Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

"A Rose by Any Other Name..." Tuesday, April 30, 20130

"A Rose by Any Other Name..."

Saturn's north polar cyclone appears like a rose in a new NASA photograph.
History Doesn’t Stop -- It Doesn’t Even Slow Down Monday, April 29, 20130

History Doesn’t Stop -- It Doesn’t Even Slow Down

By Reilly Capps The news seemed to leap out at us from the dark last week, as it tends to do, with blood and fangs, scaring the bejeezus out of...
Sea Mountains Monday, April 29, 20130

Sea Mountains

Sea-mounts are found everywhere under the oceans. Some are volcanoes that can erupt dramatically.
Boiled Lobster Saturday, April 27, 20130

Boiled Lobster

In 2012, ocean surface temperatures along the northeast were the highest recorded in 150 years.
Deep Ecology Friday, April 26, 20130

Deep Ecology

Ecosystems can be studied at micro or macro scales. Each approach provides different but important ecological information.
Photographer Created an Original View of the West Wednesday, April 24, 20130

Photographer Created an Original View of the West

By Reilly Capps Photographers take a lot of things from events and landscapes -- images -- but they can, if they’re good, sometimes give...
Fog Tuesday, April 23, 20130

Fog

Fog is ecologically critical for several ecosystems. It is also beautiful.
Earth Day...everyday Sunday, April 21, 20130

Earth Day...everyday

Sebastião Salgado's new Genesis project required 8 years to complete. It is a prefect reminder of what is important about Earth Day and...
Coastal Zones Saturday, April 20, 20130

Coastal Zones

Vegetation is the under-appreciated protector of the coastlines. It also serves as critical wildlife habitat.
Think Green Saturday, December 2, 20170

Think Green

It's important to Think Green during this white time of year.

Solarizing South Australia Friday, December 1, 20170

Solarizing South Australia

Renewable electricity power generation took a big leap today.

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update Thursday, November 30, 20170

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Your Kids Will Live on Mars Wednesday, November 29, 20170

Your Kids Will Live on Mars

Futurists have always looked to Mars.

Tuesday for Giving Tuesday, November 28, 20170

Tuesday for Giving

3 Suggestions for Giving Tuesday

Rewilding Monday, November 27, 20170

Rewilding

or how a 'silent spring' could turn into a 'wild summer' 
Cancun's Underwater Museum Friday, November 24, 20170

Cancun's Underwater Museum

The sculptor Jason DeCaires Taylor created a unique museum combining art and science in an undersea display.
My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 23, 20170

My Life As A Turkey

If you thought turkeys were just big butterballs in the Thanksgiving oven, think again.
How the Military Fights Climate Change Monday, November 20, 20170

How the Military Fights Climate Change

The military are proactive on climate change.

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action Saturday, November 18, 20170

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action

Moving away from cliamte fatigue into action.

Trees Before Rain Friday, November 17, 20170

Trees Before Rain

Which came first: trees or rain?

A 'Medicane' Forms Wednesday, November 15, 20170

A 'Medicane' Forms

A medicane heads toward Italy and Greece.

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, November 14, 20170

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis

Incentives to solve climate change.

India's 'gas chamber' smog Monday, November 13, 20170

India's 'gas chamber' smog

Toxic smog covers north India.

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger Saturday, November 11, 20170

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger

Ecology, forests, and megafires.

Curing Blindness Friday, November 10, 20170

Curing Blindness

Can blindness anywhere be eliminated?

Conserving, the Mother Load Wednesday, November 8, 20170

Conserving, the Mother Load

Trying to avoid another Dust Bowl.

Restoration by Crowdfunding Tuesday, November 7, 20170

Restoration by Crowdfunding

A rare fish is restored and the ecological recovery is a good lesson.