Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Observing Neutron Stars Collide Monday, October 16, 20170

Observing Neutron Stars Collide

For the first time, neutron stars were detected colliding.

Sand Kitty Saturday, October 14, 20170

Sand Kitty

Desert sand kittens on video.

Smoke from Space Friday, October 13, 20170

Smoke from Space

Viewing smoke and fires from space.

Volcanoes 101 Thursday, October 12, 20170

Volcanoes 101

A super-volcano lies under Yellowstone.

Wine Country Burning Tuesday, October 10, 20170

Wine Country Burning

California's wine country is on fire.

Growing Food Intelligence Monday, October 9, 20170

Growing Food Intelligence

Re-imaging a new food production future.

Australia Fries in Record Heatwave Friday, October 6, 20170

Australia Fries in Record Heatwave

Australian summer temperatures reached extreme levels.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Wednesday, October 4, 20170

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

What Gravitational Waves Mean Tuesday, October 3, 20170

What Gravitational Waves Mean

Gravitational waves and a Nobel Prize.

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.