Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

DeChristopher's a Wrecking Ball Friday, February 28, 20140

DeChristopher's a Wrecking Ball

Tim DeChristopher came to prominence as a monkey wrencher, but the tool that best describes him now is probably "sledgehammer." 
So Many New Planets, So Little Time to Explore Friday, February 28, 20140

So Many New Planets, So Little Time to Explore

Kepler announced confirmation of 715 new planets with more to come from the trove of stars already scanned into the database.
The Distorting Effect of Ideology Thursday, February 27, 20140

The Distorting Effect of Ideology

Why would so many Republicans see the evidence on a natural phenomenon so differently from the way that most people see it? Do they also have...
Beyond the Beyond Wednesday, February 26, 20140

Beyond the Beyond

Ancient mariners and Tibetan monks each had their ideas of a place that was 'beyond the beyond', the very definition of faraway. They could have...
The Cosmos is All That Is ... Cool Monday, February 24, 20140

The Cosmos is All That Is ... Cool

In just two weeks, Fox debuts their new version of Cosmos. I need to find some Sheldon-level geeks to watch it with. I need to...
The Tree of Life, in Your Pocket Monday, February 24, 20140

The Tree of Life, in Your Pocket

Because, sometimes, when you're on the bus, you need to know how finches are related to budgies. 
A Bad Attitude Monday, February 24, 20141

A Bad Attitude

By Reilly Capps  If physical violence is always wrong -- and it is -- then why does it sometimes feel so good?
Sochi, the Caucasus Sunday, February 23, 20140

Sochi, the Caucasus

The 2014 Winter Olympics are ending in Sochi, Russia. An impressive 'last look' shows the entire venue even if not the skiers.
Swamped Saturday, February 22, 20140

Swamped

Between December 2013 and January 2014, a series of storms in the UK left 15 inches of rain on southern England. The storms have produced major...
What Gravitational Waves Mean Tuesday, October 3, 20170

What Gravitational Waves Mean

Gravitational waves and a Nobel Prize.

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.