Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Comet Ison Fizzles? Saturday, November 30, 20130

Comet Ison Fizzles?

Comet Ison passed near the Sun on Thanksgiving Day and photo animations captured the event.
Where the Buffaloes Roamed Friday, November 29, 20131

Where the Buffaloes Roamed

When Lewis & Clark undertook their Corps of Discovery in 1804, millions of buffaloes roaming the Great Plains. By 1889, less than 700 animals...
A Different View Thursday, November 28, 20130

A Different View

The space station had a different perspective of the Thanksgiving parades.
Midsummer Fires Tuesday, November 26, 20130

Midsummer Fires

Yosemite National Park experienced the massive Rim Fire in mid-August. Snow now covers the burn scars but run-off will carry exposed sediment in...

Monday, November 25, 2013

I Have Fallen in Love With a Car (Sharing Service)

[These sleek little Car2Go cars have just been introduced in my city, Denver. Photo from Daimler.] America's love affair with big fat...
in vino veritas Saturday, November 23, 20130

in vino veritas

There are few better examples of blending art and science than the production of wine as an ancient cellar reminds us.
Transition Lab Friday, November 22, 20130

Transition Lab

An existential angst often happens to college students saddled with large debts to gain degrees requiring them to then spend their lives paying it...
What a Difference a Year Makes Thursday, November 21, 20130

What a Difference a Year Makes

Deforestation occurs in many ways: clearing for agriculture, illegal logging, political corruption, and fires. With remote sensing, researchers...

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

How to Convince Your Grandkids You're Not a Smelly A-Hole

  [If you own a car like this, smear mud on it. That will make it more plausible.]
Think Green Saturday, December 2, 20170

Think Green

It's important to Think Green during this white time of year.

Solarizing South Australia Friday, December 1, 20170

Solarizing South Australia

Renewable electricity power generation took a big leap today.

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update Thursday, November 30, 20170

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Your Kids Will Live on Mars Wednesday, November 29, 20170

Your Kids Will Live on Mars

Futurists have always looked to Mars.

Tuesday for Giving Tuesday, November 28, 20170

Tuesday for Giving

3 Suggestions for Giving Tuesday

Rewilding Monday, November 27, 20170

Rewilding

or how a 'silent spring' could turn into a 'wild summer' 
Cancun's Underwater Museum Friday, November 24, 20170

Cancun's Underwater Museum

The sculptor Jason DeCaires Taylor created a unique museum combining art and science in an undersea display.
My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 23, 20170

My Life As A Turkey

If you thought turkeys were just big butterballs in the Thanksgiving oven, think again.
How the Military Fights Climate Change Monday, November 20, 20170

How the Military Fights Climate Change

The military are proactive on climate change.

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action Saturday, November 18, 20170

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action

Moving away from cliamte fatigue into action.

Trees Before Rain Friday, November 17, 20170

Trees Before Rain

Which came first: trees or rain?

A 'Medicane' Forms Wednesday, November 15, 20170

A 'Medicane' Forms

A medicane heads toward Italy and Greece.

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, November 14, 20170

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis

Incentives to solve climate change.

India's 'gas chamber' smog Monday, November 13, 20170

India's 'gas chamber' smog

Toxic smog covers north India.

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger Saturday, November 11, 20170

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger

Ecology, forests, and megafires.

Curing Blindness Friday, November 10, 20170

Curing Blindness

Can blindness anywhere be eliminated?

Conserving, the Mother Load Wednesday, November 8, 20170

Conserving, the Mother Load

Trying to avoid another Dust Bowl.

Restoration by Crowdfunding Tuesday, November 7, 20170

Restoration by Crowdfunding

A rare fish is restored and the ecological recovery is a good lesson.