Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Re-photography at Shamrock Glacier Monday, February 29, 20160

Re-photography at Shamrock Glacier

Re-photography continues providing evidence of environmental change.
The Birth of Geology at Siccar Point Sunday, February 28, 20160

The Birth of Geology at Siccar Point

Powerful ideas still emerge from close observations of the natural world.
Not SciFi but Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl for Real Friday, February 26, 20160

Not SciFi but Bio-bots that Run, Swim, and Crawl for Real

Robots based on biology that can run, swim, and crawl are being built to explore strange environments.
Alain de Botton on a New Approach to Success Wednesday, February 24, 20160

Alain de Botton on a New Approach to Success

Alain de Botton speaks on a new way of thinking about success.
Fastest Sea Level Rise in Nearly 3000 Years Tuesday, February 23, 20160

Fastest Sea Level Rise in Nearly 3000 Years

New research shows sea levels are rising the fastest since the founding of Rome...2800 years ago.
Swimming Pigs...Cute but Still Feral Monday, February 22, 20160

Swimming Pigs...Cute but Still Feral

A colony of feral pigs is established on an island in the Bahamas which shouldn't be "good news".
Charon's Grand Canyon Saturday, February 20, 20160

Charon's Grand Canyon

Pluto's moon Charon has a 'grand canyon' and once had a liquid water ocean.
Andres Ruzo: The Boiling River Friday, February 19, 20160

Andres Ruzo: The Boiling River

Andres Ruzo investigates boiling rivers and alternative energy sources.
JPL Travel Posters Wednesday, February 17, 20160

JPL Travel Posters

The Jet Propulsion Laboratory has created a fanciful series of space travel posters.
Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.

History of Consumerism Saturday, June 30, 20180

History of Consumerism

Alain de Botton: a history of consumerism and a possible future.
The Secret Point of Travel Friday, June 29, 20180

The Secret Point of Travel

What we know is less than we thought.

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered Wednesday, June 27, 20180

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered

The physics of ice cycloids explained.

Conserving, the Mother Load Tuesday, June 26, 20180

Conserving, the Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Kilauea Observed Monday, June 25, 20180

Kilauea Observed

Lava seen from the space station.

Washed Ashore Sunday, June 24, 20180

Washed Ashore

Art used to save the oceans.

Climate Change Stripes Friday, June 22, 20180

Climate Change Stripes

'Climate Pins' coming soon.

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3 Thursday, June 21, 20180

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3

Creative thinking of intelligent designers.

Compassionate Turtles Wednesday, June 20, 20180

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate behavior can be seen in animals.

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea Monday, June 18, 20180

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea

A 'lava river' into the Ocean.

Rubber Plant Sunday, June 17, 20180

Rubber Plant

A desert plant begins to realize its potential.

Water Crisis Friday, June 15, 20180

Water Crisis

Water supply thresholds.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, June 13, 20180

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful and re-imagining work can be the key to unlocking creativity and productivity at the same time.
The Ancients Are Dying Tuesday, June 12, 20180

The Ancients Are Dying

Baobabs are in trouble.