Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

World's Highest Poop to Become Energy Tuesday, March 31, 20150

World's Highest Poop to Become Energy

​The waste is piling up on Everest. There's a plan to use it for fuel. 
Astrobiology, Of Age, Reevaluates its Assumptions Monday, March 30, 20150

Astrobiology, Of Age, Reevaluates its Assumptions

Astrobiology is getting serious about its techniques in the quest for discovering alien life
Tropical Dry Forests (bosque seco) explained Monday, March 30, 20150

Tropical Dry Forests (bosque seco) explained

The Royal Botanical Gardens in Scotland developed an animation to explain tropical dry forests in Latin America.
Highest Temperature Ever Recorded...63.5F Sunday, March 29, 20151

Highest Temperature Ever Recorded...63.5F

In the far south, some strange weather events happened last week.
the Powers of Ten Saturday, March 28, 20150

the Powers of Ten

Visualizing some 'big data', the Powers of Ten is still as amazing to view as it was nearly 40 years ago.
Beware the "Super Termites" Friday, March 27, 20150

Beware the "Super Termites"

Like creatures from a bad SciFi movie, a real "terminator" is out there and we likely created it. Beware the "Super Termites"!
Where it never rains...now it floods! Wednesday, March 25, 20150

Where it never rains...now it floods!

In parts of the Atacama Desert  it virtually never rains...and now it is flooding.
Tortoise Tracking Tuesday, March 24, 20150

Tortoise Tracking

Anyone can adopt a tortoise, and join the research on an ancient and endangered critter.
Research helps explain Empathy and Compassion Monday, March 23, 20151

Research helps explain Empathy and Compassion

New research is helping to explain the basis of human empathy and compassion. We could use a good deal more nowadays.
Think Green Saturday, December 2, 20170

Think Green

It's important to Think Green during this white time of year.

Solarizing South Australia Friday, December 1, 20170

Solarizing South Australia

Renewable electricity power generation took a big leap today.

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update Thursday, November 30, 20170

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Your Kids Will Live on Mars Wednesday, November 29, 20170

Your Kids Will Live on Mars

Futurists have always looked to Mars.

Tuesday for Giving Tuesday, November 28, 20170

Tuesday for Giving

3 Suggestions for Giving Tuesday

Rewilding Monday, November 27, 20170

Rewilding

or how a 'silent spring' could turn into a 'wild summer' 
Cancun's Underwater Museum Friday, November 24, 20170

Cancun's Underwater Museum

The sculptor Jason DeCaires Taylor created a unique museum combining art and science in an undersea display.
My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 23, 20170

My Life As A Turkey

If you thought turkeys were just big butterballs in the Thanksgiving oven, think again.
How the Military Fights Climate Change Monday, November 20, 20170

How the Military Fights Climate Change

The military are proactive on climate change.

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action Saturday, November 18, 20170

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action

Moving away from cliamte fatigue into action.

Trees Before Rain Friday, November 17, 20170

Trees Before Rain

Which came first: trees or rain?

A 'Medicane' Forms Wednesday, November 15, 20170

A 'Medicane' Forms

A medicane heads toward Italy and Greece.

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, November 14, 20170

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis

Incentives to solve climate change.

India's 'gas chamber' smog Monday, November 13, 20170

India's 'gas chamber' smog

Toxic smog covers north India.

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger Saturday, November 11, 20170

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger

Ecology, forests, and megafires.

Curing Blindness Friday, November 10, 20170

Curing Blindness

Can blindness anywhere be eliminated?

Conserving, the Mother Load Wednesday, November 8, 20170

Conserving, the Mother Load

Trying to avoid another Dust Bowl.

Restoration by Crowdfunding Tuesday, November 7, 20170

Restoration by Crowdfunding

A rare fish is restored and the ecological recovery is a good lesson.