Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Book Report: "Resurrection Science" Monday, November 30, 20150

Book Report: "Resurrection Science"

Message in a Bottle Monday, November 30, 20150

Message in a Bottle

CO2 measurements from Hawaii's Mauna Loa volcano have been an environmental message in a bottle.
Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper Sunday, November 29, 20150

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Robotic engineers at JPL are turning to bio-mimicry and using a gecko as their design guide.
Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment Saturday, November 28, 20150

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment

Matthieu Ricard, the intellectual and Buddhist monk, gives his perspective on altruism, compassion, and the environment.
A Drone for Mars Friday, November 27, 20150

A Drone for Mars

JPL is developing designs for a drone to photograph and video the surface of Mars.
Geomagnetic Field Probably Won't Flip Anytime Soon Thursday, November 26, 20150

Geomagnetic Field Probably Won't Flip Anytime Soon

A new study shows that the Earth's magnetic field won't be flipping soon.
Carl Safina: What are animals thinking? Thursday, November 26, 20150

Carl Safina: What are animals thinking?

Conservationist Carl Safina presented a new perspective on animal intelligence for a Google audience.
General Relativity's Centenary Today! Wednesday, November 25, 20150

General Relativity's Centenary Today!

The theory that introduced space-time turns 100 years old.
George the Poet on Climate Change Tuesday, November 24, 20150

George the Poet on Climate Change

Wordsmith George the Poet gives his attention to climate change matters.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.