Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Yardangs & Salt Flats Monday, June 30, 20140

Yardangs & Salt Flats

Inhospitable might best describe the Salar de Arizaro in South America.
Placing Lids on Emissions Sunday, June 29, 20140

Placing Lids on Emissions

A new map shows that real progress can be made in reducing air pollutants if "lids" are put on the gases.
Orion Rising Saturday, June 28, 20140

Orion Rising

The Greeks named the three stars oriented like beads on a string as Orion's Belt. The Hunter also carried a sword.
Martian Selfie Friday, June 27, 20140

Martian Selfie

The Martian explorer Curiosity took a birthday selfie.
Risky Business Thursday, June 26, 20140

Risky Business

Risk analysis is used in business to identify factors that can jeopardize a project. Climate change is ideal for such an analysis.
Mission Ocean Wednesday, June 25, 20140

Mission Ocean

The Global Oceans Commission has just released an important report: Mission Ocean
Auroras by Any Name Tuesday, June 24, 20140

Auroras by Any Name

A progression of stunning ultra-violet auroras.
Wavy Jets Monday, June 23, 20140

Wavy Jets

The jet stream has been making some big waves lately. 
March of the Penguins Sunday, June 22, 20140

March of the Penguins

Science is self-correcting as new data disrupts old dogmas. A colony of marching penguins shows the way.
Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.

History of Consumerism Saturday, June 30, 20180

History of Consumerism

Alain de Botton: a history of consumerism and a possible future.
The Secret Point of Travel Friday, June 29, 20180

The Secret Point of Travel

What we know is less than we thought.

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered Wednesday, June 27, 20180

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered

The physics of ice cycloids explained.

Conserving, the Mother Load Tuesday, June 26, 20180

Conserving, the Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Kilauea Observed Monday, June 25, 20180

Kilauea Observed

Lava seen from the space station.

Washed Ashore Sunday, June 24, 20180

Washed Ashore

Art used to save the oceans.

Climate Change Stripes Friday, June 22, 20180

Climate Change Stripes

'Climate Pins' coming soon.

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3 Thursday, June 21, 20180

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3

Creative thinking of intelligent designers.

Compassionate Turtles Wednesday, June 20, 20180

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate behavior can be seen in animals.

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea Monday, June 18, 20180

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea

A 'lava river' into the Ocean.

Rubber Plant Sunday, June 17, 20180

Rubber Plant

A desert plant begins to realize its potential.

Water Crisis Friday, June 15, 20180

Water Crisis

Water supply thresholds.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, June 13, 20180

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful and re-imagining work can be the key to unlocking creativity and productivity at the same time.
The Ancients Are Dying Tuesday, June 12, 20180

The Ancients Are Dying

Baobabs are in trouble.