Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon Sunday, June 30, 20130

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon

What ecologists have known for some time, economists are coming to realize: an easy and non-bureaucratic climate solution exists that would have a...
Islands Make Wakes...who knew? Saturday, June 29, 20130

Islands Make Wakes...who knew?

Like a saliboat on a calm sea, a canoe on a lake, or a vessel on any body of water, islands can produce a wake as well. Who knew?

Friday, June 28, 2013

Your Future Has Arrived

By Reilly Capps People like to complain that the futuristic-sounding year 2000 came and went without a particularly futuristic feel. Where's my...
Voyager Still Surprises Friday, June 28, 20130

Voyager Still Surprises

The Voyager space probe has passed into a strange and unpredicted zone of space. The original models will all need to be changed.
Ponderosa Pines: 2 Views Thursday, June 27, 20130

Ponderosa Pines: 2 Views

Colorado has been burning. Part of the reason is past forest management.

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

What Counts on Speeches? Optics, and Pit Stains

By Reilly Capps Obama's speech on the environment had excellent optics -- but they could have been even better. If Obama wants to attract...

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

A Big Day for the Environment: DeChristopher is on Letterman

By Reilly Capps Tim DeChristopher, recently sprung from federal prison, is scheduled to be on "The Late Show with David Letterman" tonight....
Science Fair Projects That Will Get You Noticed Monday, June 24, 20130

Science Fair Projects That Will Get You Noticed

By Lucas Gardner When school comes back around this spring, some of you younger readers might find yourself in need of some ideas for science...

Sunday, June 23, 2013

The New Genius

By Reilly Capps There've been a few people lately standing up for for poetry and literature, but poetry's old and tired. Homer. The psalmist....
Jane Goodall Recognition Monday, October 7, 20190

Jane Goodall Recognition

A life of being mindful to nature.

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment Saturday, October 5, 20190

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment

On environmental compassion.

Intelligent Designers Thursday, October 3, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

Condor's Hope Tuesday, October 1, 20190

Condor's Hope

Another bird takes flight.

Get Ready For Starship Monday, September 30, 20190

Get Ready For Starship

To the moon, Mars, and beyond.

Reversing Desertification & Climate Change Saturday, September 28, 20190

Reversing Desertification & Climate Change

Restoring degraded lands.

Peering At Space-Time Thursday, September 26, 20190

Peering At Space-Time

Visualizing a black hole.

Reasons For Hope Wednesday, September 25, 20190

Reasons For Hope

Costa Rica shows what is possibly.

The Super Termites Monday, September 23, 20190

The Super Termites

A real 'terminator' is out there.

Optus: Whale Song Monday, September 23, 20190

Optus: Whale Song

To communicate with whales.

A Universe Beyond The Fence Sunday, September 22, 20190

A Universe Beyond The Fence

A universe beyond th fence.

The Hunt Thursday, September 19, 20190

The Hunt

2 hunters, one above & one below 

Tibetan Fan Wednesday, September 18, 20190

Tibetan Fan

A real desert painting.

"The Blob" Returns Tuesday, September 17, 20190

"The Blob" Returns

In 'hot water' again.

Tree Huggers Sunday, September 15, 20190

Tree Huggers

Thermography shows why Koalas hug trees.

in vino veritas Friday, September 13, 20190

in vino veritas

Art and science making wine.

A Water World Revealed Wednesday, September 11, 20190

A Water World Revealed

A planet with water is found.

Rewilding Tuesday, September 10, 20190

Rewilding

Bringing back the wild again.