Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Yardangs & Salt Flats Monday, June 30, 20140

Yardangs & Salt Flats

Inhospitable might best describe the Salar de Arizaro in South America.
Placing Lids on Emissions Sunday, June 29, 20140

Placing Lids on Emissions

A new map shows that real progress can be made in reducing air pollutants if "lids" are put on the gases.
Orion Rising Saturday, June 28, 20140

Orion Rising

The Greeks named the three stars oriented like beads on a string as Orion's Belt. The Hunter also carried a sword.
Martian Selfie Friday, June 27, 20140

Martian Selfie

The Martian explorer Curiosity took a birthday selfie.
Risky Business Thursday, June 26, 20140

Risky Business

Risk analysis is used in business to identify factors that can jeopardize a project. Climate change is ideal for such an analysis.
Mission Ocean Wednesday, June 25, 20140

Mission Ocean

The Global Oceans Commission has just released an important report: Mission Ocean
Auroras by Any Name Tuesday, June 24, 20140

Auroras by Any Name

A progression of stunning ultra-violet auroras.
Wavy Jets Monday, June 23, 20140

Wavy Jets

The jet stream has been making some big waves lately. 
March of the Penguins Sunday, June 22, 20140

March of the Penguins

Science is self-correcting as new data disrupts old dogmas. A colony of marching penguins shows the way.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.