Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Sadness for Reefs Monday, October 31, 20160

Sadness for Reefs

The  grades on the reef report card aren't good.

Short but Spectacular Sunday, October 30, 20160

Short but Spectacular

Aspen trees postcard.

The Last Ocean, part 2 Saturday, October 29, 20160

The Last Ocean, part 2

The Last Ocean is finally protected as a marine reserve.

Status of Plants & Animals, 2016 Friday, October 28, 20160

Status of Plants & Animals, 2016

New reports on the status of Life on Earth were released.

Antarctica glaciers Thursday, October 27, 20160

Antarctica glaciers

West Antarctica ice sheets are retreating fast, in glacial terms.
Deadbeat Dams Removed Tuesday, October 25, 20160

Deadbeat Dams Removed

A film on the removal of 'deadbeat dams' and restoring rivers.
Maps Are Beautiful Monday, October 24, 20160

Maps Are Beautiful

The rivers of the US were visualized in color using GIS software.
Snow Leopard Status Sunday, October 23, 20160

Snow Leopard Status

Snow leopards are receiving new attention by TRAFFIC.

Tibetan Glacier Collapse, 2.0 Friday, October 21, 20160

Tibetan Glacier Collapse, 2.0

A second Tibetan glacier collapses.

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.