Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Where’s the Global Warming Talk?

Even in the aftermath of a huge hurricane, major outlets aren’t talking about global warming By Reilly Capps The coverage of Sandy has been...

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Hurricane Sandy Storm Report

By Lucas Gardner Greetings from Buffalo. I'm right in the middle of the drizzly path of Hurricane Sandy. It has been nicknamed “Frankenstorm” by...

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Super Storm

All climate change models predict an increase and frequency of extreme weather events due to a warming atmosphere that can hold more moisture....

Monday, October 29, 2012

Triple Threat

Hurricane Sandy is a triple threat of a storm. Combining high winds, heavy rains, and surging tides, the monster storm has begun to slam into the...

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Ghost Orchid

Orchids come in all shapes, sizes, and forms. Here is a very tiny species---less than 3” tall---native to woodlands and stream-bank forests of...

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Poor Monkey

Florida’s Mystery Monkey has finally been captured. Over the past three years, he had been widely seen crossing suburban streets visiting...

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Dear Army Corp of Engineers: This is How Every Bridge Should Look

I never want to cross another bridge that isn’t a trampoline bridge. It looks too good to be true. It is. This is just a concept, entered...

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

James Balog’s Brilliant TED Talk

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

James Balog’s Brilliant TED Talk

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.