Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Top 10 New Species for 2014 Wednesday, December 31, 20140

Top 10 New Species for 2014

There were a few "good news" bits in 2014...biologically speaking.
Reflections on 2014 Tuesday, December 30, 20140

Reflections on 2014

Robert Reich reflects on "grass roots" accomplishments during the past year.
When is fear mongering justified? Monday, December 29, 20140

When is fear mongering justified?

Can someone use facts to monger fear? Is it right?

Earth & Space Saturday, December 27, 20140

Earth & Space

A photo-animation of Earth and space by the ESA.
Where Does Creativity Come From? Friday, December 26, 20140

Where Does Creativity Come From?

Creativity and genus can be a bit of magic for anyone.
Santa's Crisis of Confidence Tuesday, December 23, 20140

Santa's Crisis of Confidence

The Big Guy is asking big questions.
X-Ray'd Monday, December 22, 20140

X-Ray'd

JPL may have decided to join the art market with a stunning new view of the Sun.
Gravity's Potato Sunday, December 21, 20140

Gravity's Potato

The Earth's gravitational field is unevenly distributed and looks like a lumpy potato.
Comet 67P in 3D Wednesday, December 17, 20140

Comet 67P in 3D

Get out those 3D glasses to see what a comet really looks like.
Extreme Shrimps and Ocean Worlds Monday, May 13, 20190

Extreme Shrimps and Ocean Worlds

Extreme shrimps? How would we know?

Fog Catchers Saturday, May 11, 20190

Fog Catchers

Fogged-in takes on new meaning.

Prince Ea: Dear Future Generations Friday, May 10, 20190

Prince Ea: Dear Future Generations

Rapping about trees and future generations.

Grevillea, Plant of the Month Thursday, May 9, 20190

Grevillea, Plant of the Month

Grevilleas stretch back to the era of Gondwanaland.

Appreciating Wild Species Wednesday, May 8, 20190

Appreciating Wild Species

Remember to appreciate wildlife.
6th Extinction Tuesday, May 7, 20190

6th Extinction

Losses rapid in biodiversity.

Laser Forestry Monday, May 6, 20190

Laser Forestry

GEDI to the rescue.

Cyclone Fani Friday, May 3, 20190

Cyclone Fani

Satellite mapping a super-Cyclone.

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code Wednesday, May 1, 20190

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code

Living on a coast, sea level rise should be of interest.

Art from Space Monday, April 29, 20190

Art from Space

Photography is an essential tool of exploration.

Intelligent Designers Saturday, April 27, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

George Saunders on Kindness Friday, April 26, 20190

George Saunders on Kindness

Kindness is a trait everyone should try to practice.

Selfies Can Be Amazing Thursday, April 25, 20190

Selfies Can Be Amazing

Selfies can be amazing.

10 Ideas for any Earth Day Wednesday, April 24, 20190

10 Ideas for any Earth Day

Every day should be Earth Day!

Earth Day, Every Day Monday, April 22, 20190

Earth Day, Every Day

Earth Day 2019

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency! Sunday, April 21, 20190

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency!

Energy efficiency is the 'name of the game'.

Botany, an Extreme Sport Wednesday, April 17, 20190

Botany, an Extreme Sport

Climbing gear serving plant conservation.

Chasing Water With Gabions Tuesday, April 16, 20190

Chasing Water With Gabions

An appropriate river restoration technology.