Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon Sunday, June 30, 20130

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon

What ecologists have known for some time, economists are coming to realize: an easy and non-bureaucratic climate solution exists that would have a...
Islands Make Wakes...who knew? Saturday, June 29, 20130

Islands Make Wakes...who knew?

Like a saliboat on a calm sea, a canoe on a lake, or a vessel on any body of water, islands can produce a wake as well. Who knew?

Friday, June 28, 2013

Your Future Has Arrived

By Reilly Capps People like to complain that the futuristic-sounding year 2000 came and went without a particularly futuristic feel. Where's my...
Voyager Still Surprises Friday, June 28, 20130

Voyager Still Surprises

The Voyager space probe has passed into a strange and unpredicted zone of space. The original models will all need to be changed.
Ponderosa Pines: 2 Views Thursday, June 27, 20130

Ponderosa Pines: 2 Views

Colorado has been burning. Part of the reason is past forest management.

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

What Counts on Speeches? Optics, and Pit Stains

By Reilly Capps Obama's speech on the environment had excellent optics -- but they could have been even better. If Obama wants to attract...

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

A Big Day for the Environment: DeChristopher is on Letterman

By Reilly Capps Tim DeChristopher, recently sprung from federal prison, is scheduled to be on "The Late Show with David Letterman" tonight....
Science Fair Projects That Will Get You Noticed Monday, June 24, 20130

Science Fair Projects That Will Get You Noticed

By Lucas Gardner When school comes back around this spring, some of you younger readers might find yourself in need of some ideas for science...

Sunday, June 23, 2013

The New Genius

By Reilly Capps There've been a few people lately standing up for for poetry and literature, but poetry's old and tired. Homer. The psalmist....
World of Wonder, updated Monday, December 4, 20170

World of Wonder, updated

We live in a 'world of wonder' we still know little about.

Think Green Saturday, December 2, 20170

Think Green

It's important to Think Green during this white time of year.

Solarizing South Australia Friday, December 1, 20170

Solarizing South Australia

Renewable electricity power generation took a big leap today.

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update Thursday, November 30, 20170

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Your Kids Will Live on Mars Wednesday, November 29, 20170

Your Kids Will Live on Mars

Futurists have always looked to Mars.

Tuesday for Giving Tuesday, November 28, 20170

Tuesday for Giving

3 Suggestions for Giving Tuesday

Rewilding Monday, November 27, 20170

Rewilding

or how a 'silent spring' could turn into a 'wild summer' 
Cancun's Underwater Museum Friday, November 24, 20170

Cancun's Underwater Museum

The sculptor Jason DeCaires Taylor created a unique museum combining art and science in an undersea display.
My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 23, 20170

My Life As A Turkey

If you thought turkeys were just big butterballs in the Thanksgiving oven, think again.
How the Military Fights Climate Change Monday, November 20, 20170

How the Military Fights Climate Change

The military are proactive on climate change.

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action Saturday, November 18, 20170

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action

Moving away from cliamte fatigue into action.

Trees Before Rain Friday, November 17, 20170

Trees Before Rain

Which came first: trees or rain?

A 'Medicane' Forms Wednesday, November 15, 20170

A 'Medicane' Forms

A medicane heads toward Italy and Greece.

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, November 14, 20170

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis

Incentives to solve climate change.

India's 'gas chamber' smog Monday, November 13, 20170

India's 'gas chamber' smog

Toxic smog covers north India.

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger Saturday, November 11, 20170

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger

Ecology, forests, and megafires.

Curing Blindness Friday, November 10, 20170

Curing Blindness

Can blindness anywhere be eliminated?

Conserving, the Mother Load Wednesday, November 8, 20170

Conserving, the Mother Load

Trying to avoid another Dust Bowl.