Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Pluto animated Monday, August 31, 20150

Pluto animated

A photo-animation of the New Horizons Pluto fly-by was created and a super-strange world it is.
Marine Mammals of the World Sunday, August 30, 20150

Marine Mammals of the World

The 2nd edition of  Marine Mammals of the World  has been published and includes images from Australian contributor Wayne Osborn.
Study finds irrational mating habits in frogs Saturday, August 29, 20150

Study finds irrational mating habits in frogs

The túngara frog exhibits the decoy effect
Not a Cog in a Machine; You're a Swirling Whirlpool Saturday, August 29, 20150

Not a Cog in a Machine; You're a Swirling Whirlpool

The Known Universe in 6 minutes Friday, August 28, 20150

The Known Universe in 6 minutes

Imagine Wednesday, August 26, 20150

Imagine

An elite mountaineer and eye doctor imagines a world without blindness.
New video technology depicts vast complexity of mouse brain Tuesday, August 25, 20150

New video technology depicts vast complexity of mouse brain

Whether you get a sense of the brain's complexity or the bounds in science visualization, watching this video is captivating.
Evolution Thinks Up Disgusting Things Monday, August 24, 20150

Evolution Thinks Up Disgusting Things

Greenland's Melting Ice Friday, August 21, 20150

Greenland's Melting Ice

A Greenland glacier has produced another world record...the largest observed collapse of ice in recorded history.
Extreme Shrimps and Ocean Worlds Monday, May 13, 20190

Extreme Shrimps and Ocean Worlds

Extreme shrimps? How would we know?

Fog Catchers Saturday, May 11, 20190

Fog Catchers

Fogged-in takes on new meaning.

Prince Ea: Dear Future Generations Friday, May 10, 20190

Prince Ea: Dear Future Generations

Rapping about trees and future generations.

Grevillea, Plant of the Month Thursday, May 9, 20190

Grevillea, Plant of the Month

Grevilleas stretch back to the era of Gondwanaland.

Appreciating Wild Species Wednesday, May 8, 20190

Appreciating Wild Species

Remember to appreciate wildlife.
6th Extinction Tuesday, May 7, 20190

6th Extinction

Losses rapid in biodiversity.

Laser Forestry Monday, May 6, 20190

Laser Forestry

GEDI to the rescue.

Cyclone Fani Friday, May 3, 20190

Cyclone Fani

Satellite mapping a super-Cyclone.

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code Wednesday, May 1, 20190

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code

Living on a coast, sea level rise should be of interest.

Art from Space Monday, April 29, 20190

Art from Space

Photography is an essential tool of exploration.

Intelligent Designers Saturday, April 27, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

George Saunders on Kindness Friday, April 26, 20190

George Saunders on Kindness

Kindness is a trait everyone should try to practice.

Selfies Can Be Amazing Thursday, April 25, 20190

Selfies Can Be Amazing

Selfies can be amazing.

10 Ideas for any Earth Day Wednesday, April 24, 20190

10 Ideas for any Earth Day

Every day should be Earth Day!

Earth Day, Every Day Monday, April 22, 20190

Earth Day, Every Day

Earth Day 2019

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency! Sunday, April 21, 20190

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency!

Energy efficiency is the 'name of the game'.

Botany, an Extreme Sport Wednesday, April 17, 20190

Botany, an Extreme Sport

Climbing gear serving plant conservation.

Chasing Water With Gabions Tuesday, April 16, 20190

Chasing Water With Gabions

An appropriate river restoration technology.