Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Four Disgusting Uses for Colorado River Water Thursday, May 30, 20130

Four Disgusting Uses for Colorado River Water

By Reilly Capps It's easy to wax poetic about rivers, to talk about them as the veins of the Earth, the coursing blood of a planet alive. Here...
Nuclear Fall-In: New Flicks Helping Nukes Change their Rep Wednesday, May 29, 20130

Nuclear Fall-In: New Flicks Helping Nukes Change their Rep

By Reilly Capps For years, America hated nuclear power with a steadfastness that seemed just as solid and unbreakable as an atom -- a greek word...

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

You Must Have at Least One Good Eye

To get shots like these, you have to have patience and a good lens. But, mostly, you must have at least one eye -- preferably a good one. Photos...
The Last Ocean Wednesday, May 29, 20130

The Last Ocean

The Ross Sea in Antarctica is one of the last untouched bits of ocean anywhere. Its designation as a marine protected area is pending.
What America's Ballsiest Eco-Activist Says About Prison Will Surprise You Sunday, May 26, 20130

What America's Ballsiest Eco-Activist Says About Prison Will Surprise You

By Reilly Capps Tim DeChristopher's worst moment in prison: sick, hungry, beginning to feel like he was on his own. He worried that, by sending...
Living Tiny Sunday, May 26, 20130

Living Tiny

Some people are exploring small spaces and learning to 'live large' in the process.
What Made This Gentle Giant Kill? Saturday, May 25, 20130

What Made This Gentle Giant Kill?

By Reilly Capps What made an apparently gentle giant kill? After a Sea World trainer was killed by an orca, filmmakers set out to answer that...

Friday, May 24, 2013

The Magic Artificial Leaf

By Reilly Capps Daniel Nocera is one of the most exciting scientists in the world. He's working on doing nothing less than building an...
How to Glow: the Very Simple Way of Energy Making Friday, May 24, 20130

How to Glow: the Very Simple Way of Energy Making

By Reilly Capps  If you break down the essence of energy like you're talking to a kindergartner, it really comes down to one thing: the sun....
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.