Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Photo Treasure Trove Tuesday, December 31, 20130

Photo Treasure Trove

Ernest Shackleton's doomed Antarctic expedition is an epic of heroism, leadership, and survival. A treasure trove of lost photographs from the...
End of the Year Monday, December 30, 20130

End of the Year

Google is getting to be as good as anyone at tugging on our heartstrings. Here's their tip of the hat to 2013.
The Most Astounding Fact Monday, December 30, 20130

The Most Astounding Fact

You can't get enough of this very basic but completely mind-blowing fact. 
Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers Monday, December 30, 20130

Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers

You can take a good backyard telescope and look at this nebula -- it will look like a downward-facing flower. Here's more, from NatGeo. 
They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big Monday, December 30, 20130

They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big

.... it's hundreds of times brighter than a typical supernova, a nuclear bomb compared to a grenade. The energies involved are...
Dolphins and Fishermen Work Together Sunday, December 29, 20130

Dolphins and Fishermen Work Together

Dolphin intelligence -- they might be one of the smartest animals, next to certain humans. They fish!
End of Year Meteor Sunday, December 29, 20130

End of Year Meteor

Aurora Sequence Saturday, December 28, 20130

Aurora Sequence

Auroras have been particularly intense lately due to the increased numbers of solar flares. A series from Alaska is very impressive.
Make Solar Cheap Friday, December 27, 20130

Make Solar Cheap

Green energy is a public good, in the same way that education, roads and parks are, and so we will have to set up systems to make greener energy...
The Turtles Return Monday, December 2, 20190

The Turtles Return

A mass turtle migration.

A Mongolian Lake Saturday, November 30, 20190

A Mongolian Lake

A Central Asian lake from space.

A Knowledge of Plants Friday, November 29, 20190

A Knowledge of Plants

A modern plant explorer.

My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 28, 20190

My Life As A Turkey

A true turkey story.

Failing Grades Tuesday, November 26, 20190

Failing Grades

A climate change report card.

Where Does Creativity Come From? Sunday, November 24, 20190

Where Does Creativity Come From?

Creativity has a bit of magic.

Winning Isn't Everything Friday, November 22, 20190

Winning Isn't Everything

Ping-pong as life-lesson.

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Thursday, November 21, 20190

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Slither-bots created for Mars.

Europa's Water Monday, November 18, 20190

Europa's Water

Water vapor on a Jovian moon.

Koala Needing Rescue Saturday, November 16, 20190

Koala Needing Rescue

An injured animal hospital.

World Views Friday, November 15, 20190

World Views

The Earth in new perspectives.

If The Moon Was Another Planet? Thursday, November 14, 20190

If The Moon Was Another Planet?

If the moon were Saturn?

Mars Oxygen? Wednesday, November 13, 20190

Mars Oxygen?

Another Martian puzzle.

'Mandela's Gold' Tuesday, November 12, 20190

'Mandela's Gold'

A plant named for the human rights leader.

Master Huddlers Sunday, November 10, 20190

Master Huddlers

Penguins never cease to amaze.

Dam Down Friday, November 8, 20190

Dam Down

A 'deadbeat dam' comes down.

Re-photography Rules Thursday, November 7, 20190

Re-photography Rules

A poweful tool for visualizing change.

Low-cost Reforestation Wednesday, November 6, 20190

Low-cost Reforestation

Successful reforesation that 'works with nature'.