Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Photo Treasure Trove Tuesday, December 31, 20130

Photo Treasure Trove

Ernest Shackleton's doomed Antarctic expedition is an epic of heroism, leadership, and survival. A treasure trove of lost photographs from the...
End of the Year Monday, December 30, 20130

End of the Year

Google is getting to be as good as anyone at tugging on our heartstrings. Here's their tip of the hat to 2013.
The Most Astounding Fact Monday, December 30, 20130

The Most Astounding Fact

You can't get enough of this very basic but completely mind-blowing fact. 
Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers Monday, December 30, 20130

Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers

You can take a good backyard telescope and look at this nebula -- it will look like a downward-facing flower. Here's more, from NatGeo. 
They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big Monday, December 30, 20130

They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big

.... it's hundreds of times brighter than a typical supernova, a nuclear bomb compared to a grenade. The energies involved are...
Dolphins and Fishermen Work Together Sunday, December 29, 20130

Dolphins and Fishermen Work Together

Dolphin intelligence -- they might be one of the smartest animals, next to certain humans. They fish!
End of Year Meteor Sunday, December 29, 20130

End of Year Meteor

Aurora Sequence Saturday, December 28, 20130

Aurora Sequence

Auroras have been particularly intense lately due to the increased numbers of solar flares. A series from Alaska is very impressive.
Make Solar Cheap Friday, December 27, 20130

Make Solar Cheap

Green energy is a public good, in the same way that education, roads and parks are, and so we will have to set up systems to make greener energy...
As Irma Approaches Wednesday, September 6, 20170

As Irma Approaches

Hurricane Irma is arriving 1-week after Harvey!

Endangered Species...Individual Actions Sunday, September 3, 20170

Endangered Species...Individual Actions

Individuals involved directly in species conservation.

Juno as Monet Friday, September 1, 20170

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge Thursday, August 31, 20170

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge

Remembering good times before the bad.

Parking Lot Wednesday, August 30, 20170

Parking Lot

"They paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event Tuesday, August 29, 20170

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event

Harvey is breaking all rainfall records and it's still raining.
What Climate Models Show & Predict Sunday, August 27, 20170

What Climate Models Show & Predict

Weather events are amplified by climate change.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 26, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Here Comes Harvey Thursday, August 24, 20170

Here Comes Harvey

Hurricane Harvey carrying a 'waterworld' of rain.

Environmental Space Monitoring Wednesday, August 23, 20170

Environmental Space Monitoring

Volcanic eruption seen from space.

Tetons in Totality Monday, August 21, 20170

Tetons in Totality

A national and local eclipse festival.

Night Vision Thursday, August 17, 20170

Night Vision

Tracking ice cracks in thermal infrared.

Elemental Haikus Wednesday, August 16, 20170

Elemental Haikus

A table of elemental poems with purpose.

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him? Tuesday, August 15, 20170

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him?

Phillipe Cousteau invisions a new environmental movement.

Fractal Jupiter Monday, August 14, 20170

Fractal Jupiter

Imagine Jupiter as a Grateful Dead poster.

Volcanoes Underwater Saturday, August 12, 20170

Volcanoes Underwater

Undersea island formation explained by volcanoes.

Greeenland Is Burning Friday, August 11, 20170

Greeenland Is Burning

When Big is Better Thursday, August 10, 20170

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.