Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

World's Highest Poop to Become Energy Tuesday, March 31, 20150

World's Highest Poop to Become Energy

​The waste is piling up on Everest. There's a plan to use it for fuel. 
Astrobiology, Of Age, Reevaluates its Assumptions Monday, March 30, 20150

Astrobiology, Of Age, Reevaluates its Assumptions

Astrobiology is getting serious about its techniques in the quest for discovering alien life
Tropical Dry Forests (bosque seco) explained Monday, March 30, 20150

Tropical Dry Forests (bosque seco) explained

The Royal Botanical Gardens in Scotland developed an animation to explain tropical dry forests in Latin America.
Highest Temperature Ever Recorded...63.5F Sunday, March 29, 20151

Highest Temperature Ever Recorded...63.5F

In the far south, some strange weather events happened last week.
the Powers of Ten Saturday, March 28, 20150

the Powers of Ten

Visualizing some 'big data', the Powers of Ten is still as amazing to view as it was nearly 40 years ago.
Beware the "Super Termites" Friday, March 27, 20150

Beware the "Super Termites"

Like creatures from a bad SciFi movie, a real "terminator" is out there and we likely created it. Beware the "Super Termites"!
Where it never rains...now it floods! Wednesday, March 25, 20150

Where it never rains...now it floods!

In parts of the Atacama Desert  it virtually never rains...and now it is flooding.
Tortoise Tracking Tuesday, March 24, 20150

Tortoise Tracking

Anyone can adopt a tortoise, and join the research on an ancient and endangered critter.
Research helps explain Empathy and Compassion Monday, March 23, 20151

Research helps explain Empathy and Compassion

New research is helping to explain the basis of human empathy and compassion. We could use a good deal more nowadays.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.