Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Monday, September 30, 2013

One Way to Mars

These people deserve a one-way ticket to another planet. Or anywhere. 
Once an Ocean, Now an Island Sunday, September 29, 20130

Once an Ocean, Now an Island

We often forget what a dynamic bit of rock we live on until being reminded by an earthquake.
95% Certain Friday, September 27, 20130

95% Certain

The latest IPCC report on climate change states that humans are the cause of global temperature increases with 95% certainty.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

The Bonobo and the Atheist

Plant Breeders Rock Tuesday, September 24, 20130

Plant Breeders Rock

Everyone depends on the creations of a plant breeder.

Monday, September 23, 2013

Are Dung Beetles Smarter Than Us?

[He's coming for your dung! Run! In a straight line!] By Reilly Capps Dung beetles navigate by the stars. Either dung beetles are...
Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Sunday, September 22, 20130

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Robots are far better than humans for exploring planets and far off moons. The ESA is showing the way with 'slither-bots' for Mars.
My First Week on Plastic Island Saturday, September 21, 20130

My First Week on Plastic Island

By Lucas Gardner Far out in the Pacific exists a massive island of trash known as Plastic Island. Here is a recap of my first week living there.
Have a Wonderful Day...or Night Thursday, September 19, 20130

Have a Wonderful Day...or Night

With bad news galore, a long-exposure image of the moon and Venus reminds us that beauty still happens.
6th Extinction Tuesday, May 7, 20190

6th Extinction

Losses rapid in biodiversity.

Laser Forestry Monday, May 6, 20190

Laser Forestry

GEDI to the rescue.

Cyclone Fani Friday, May 3, 20190

Cyclone Fani

Satellite mapping a super-Cyclone.

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code Wednesday, May 1, 20190

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code

Living on a coast, sea level rise should be of interest.

Art from Space Monday, April 29, 20190

Art from Space

Photography is an essential tool of exploration.

Intelligent Designers Saturday, April 27, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

George Saunders on Kindness Friday, April 26, 20190

George Saunders on Kindness

Kindness is a trait everyone should try to practice.

Selfies Can Be Amazing Thursday, April 25, 20190

Selfies Can Be Amazing

Selfies can be amazing.

10 Ideas for any Earth Day Wednesday, April 24, 20190

10 Ideas for any Earth Day

Every day should be Earth Day!

Earth Day, Every Day Monday, April 22, 20190

Earth Day, Every Day

Earth Day 2019

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency! Sunday, April 21, 20190

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency!

Energy efficiency is the 'name of the game'.

Botany, an Extreme Sport Wednesday, April 17, 20190

Botany, an Extreme Sport

Climbing gear serving plant conservation.

Chasing Water With Gabions Tuesday, April 16, 20190

Chasing Water With Gabions

An appropriate river restoration technology.

Lost & Found Worlds Sunday, April 14, 20190

Lost & Found Worlds

Biogeography rules: odd things evolve on islands.

Cane Toad Horrors Saturday, April 13, 20190

Cane Toad Horrors

'Frankentoads' of the amphibian world.

Tough Times for Bristlecones Thursday, April 11, 20190

Tough Times for Bristlecones

The trees may be reaching their limits.

First a Theory, Now a Fact Wednesday, April 10, 20190

First a Theory, Now a Fact

First black hole photographed.

Echoes of Carl Monday, April 8, 20190

Echoes of Carl

Carl Sagan coined the phrase, a pale blue dot.