Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Endangered Species Takes Another Critical Blow Sunday, May 31, 20150

Endangered Species Takes Another Critical Blow

What appears to be a fatal disease has wiped out a significant fraction of the Central Asian saiga
Plant of the Month Saturday, May 30, 20150

Plant of the Month

Gum trees are found throughout Australia from the tropics to the alpine. Many are very beautiful and very rare.
Drenching the Drought Thursday, May 28, 20150

Drenching the Drought

90% of Texas was in drought conditions in 2014, much of it extreme. In May 2015, the percentage of affected areas has fallen to 30% and it is...
Temperature Anomalies Wednesday, May 27, 20150

Temperature Anomalies

A temperature anomaly occurred this week when Alaska had higher temperatures than Texas.
Scientific Misconduct Is A Bigger Problem Than You Think Tuesday, May 26, 20150

Scientific Misconduct Is A Bigger Problem Than You Think

The recent dispute over a study published in Science is an occasion to look at the deeper problems in science publishing
Ocean Blooming Tuesday, May 26, 20150

Ocean Blooming

The "blooming" of algae in the North Atlantic offers hope for restoration of depleted fisheries.
Species and their Appreciation Saturday, May 23, 20150

Species and their Appreciation

Every day should be a "species appreciation day".
Environment as Art Wednesday, May 20, 20150

Environment as Art

The artist John Wolseley uses an unusual concept to create paintings about our connections to nature.
Why Is It So Lame to Love Plants? Tuesday, May 19, 20150

Why Is It So Lame to Love Plants?

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.