Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The Catseye Saturday, May 31, 20140

The Catseye

The Catseye Nebulae is a celestial beauty three thousand light-years away.
Reefs 2, Miners 0 Thursday, May 29, 20140

Reefs 2, Miners 0

Turns out that placing a coal shipping facility near a world famous coral reef ecosystem isn't such a good idea.
Fire Rainbows Tuesday, May 27, 20140

Fire Rainbows

Fire Rainbows or are known for their odd appearance and unusual production requirements.
How Rich is Bill Gates? Saturday, May 24, 20140

How Rich is Bill Gates?

One of the many reasons to love this man -- he makes me understand things. 
Half Empty or Half Full? Thursday, May 22, 20140

Half Empty or Half Full?

Lake Powell in Utah and Arizona is "running on empty", waterwise.
Supercells Wednesday, May 21, 20140

Supercells

Supercell thunderstorms can produce extreme weather events. Watch out!
Floods & Arks Tuesday, May 20, 20140

Floods & Arks

In the children's fable, Noah built an ark to survive a flood of Biblical proportions. Noah may be needed again.
In Sun-burnt Lands Sunday, May 18, 20140

In Sun-burnt Lands

Two of my favorite places, California and Australia, are experiencing some of their worst drought conditions ever.
Hitting a Bullseye Friday, May 16, 20140

Hitting a Bullseye

Like hitting a bullseye, meteors have revealed water ice occurs at shallow depths on Mars.
Extreme Shrimps and Ocean Worlds Monday, May 13, 20190

Extreme Shrimps and Ocean Worlds

Extreme shrimps? How would we know?

Fog Catchers Saturday, May 11, 20190

Fog Catchers

Fogged-in takes on new meaning.

Prince Ea: Dear Future Generations Friday, May 10, 20190

Prince Ea: Dear Future Generations

Rapping about trees and future generations.

Grevillea, Plant of the Month Thursday, May 9, 20190

Grevillea, Plant of the Month

Grevilleas stretch back to the era of Gondwanaland.

Appreciating Wild Species Wednesday, May 8, 20190

Appreciating Wild Species

Remember to appreciate wildlife.
6th Extinction Tuesday, May 7, 20190

6th Extinction

Losses rapid in biodiversity.

Laser Forestry Monday, May 6, 20190

Laser Forestry

GEDI to the rescue.

Cyclone Fani Friday, May 3, 20190

Cyclone Fani

Satellite mapping a super-Cyclone.

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code Wednesday, May 1, 20190

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code

Living on a coast, sea level rise should be of interest.

Art from Space Monday, April 29, 20190

Art from Space

Photography is an essential tool of exploration.

Intelligent Designers Saturday, April 27, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

George Saunders on Kindness Friday, April 26, 20190

George Saunders on Kindness

Kindness is a trait everyone should try to practice.

Selfies Can Be Amazing Thursday, April 25, 20190

Selfies Can Be Amazing

Selfies can be amazing.

10 Ideas for any Earth Day Wednesday, April 24, 20190

10 Ideas for any Earth Day

Every day should be Earth Day!

Earth Day, Every Day Monday, April 22, 20190

Earth Day, Every Day

Earth Day 2019

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency! Sunday, April 21, 20190

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency!

Energy efficiency is the 'name of the game'.

Botany, an Extreme Sport Wednesday, April 17, 20190

Botany, an Extreme Sport

Climbing gear serving plant conservation.

Chasing Water With Gabions Tuesday, April 16, 20190

Chasing Water With Gabions

An appropriate river restoration technology.