Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Comet Ison Fizzles? Saturday, November 30, 20130

Comet Ison Fizzles?

Comet Ison passed near the Sun on Thanksgiving Day and photo animations captured the event.
A Different View Thursday, November 28, 20130

A Different View

The space station had a different perspective of the Thanksgiving parades.
Midsummer Fires Tuesday, November 26, 20130

Midsummer Fires

Yosemite National Park experienced the massive Rim Fire in mid-August. Snow now covers the burn scars but run-off will carry exposed sediment in...

Monday, November 25, 2013

I Have Fallen in Love With a Car (Sharing Service)

[These sleek little Car2Go cars have just been introduced in my city, Denver. Photo from Daimler.] America's love affair with big fat...
Transition Lab Friday, November 22, 20130

Transition Lab

An existential angst often happens to college students saddled with large debts to gain degrees requiring them to then spend their lives paying it...
What a Difference a Year Makes Thursday, November 21, 20130

What a Difference a Year Makes

Deforestation occurs in many ways: clearing for agriculture, illegal logging, political corruption, and fires. With remote sensing, researchers...

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

How to Convince Your Grandkids You're Not a Smelly A-Hole

  [If you own a car like this, smear mud on it. That will make it more plausible.]

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

On the Level of Animals

By Reilly Capps The animals keep getting more human. Or maybe it's the other way around.
What Next? answered and it's strange Tuesday, November 19, 20130

What Next? answered and it's strange

Queensland's Sunshine Coast known for its fine beaches but now has now been pummeled by orange-sized hail.
Bobbing Boulders Monday, July 8, 20190

Bobbing Boulders

Building landforms is a continuous process.

Plant Trees Sunday, July 7, 20190

Plant Trees

Planting tress as a climate change solution.

Fighting 'Superbugs' with Physics Friday, July 5, 20190

Fighting 'Superbugs' with Physics

Radiological research could have a solution.

On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.