Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Stormy Seas Sunday, March 31, 20130

Stormy Seas

A storm stretches across the Atlantic Ocean from Canada to Europe. It's a big storm.
Auroras, a Rainbow, and a Comet Saturday, March 30, 20130

Auroras, a Rainbow, and a Comet

If photography is being there in the moment, capturing a rainbow, a comet, and an aurora would quality.
Guns, Drugs & Turtles Saturday, March 30, 20130

Guns, Drugs & Turtles

The trade in wildlife is a huge international business. It is also depopulating entire species in the wild.
Arctic Greening Thursday, March 28, 20130

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening and fast.
Why Won't Elon Musk Build a Death Ray? (And Use it on Guy Fieri?)  Monday, March 25, 20130

Why Won't Elon Musk Build a Death Ray? (And Use it on Guy Fieri?)

The scientific community needs more mad scientists. I think all scientists are heroes, but where is the 21st century's equivalent of Nikola Tesla,...
Is De-Extinction possible? Maybe. Monday, March 25, 20130

Is De-Extinction possible? Maybe.

Biotechnology may provide the tools to restore extinct animals from DNA in stored tissues.
Great Photos Can Make You See the World in a New Light Sunday, March 24, 20130

Great Photos Can Make You See the World in a New Light

Average photographers are spectators. Good photographers are interpreters. In the hands of good photographers, cameras don’t just capture...
Repairing the Wounds Sunday, March 24, 20130

Repairing the Wounds

We live in a 'world of wounds' as Aldo Leopold noted but it is also possible to make repairs using knowledge and dedicated action.
Sources & Sinks Friday, March 22, 20130

Sources & Sinks

The University of Wisconsin has developed an interactive carbon cycling model. It is a powerful tool for understanding the impact of CO2 on the...
Think Green Saturday, December 2, 20170

Think Green

It's important to Think Green during this white time of year.

Solarizing South Australia Friday, December 1, 20170

Solarizing South Australia

Renewable electricity power generation took a big leap today.

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update Thursday, November 30, 20170

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Your Kids Will Live on Mars Wednesday, November 29, 20170

Your Kids Will Live on Mars

Futurists have always looked to Mars.

Tuesday for Giving Tuesday, November 28, 20170

Tuesday for Giving

3 Suggestions for Giving Tuesday

Rewilding Monday, November 27, 20170

Rewilding

or how a 'silent spring' could turn into a 'wild summer' 
Cancun's Underwater Museum Friday, November 24, 20170

Cancun's Underwater Museum

The sculptor Jason DeCaires Taylor created a unique museum combining art and science in an undersea display.
My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 23, 20170

My Life As A Turkey

If you thought turkeys were just big butterballs in the Thanksgiving oven, think again.
How the Military Fights Climate Change Monday, November 20, 20170

How the Military Fights Climate Change

The military are proactive on climate change.

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action Saturday, November 18, 20170

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action

Moving away from cliamte fatigue into action.

Trees Before Rain Friday, November 17, 20170

Trees Before Rain

Which came first: trees or rain?

A 'Medicane' Forms Wednesday, November 15, 20170

A 'Medicane' Forms

A medicane heads toward Italy and Greece.

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, November 14, 20170

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis

Incentives to solve climate change.

India's 'gas chamber' smog Monday, November 13, 20170

India's 'gas chamber' smog

Toxic smog covers north India.

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger Saturday, November 11, 20170

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger

Ecology, forests, and megafires.

Curing Blindness Friday, November 10, 20170

Curing Blindness

Can blindness anywhere be eliminated?

Conserving, the Mother Load Wednesday, November 8, 20170

Conserving, the Mother Load

Trying to avoid another Dust Bowl.

Restoration by Crowdfunding Tuesday, November 7, 20170

Restoration by Crowdfunding

A rare fish is restored and the ecological recovery is a good lesson.