Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Monday, September 30, 2013

One Way to Mars

These people deserve a one-way ticket to another planet. Or anywhere. 
Once an Ocean, Now an Island Sunday, September 29, 20130

Once an Ocean, Now an Island

We often forget what a dynamic bit of rock we live on until being reminded by an earthquake.
95% Certain Friday, September 27, 20130

95% Certain

The latest IPCC report on climate change states that humans are the cause of global temperature increases with 95% certainty.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

The Bonobo and the Atheist

Monday, September 23, 2013

Are Dung Beetles Smarter Than Us?

[He's coming for your dung! Run! In a straight line!] By Reilly Capps Dung beetles navigate by the stars. Either dung beetles are...
My First Week on Plastic Island Saturday, September 21, 20130

My First Week on Plastic Island

By Lucas Gardner Far out in the Pacific exists a massive island of trash known as Plastic Island. Here is a recap of my first week living there.
Have a Wonderful Day...or Night Thursday, September 19, 20130

Have a Wonderful Day...or Night

With bad news galore, a long-exposure image of the moon and Venus reminds us that beauty still happens.

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Statistics Matter, Even in Times of Tragedy

By Reilly Capps  It's awful to hear news like Navy Yard, but every news story about anything tragic should, by the third paragraph,...
Mount Sinabung Erupts Wednesday, September 18, 20130

Mount Sinabung Erupts

The mega-volcano in Indonesia has exploded sending smoke and ash high into the atmosphere.
My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 28, 20190

My Life As A Turkey

A true turkey story.

Failing Grades Tuesday, November 26, 20190

Failing Grades

A climate change report card.

Where Does Creativity Come From? Sunday, November 24, 20190

Where Does Creativity Come From?

Creativity has a bit of magic.

Winning Isn't Everything Friday, November 22, 20190

Winning Isn't Everything

Ping-pong as life-lesson.

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Thursday, November 21, 20190

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Slither-bots created for Mars.

Europa's Water Monday, November 18, 20190

Europa's Water

Water vapor on a Jovian moon.

Koala Needing Rescue Saturday, November 16, 20190

Koala Needing Rescue

An injured animal hospital.

World Views Friday, November 15, 20190

World Views

The Earth in new perspectives.

If The Moon Was Another Planet? Thursday, November 14, 20190

If The Moon Was Another Planet?

If the moon were Saturn?

Mars Oxygen? Wednesday, November 13, 20190

Mars Oxygen?

Another Martian puzzle.

'Mandela's Gold' Tuesday, November 12, 20190

'Mandela's Gold'

A plant named for the human rights leader.

Master Huddlers Sunday, November 10, 20190

Master Huddlers

Penguins never cease to amaze.

Dam Down Friday, November 8, 20190

Dam Down

A 'deadbeat dam' comes down.

Re-photography Rules Thursday, November 7, 20190

Re-photography Rules

A poweful tool for visualizing change.

Low-cost Reforestation Wednesday, November 6, 20190

Low-cost Reforestation

Successful reforesation that 'works with nature'.

Curiosity's Photo Album Tuesday, November 5, 20190

Curiosity's Photo Album

Haunting landscapes on Mars.

A Real Pinocchio Found...no lie! Monday, November 4, 20190

A Real Pinocchio Found...no lie!

Pinocchio lizard is no lie.

One Big Lava Lamp Sunday, November 3, 20190

One Big Lava Lamp

Ben Franklin would have loved Lava Lamps.