Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers Sunday, November 5, 20170

OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers

Scanning Greenland's ice dynamics.

Compassion and other creatures Sunday, November 5, 20170

Compassion and other creatures

Compassion is considered a trait uniquely human but we should make it more inclusive.

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency! Saturday, November 4, 20170

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency!

Efficiency is the name of the game for energy, architecture, and solar design with three new developments showing the way.
A Brewing Storm Friday, November 3, 20170

A Brewing Storm

Climate change is already affecting growers of coffee.

Conservatives and Conservation Thursday, November 2, 20170

Conservatives and Conservation

  Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left good environmental...
Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time Wednesday, November 1, 20170

Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time

One way to restore coral reefs could require re-seeding with transplanted corals.
Whales & Drones Tuesday, October 31, 20170

Whales & Drones

Remotely controlled drones provide a quiet way to track animal behavior.
Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper Monday, October 30, 20170

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Robotic engineers at JPL are turning to bio-mimicry and using a gecko as their design guide.

Fishing for Plastic Saturday, October 28, 20170

Fishing for Plastic

It takes garbage to make a boat.

Tsunami Invaders Thursday, October 26, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

The Playful Wonderland Tuesday, October 24, 20170

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Monday, October 23, 20170

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost for 1000 years.

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate' Saturday, October 21, 20170

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate'

Avoiding 'dirty chocolate'.

Mars in VR Thursday, October 19, 20170

Mars in VR

Mars as if you were there.

Sounds of Space-Time Merging Wednesday, October 18, 20170

Sounds of Space-Time Merging

An audio recording 130 million years old.

What's Under All That Ice? Tuesday, October 17, 20170

What's Under All That Ice?

Remote sensing is producing a revolution in glaciology.

Observing Neutron Stars Collide Monday, October 16, 20170

Observing Neutron Stars Collide

For the first time, neutron stars were detected colliding.

Sand Kitty Saturday, October 14, 20170

Sand Kitty

Desert sand kittens on video.