Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” Friday, January 31, 20140

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.”

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” said Mark Twain about Hawaii.
Panoramic Views Thursday, January 30, 20140

Panoramic Views

The rover Curiosity has produced another remarkable panorama from its vantage point in Gale Crater on Mars. The level of detail looks like Arizona...
An Odd Future. Hope we See It. Wednesday, January 29, 20140

An Odd Future. Hope we See It.

What does the sky look like? No – let me start over. Are you there?

'Before & After' Rocks Tuesday, January 28, 20140

'Before & After' Rocks

Mars is full of surprises. A photograph taken twelve days apart shows a new rock had appeared where it hadn't been before.
Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster Sunday, January 26, 20140

Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster

Economics is often called the 'dismal science'. A hamster shows the consequences.
Convergences Saturday, January 25, 20140

Convergences

Mountain tops and remote islands are perfect environments to see convergent evolution expressed. The results are often strikingly odd and...
When Galaxies Collide Friday, January 24, 20140

When Galaxies Collide

In a couple of billion years or so, the Milky Way and the Andromeda galaxies will collide.
Attacking the Drones Thursday, January 23, 20140

Attacking the Drones

The FAA is putting up a stink about drones, saying these drones are not allowed. Why? Is the stuff they come back with too pretty? Too...
Migrating Mangroves Tuesday, January 21, 20140

Migrating Mangroves

Mangroves are on the move. They are telling a climate change story as they march north and south.
Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.

Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.