Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Stormy Seas Sunday, March 31, 20130

Stormy Seas

A storm stretches across the Atlantic Ocean from Canada to Europe. It's a big storm.
Auroras, a Rainbow, and a Comet Saturday, March 30, 20130

Auroras, a Rainbow, and a Comet

If photography is being there in the moment, capturing a rainbow, a comet, and an aurora would quality.
Guns, Drugs & Turtles Saturday, March 30, 20130

Guns, Drugs & Turtles

The trade in wildlife is a huge international business. It is also depopulating entire species in the wild.
Arctic Greening Thursday, March 28, 20130

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening and fast.
Why Won't Elon Musk Build a Death Ray? (And Use it on Guy Fieri?)  Monday, March 25, 20130

Why Won't Elon Musk Build a Death Ray? (And Use it on Guy Fieri?)

The scientific community needs more mad scientists. I think all scientists are heroes, but where is the 21st century's equivalent of Nikola Tesla,...
Is De-Extinction possible? Maybe. Monday, March 25, 20130

Is De-Extinction possible? Maybe.

Biotechnology may provide the tools to restore extinct animals from DNA in stored tissues.
Great Photos Can Make You See the World in a New Light Sunday, March 24, 20130

Great Photos Can Make You See the World in a New Light

Average photographers are spectators. Good photographers are interpreters. In the hands of good photographers, cameras don’t just capture...
Repairing the Wounds Sunday, March 24, 20130

Repairing the Wounds

We live in a 'world of wounds' as Aldo Leopold noted but it is also possible to make repairs using knowledge and dedicated action.
Sources & Sinks Friday, March 22, 20130

Sources & Sinks

The University of Wisconsin has developed an interactive carbon cycling model. It is a powerful tool for understanding the impact of CO2 on the...
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.