Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Endangered Species Takes Another Critical Blow Sunday, May 31, 20150

Endangered Species Takes Another Critical Blow

What appears to be a fatal disease has wiped out a significant fraction of the Central Asian saiga
Plant of the Month Saturday, May 30, 20150

Plant of the Month

Gum trees are found throughout Australia from the tropics to the alpine. Many are very beautiful and very rare.
Drenching the Drought Thursday, May 28, 20150

Drenching the Drought

90% of Texas was in drought conditions in 2014, much of it extreme. In May 2015, the percentage of affected areas has fallen to 30% and it is...
Temperature Anomalies Wednesday, May 27, 20150

Temperature Anomalies

A temperature anomaly occurred this week when Alaska had higher temperatures than Texas.
Scientific Misconduct Is A Bigger Problem Than You Think Tuesday, May 26, 20150

Scientific Misconduct Is A Bigger Problem Than You Think

The recent dispute over a study published in Science is an occasion to look at the deeper problems in science publishing
Ocean Blooming Tuesday, May 26, 20150

Ocean Blooming

The "blooming" of algae in the North Atlantic offers hope for restoration of depleted fisheries.
Species and their Appreciation Saturday, May 23, 20150

Species and their Appreciation

Every day should be a "species appreciation day".
Why Is It So Lame to Love Plants? Tuesday, May 19, 20150

Why Is It So Lame to Love Plants?

Maybe Leaving Earth Doesn't Make Sense Monday, May 18, 20150

Maybe Leaving Earth Doesn't Make Sense

Open Passage Tuesday, July 31, 20180

Open Passage

Mid-21st Century predictions of an open Arctic need revision.

Empathetic Whales Sunday, July 29, 20180

Empathetic Whales

Whales seem to show empathy towards other species.

Project Drawdown Thursday, July 26, 20180

Project Drawdown

Paul Hawken has a new mission, climate change.

A Renewable Energy System Monday, July 23, 20180

A Renewable Energy System

Carbon-free power systems may be possible.

Titan Revealed Saturday, July 21, 20180

Titan Revealed

Titan's surface has been revealed.

NOAA's Mapper Thursday, July 19, 20180

NOAA's Mapper

NOAA's GOES satellites produce fine maps.

'Mini-Moons' Wednesday, July 18, 20180

'Mini-Moons'

79 moons and counting

The Playful Wonderland Monday, July 16, 20180

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Of Rats & Reefs Sunday, July 15, 20180

Of Rats & Reefs

Remove rats...restore reefs!

Fire Season Friday, July 13, 20180

Fire Season

Raging fires in Colorado.

Field Work Thursday, July 12, 20180

Field Work

Cross disciplinary now defines field work.

Batfish Chorus Line Tuesday, July 10, 20180

Batfish Chorus Line

Taping a fish 'sing-a-long'.

Mapping Hidden Landscapes Monday, July 9, 20180

Mapping Hidden Landscapes

With LiDAR creating maps limited only by the imagination.

Paul Greenberg: The Consequences of Over-eating 4 Fish Saturday, July 7, 20180

Paul Greenberg: The Consequences of Over-eating 4 Fish

Paul Greenberg discusses over-eating 4 fish.

 

Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.