorous, amphibians. A horror photograph shows why. They are the Frankentoads of the amphibian world.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

The Bonobo and the Atheist

Plant Breeders Rock Tuesday, September 24, 20130

Plant Breeders Rock

Everyone depends on the creations of a plant breeder.

Monday, September 23, 2013

Are Dung Beetles Smarter Than Us?

[He's coming for your dung! Run! In a straight line!] By Reilly Capps Dung beetles navigate by the stars. Either dung beetles are...
Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Sunday, September 22, 20130

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Robots are far better than humans for exploring planets and far off moons. The ESA is showing the way with 'slither-bots' for Mars.
My First Week on Plastic Island Saturday, September 21, 20130

My First Week on Plastic Island

By Lucas Gardner Far out in the Pacific exists a massive island of trash known as Plastic Island. Here is a recap of my first week living there.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.