Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

David Gruber: on Glow-in-the-Dark Sharks Sunday, January 31, 20160

David Gruber: on Glow-in-the-Dark Sharks

Communicating in the ocean depths is tricky when no light exists.
Color Coded Signaling in Octopus Saturday, January 30, 20160

Color Coded Signaling in Octopus

Octopuses use a color-coded system to signal to other octopus.
NASA Animates 100 years of Climate Change Thursday, January 28, 20160

NASA Animates 100 years of Climate Change

NASA has animated temperature data to show climate change from 1880-2014.
Fallen Tree Wednesday, January 27, 20160

Fallen Tree

Environmental field work has its joys, challenges, and dangers as tree biologist Nalini Nadkarni can attest.
Ecosystem Restoration One Grove and Marsh at a Time Tuesday, January 26, 20160

Ecosystem Restoration One Grove and Marsh at a Time

A San Francisco non-profit is restoring degraded ecosystems one bit at a time.
Acongagua Rock Avalanche Sunday, January 24, 20160

Acongagua Rock Avalanche

A huge debris flow was recorded by trekkers on cerro Acongagua in Argentina.
East Coast Blizzard from Space Saturday, January 23, 20160

East Coast Blizzard from Space

A view of the East Coast blizzard as seen from the Space Station.
Iceberg Calving and Glacial Dynamics Thursday, January 21, 20160

Iceberg Calving and Glacial Dynamics

Fluid dynamics and climate change affects how glaciers decline with iceberg calving events.
A Real Planet "X" Is Predicted Wednesday, January 20, 20160

A Real Planet "X" Is Predicted

Caltech researchers predict a real Planet "X" exists in the outer solar system.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.