Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” Friday, January 31, 20140

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.”

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” said Mark Twain about Hawaii.
Panoramic Views Thursday, January 30, 20140

Panoramic Views

The rover Curiosity has produced another remarkable panorama from its vantage point in Gale Crater on Mars. The level of detail looks like Arizona...
An Odd Future. Hope we See It. Wednesday, January 29, 20140

An Odd Future. Hope we See It.

What does the sky look like? No – let me start over. Are you there?

'Before & After' Rocks Tuesday, January 28, 20140

'Before & After' Rocks

Mars is full of surprises. A photograph taken twelve days apart shows a new rock had appeared where it hadn't been before.
Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster Sunday, January 26, 20140

Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster

Economics is often called the 'dismal science'. A hamster shows the consequences.
Convergences Saturday, January 25, 20140

Convergences

Mountain tops and remote islands are perfect environments to see convergent evolution expressed. The results are often strikingly odd and...
When Galaxies Collide Friday, January 24, 20140

When Galaxies Collide

In a couple of billion years or so, the Milky Way and the Andromeda galaxies will collide.
Attacking the Drones Thursday, January 23, 20140

Attacking the Drones

The FAA is putting up a stink about drones, saying these drones are not allowed. Why? Is the stuff they come back with too pretty? Too...
Migrating Mangroves Tuesday, January 21, 20140

Migrating Mangroves

Mangroves are on the move. They are telling a climate change story as they march north and south.
Think Green Saturday, December 2, 20170

Think Green

It's important to Think Green during this white time of year.

Solarizing South Australia Friday, December 1, 20170

Solarizing South Australia

Renewable electricity power generation took a big leap today.

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update Thursday, November 30, 20170

Volcano May Explode, a timeline update

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Your Kids Will Live on Mars Wednesday, November 29, 20170

Your Kids Will Live on Mars

Futurists have always looked to Mars.

Tuesday for Giving Tuesday, November 28, 20170

Tuesday for Giving

3 Suggestions for Giving Tuesday

Rewilding Monday, November 27, 20170

Rewilding

or how a 'silent spring' could turn into a 'wild summer' 
Cancun's Underwater Museum Friday, November 24, 20170

Cancun's Underwater Museum

The sculptor Jason DeCaires Taylor created a unique museum combining art and science in an undersea display.
My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 23, 20170

My Life As A Turkey

If you thought turkeys were just big butterballs in the Thanksgiving oven, think again.
How the Military Fights Climate Change Monday, November 20, 20170

How the Military Fights Climate Change

The military are proactive on climate change.

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action Saturday, November 18, 20170

Stories to Change 'Apocalypse Fatigue' into Action

Moving away from cliamte fatigue into action.

Trees Before Rain Friday, November 17, 20170

Trees Before Rain

Which came first: trees or rain?

A 'Medicane' Forms Wednesday, November 15, 20170

A 'Medicane' Forms

A medicane heads toward Italy and Greece.

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, November 14, 20170

Elon Musk on Solving the Climate Crisis

Incentives to solve climate change.

India's 'gas chamber' smog Monday, November 13, 20170

India's 'gas chamber' smog

Toxic smog covers north India.

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger Saturday, November 11, 20170

Why Wildfires Are Now Bigger

Ecology, forests, and megafires.

Curing Blindness Friday, November 10, 20170

Curing Blindness

Can blindness anywhere be eliminated?

Conserving, the Mother Load Wednesday, November 8, 20170

Conserving, the Mother Load

Trying to avoid another Dust Bowl.

Restoration by Crowdfunding Tuesday, November 7, 20170

Restoration by Crowdfunding

A rare fish is restored and the ecological recovery is a good lesson.