Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris? Thursday, December 31, 20150

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris?

Video shows space debris accumulation from 1957 - 2015
Kepler Planets Animated Thursday, December 31, 20150

Kepler Planets Animated

The Kepler space telescope discovered more alien planets now that its vision has been restored.
NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research Wednesday, December 30, 20150

NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research

A 2016 bill instructs the agency, vaguely, to look into sustaining human life during space exploration.
Earth Images from Himawari-8 Wednesday, December 30, 20150

Earth Images from Himawari-8

Japan's  Meteorological Agency has a new satellite that captures images of Earth in virtually 'real time'.
Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video) Monday, December 28, 20150

Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video)

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing Sunday, December 27, 20150

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing

NOAA has created a photo animation to show a dramatic time-line of Arctic ice decline.
Toolmaking crows captured on video Saturday, December 26, 20150

Toolmaking crows captured on video

New Caledonian crows have been documented making and using hook-like tools for hunting
Pluto in Infrared Friday, December 25, 20150

Pluto in Infrared

Pluto's composition mapped in infrared light by the New Horizons probe continues being received.
Earthrise, redux Wednesday, December 23, 20150

Earthrise, redux

NASA has released a new version of Earthrise and it is breathtaking.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.