Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Reading Trees Thursday, October 31, 20130

Reading Trees

Plants speak to us if we're willing to pay attention and trees are excellent books to read.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

One Year Since Sandy, and 'The Jersey Shore' is Still Dumb

Some thoughts on the Jersey Shore, "The Jersey Shore" and climate change.  
Kraken Mare Saturday, October 26, 20130

Kraken Mare

In ancient Greek legends, the Kraken was a sea monster that came from the deep to devour unsuspecting fishermen and sailors. JPL has located the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Electric, Cute.

Eight U.S. states are working toward getting more electric cars on the road, making it easier and cheaper to charge them. They hope to up the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Black Holes Might Have a Wall of Fire Around Them

At the event horizon of a black hole, there might be a "wall of fire" that destroys everything.  
Saturn Mosaic Thursday, October 24, 20130

Saturn Mosaic

Cassini continues to surprise us with a mosaic of multiple images acquired from Saturn.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

The View from Above

This is nice. 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Telepathy Just a Few Years Away

You can watch your own dreams, and scientists can read your mind. 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Why Are We Here?

We don't have any idea why there is something rather than nothing. 
Curiosity's Photo Album Tuesday, November 5, 20190

Curiosity's Photo Album

Haunting landscapes on Mars.

A Real Pinocchio Found...no lie! Monday, November 4, 20190

A Real Pinocchio Found...no lie!

Pinocchio lizard is no lie.

One Big Lava Lamp Sunday, November 3, 20190

One Big Lava Lamp

Ben Franklin would have loved Lava Lamps.

Juno update Friday, November 1, 20190

Juno update

Juno continues its Jupiter tour.

Halloween in Space Thursday, October 31, 20190

Halloween in Space

Re-imagining All Hallows' Day.

Viking Chardonnay Wednesday, October 30, 20190

Viking Chardonnay

A new wine region emerges.

Weather Anomalies Tuesday, October 29, 20190

Weather Anomalies

Climate change comes in multiple forms.

Rare Cat Sighting Saturday, October 26, 20190

Rare Cat Sighting

A rare feline photographed.

River Running Thursday, October 24, 20190

River Running

Removing dams restores rivers.

World Wombat Day Tuesday, October 22, 20190

World Wombat Day

A day for an iconic animal.

Revealing Pluto Monday, October 21, 20190

Revealing Pluto

Discoveries by New Horizons.

I Will Be A Hummingbird Saturday, October 19, 20190

I Will Be A Hummingbird

Wangari Maathi on the environment.

Plant Breeders Friday, October 18, 20190

Plant Breeders

We depend on plant breeders.

Robots for Mars Wednesday, October 16, 20190

Robots for Mars

Small robots for big jobs.

Return of the Bison Tuesday, October 15, 20190

Return of the Bison

Restorning a keystone species.

New Lodging Sunday, October 13, 20190

New Lodging

Finding new housing.

Colors of the Wind Friday, October 11, 20190

Colors of the Wind

Monet and van Gogh would be pleased.

Searching for Exoplanets Thursday, October 10, 20190

Searching for Exoplanets

The hunt is on.