Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Comet Ison Fizzles? Saturday, November 30, 20130

Comet Ison Fizzles?

Comet Ison passed near the Sun on Thanksgiving Day and photo animations captured the event.
A Different View Thursday, November 28, 20130

A Different View

The space station had a different perspective of the Thanksgiving parades.
Midsummer Fires Tuesday, November 26, 20130

Midsummer Fires

Yosemite National Park experienced the massive Rim Fire in mid-August. Snow now covers the burn scars but run-off will carry exposed sediment in...

Monday, November 25, 2013

I Have Fallen in Love With a Car (Sharing Service)

[These sleek little Car2Go cars have just been introduced in my city, Denver. Photo from Daimler.] America's love affair with big fat...
Transition Lab Friday, November 22, 20130

Transition Lab

An existential angst often happens to college students saddled with large debts to gain degrees requiring them to then spend their lives paying it...
What a Difference a Year Makes Thursday, November 21, 20130

What a Difference a Year Makes

Deforestation occurs in many ways: clearing for agriculture, illegal logging, political corruption, and fires. With remote sensing, researchers...

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

How to Convince Your Grandkids You're Not a Smelly A-Hole

  [If you own a car like this, smear mud on it. That will make it more plausible.]

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

On the Level of Animals

By Reilly Capps The animals keep getting more human. Or maybe it's the other way around.
What Next? answered and it's strange Tuesday, November 19, 20130

What Next? answered and it's strange

Queensland's Sunshine Coast known for its fine beaches but now has now been pummeled by orange-sized hail.
Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.

History of Consumerism Saturday, June 30, 20180

History of Consumerism

Alain de Botton: a history of consumerism and a possible future.
The Secret Point of Travel Friday, June 29, 20180

The Secret Point of Travel

What we know is less than we thought.

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered Wednesday, June 27, 20180

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered

The physics of ice cycloids explained.

Conserving, the Mother Load Tuesday, June 26, 20180

Conserving, the Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Kilauea Observed Monday, June 25, 20180

Kilauea Observed

Lava seen from the space station.

Washed Ashore Sunday, June 24, 20180

Washed Ashore

Art used to save the oceans.

Climate Change Stripes Friday, June 22, 20180

Climate Change Stripes

'Climate Pins' coming soon.

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3 Thursday, June 21, 20180

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3

Creative thinking of intelligent designers.

Compassionate Turtles Wednesday, June 20, 20180

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate behavior can be seen in animals.

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea Monday, June 18, 20180

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea

A 'lava river' into the Ocean.

Rubber Plant Sunday, June 17, 20180

Rubber Plant

A desert plant begins to realize its potential.

Water Crisis Friday, June 15, 20180

Water Crisis

Water supply thresholds.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, June 13, 20180

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful and re-imagining work can be the key to unlocking creativity and productivity at the same time.
The Ancients Are Dying Tuesday, June 12, 20180

The Ancients Are Dying

Baobabs are in trouble.