Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Grandest of Canyons Saturday, April 30, 20160

Grandest of Canyons

The Grand Canyon is especially grand from space.

De-listing of Greater Yellowstone Grizzlies Opposed Thursday, April 28, 20160

De-listing of Greater Yellowstone Grizzlies Opposed

Jane Goodall offers a plea for continued protection of a keystone animal in Yellowstone.
NCAR: Ocean oxygen loss to become widespread by 2030's Wednesday, April 27, 20160

NCAR: Ocean oxygen loss to become widespread by 2030's

Ocean oxygen loss to become widespread by 2030's.

The World's Oldest Living Things Tuesday, April 26, 20160

The World's Oldest Living Things

The list of ancient living things is now a good deal longer.

Khumbu notes: Remembering Scott Fischer on Everest Monday, April 25, 20160

Khumbu notes: Remembering Scott Fischer on Everest

Everest Mountaineer Brent Bishop remembers Scott Fischer

Wendell Berry, The Seer Sunday, April 24, 20160

Wendell Berry, The Seer

The Seer is a film about the agrian and environmental author Wendell Berry.
Oceans Melting Greenland...or OMG Saturday, April 23, 20160

Oceans Melting Greenland...or OMG

JPL has initiated the OMG project to monitor Greenland's ice melt.
Earth Day, 2016 Friday, April 22, 20160

Earth Day, 2016

Restoration on a global scale could be possible with the agreement signed today.
National Park Service Anniversary Thursday, April 21, 20160

National Park Service Anniversary

Recognizing the 100th Anniversary of the National Park Service.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.