Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The Catseye Saturday, May 31, 20140

The Catseye

The Catseye Nebulae is a celestial beauty three thousand light-years away.
Reefs 2, Miners 0 Thursday, May 29, 20140

Reefs 2, Miners 0

Turns out that placing a coal shipping facility near a world famous coral reef ecosystem isn't such a good idea.
Fire Rainbows Tuesday, May 27, 20140

Fire Rainbows

Fire Rainbows or are known for their odd appearance and unusual production requirements.
How Rich is Bill Gates? Saturday, May 24, 20140

How Rich is Bill Gates?

One of the many reasons to love this man -- he makes me understand things. 
Half Empty or Half Full? Thursday, May 22, 20140

Half Empty or Half Full?

Lake Powell in Utah and Arizona is "running on empty", waterwise.
Supercells Wednesday, May 21, 20140

Supercells

Supercell thunderstorms can produce extreme weather events. Watch out!
Floods & Arks Tuesday, May 20, 20140

Floods & Arks

In the children's fable, Noah built an ark to survive a flood of Biblical proportions. Noah may be needed again.
In Sun-burnt Lands Sunday, May 18, 20140

In Sun-burnt Lands

Two of my favorite places, California and Australia, are experiencing some of their worst drought conditions ever.
Hitting a Bullseye Friday, May 16, 20140

Hitting a Bullseye

Like hitting a bullseye, meteors have revealed water ice occurs at shallow depths on Mars.
Where Do Good Ideas Come From? Monday, January 13, 20200

Where Do Good Ideas Come From?

A storyteller suggests an answer.

Look & See Sunday, January 12, 20200

Look & See

A Portrait of Wendell Berry.

Valuing Nature Friday, January 10, 20200

Valuing Nature

How to measure nature's value.

Navel of the World Thursday, January 9, 20200

Navel of the World

Tibet's sacred mountain.

Supporting Australian 1st Responders & Wildlife Monday, January 6, 20200

Supporting Australian 1st Responders & Wildlife

Supporting emergency responders in Australia.

Smoke Sunday, January 5, 20200

Smoke

Smoke from bushfires is tracked from space.

Hey teachers...make it fun! Thursday, January 2, 20200

Hey teachers...make it fun!

Teachers should make it fun.

Phenology, Flowers, & Climate Change Monday, December 30, 20190

Phenology, Flowers, & Climate Change

Watching seasonal biological changes.

Compassion...a new meaning Sunday, December 29, 20190

Compassion...a new meaning

Mindfulness for this world.

My Country Will Be Underwater Soon Friday, December 27, 20190

My Country Will Be Underwater Soon

Kiribati and the impacts climate change.

Noam Chomsky interview Thursday, December 26, 20190

Noam Chomsky interview

On responsibility and humility.

Opportunity's Last Photo Tuesday, December 24, 20190

Opportunity's Last Photo

A Martian panorama.

Surreal Landscapes Monday, December 23, 20190

Surreal Landscapes

A surreal river from space.

Toolmaking Crows Friday, December 20, 20190

Toolmaking Crows

New Caledonian crows use hunting tools.

A Botanical Gem, Cephalotus Tuesday, December 17, 20190

A Botanical Gem, Cephalotus

The Albany pitcher plant.

Mapping Fires Monday, December 16, 20190

Mapping Fires

Satellite data used to visualize wildfires.

Conservation Photography Saturday, December 14, 20190

Conservation Photography

Photography in service for conservation.

International Mountain Day Wednesday, December 11, 20190

International Mountain Day