Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Octo-Moms Thursday, July 31, 20140

Octo-Moms

Giant octopus make good, and very patient, moms.
FoxNews's Astronomical Knowledge Shines Through Wednesday, July 30, 20140

FoxNews's Astronomical Knowledge Shines Through

​FoxNews: Your source for the latest in science news, as long as 'latest' is defined as 2500 years old. 
River Deltas...here & there Tuesday, July 29, 20140

River Deltas...here & there

River deltas result when materials are moved from uplands to lowlands. They happen wherever liquids flow.
No More Frozen Ponds, No More Hockey Monday, July 28, 20140

No More Frozen Ponds, No More Hockey

It's not just glaciers: the NHL frets about the melting ice. 

Monday, July 28, 2014

How Can People Be Skeptical About Facts?

Let me ask you about our planet. Think about the whole planet, now, from Boulder to Bangladesh, not just your little corner of it. 
Twitter As A Scientific Resource Friday, July 25, 20140

Twitter As A Scientific Resource

Examining Twitter's potential as a scientific source

Friday, July 25, 2014

Iceberg Collapses -- Woman Shrieks in Fear

Watch this terrifying footage of an iceberg collapsing off Newfoundland. 
Buckled Lands Friday, July 25, 20140

Buckled Lands

Afghanistan's Sulaiman Ranges are one of the most buckled landscapes on Earth.
Do You Ever Feel Trapped? Thursday, July 24, 20140

Do You Ever Feel Trapped?

"Nature is a movie that goes by outside the car window."
Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.

History of Consumerism Saturday, June 30, 20180

History of Consumerism

Alain de Botton: a history of consumerism and a possible future.
The Secret Point of Travel Friday, June 29, 20180

The Secret Point of Travel

What we know is less than we thought.

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered Wednesday, June 27, 20180

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered

The physics of ice cycloids explained.

Conserving, the Mother Load Tuesday, June 26, 20180

Conserving, the Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Kilauea Observed Monday, June 25, 20180

Kilauea Observed

Lava seen from the space station.

Washed Ashore Sunday, June 24, 20180

Washed Ashore

Art used to save the oceans.

Climate Change Stripes Friday, June 22, 20180

Climate Change Stripes

'Climate Pins' coming soon.

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3 Thursday, June 21, 20180

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3

Creative thinking of intelligent designers.

Compassionate Turtles Wednesday, June 20, 20180

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate behavior can be seen in animals.

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea Monday, June 18, 20180

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea

A 'lava river' into the Ocean.

Rubber Plant Sunday, June 17, 20180

Rubber Plant

A desert plant begins to realize its potential.

Water Crisis Friday, June 15, 20180

Water Crisis

Water supply thresholds.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, June 13, 20180

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful and re-imagining work can be the key to unlocking creativity and productivity at the same time.
The Ancients Are Dying Tuesday, June 12, 20180

The Ancients Are Dying

Baobabs are in trouble.