Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Photo Treasure Trove Tuesday, December 31, 20130

Photo Treasure Trove

Ernest Shackleton's doomed Antarctic expedition is an epic of heroism, leadership, and survival. A treasure trove of lost photographs from the...
End of the Year Monday, December 30, 20130

End of the Year

Google is getting to be as good as anyone at tugging on our heartstrings. Here's their tip of the hat to 2013.
The Most Astounding Fact Monday, December 30, 20130

The Most Astounding Fact

You can't get enough of this very basic but completely mind-blowing fact. 
Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers Monday, December 30, 20130

Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers

You can take a good backyard telescope and look at this nebula -- it will look like a downward-facing flower. Here's more, from NatGeo. 
They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big Monday, December 30, 20130

They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big

.... it's hundreds of times brighter than a typical supernova, a nuclear bomb compared to a grenade. The energies involved are...
Dolphins and Fishermen Work Together Sunday, December 29, 20130

Dolphins and Fishermen Work Together

Dolphin intelligence -- they might be one of the smartest animals, next to certain humans. They fish!
End of Year Meteor Sunday, December 29, 20130

End of Year Meteor

Aurora Sequence Saturday, December 28, 20130

Aurora Sequence

Auroras have been particularly intense lately due to the increased numbers of solar flares. A series from Alaska is very impressive.
Make Solar Cheap Friday, December 27, 20130

Make Solar Cheap

Green energy is a public good, in the same way that education, roads and parks are, and so we will have to set up systems to make greener energy...
Where Do Good Ideas Come From? Monday, January 13, 20200

Where Do Good Ideas Come From?

A storyteller suggests an answer.

Look & See Sunday, January 12, 20200

Look & See

A Portrait of Wendell Berry.

Valuing Nature Friday, January 10, 20200

Valuing Nature

How to measure nature's value.

Navel of the World Thursday, January 9, 20200

Navel of the World

Tibet's sacred mountain.

Supporting Australian 1st Responders & Wildlife Monday, January 6, 20200

Supporting Australian 1st Responders & Wildlife

Supporting emergency responders in Australia.

Smoke Sunday, January 5, 20200

Smoke

Smoke from bushfires is tracked from space.

Hey teachers...make it fun! Thursday, January 2, 20200

Hey teachers...make it fun!

Teachers should make it fun.

Phenology, Flowers, & Climate Change Monday, December 30, 20190

Phenology, Flowers, & Climate Change

Watching seasonal biological changes.

Compassion...a new meaning Sunday, December 29, 20190

Compassion...a new meaning

Mindfulness for this world.

My Country Will Be Underwater Soon Friday, December 27, 20190

My Country Will Be Underwater Soon

Kiribati and the impacts climate change.

Noam Chomsky interview Thursday, December 26, 20190

Noam Chomsky interview

On responsibility and humility.

Opportunity's Last Photo Tuesday, December 24, 20190

Opportunity's Last Photo

A Martian panorama.

Surreal Landscapes Monday, December 23, 20190

Surreal Landscapes

A surreal river from space.

Toolmaking Crows Friday, December 20, 20190

Toolmaking Crows

New Caledonian crows use hunting tools.

A Botanical Gem, Cephalotus Tuesday, December 17, 20190

A Botanical Gem, Cephalotus

The Albany pitcher plant.

Mapping Fires Monday, December 16, 20190

Mapping Fires

Satellite data used to visualize wildfires.

Conservation Photography Saturday, December 14, 20190

Conservation Photography

Photography in service for conservation.

International Mountain Day Wednesday, December 11, 20190

International Mountain Day