Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Stunning View Wednesday, July 31, 20130

Stunning View

Cassini produced a stunning view of Titan, Enceladus, and Saturn's rings.
John Hunter on 4th Grader Achievements Tuesday, July 30, 20130

John Hunter on 4th Grader Achievements

Everyone knows great teachers matter.
Hi, my name is Click, Whistle, Pop Monday, July 29, 20130

Hi, my name is Click, Whistle, Pop

Dolphins have individual names that they recognize.
Attack of the Cannibal Lobsters Sunday, July 28, 20130

Attack of the Cannibal Lobsters

Marine studies in Maine have observed cannibalization in lobsters for the first time
Granary's Rainbow Saturday, July 27, 20130

Granary's Rainbow

Up a desolate canyon, by a slow-moving river, far from any roads...sounds like the beginning of a mystery novel. A novel it isn't but a mystery it...
Dam Down Friday, July 26, 20130

Dam Down

Using cranes and heavy-duty engineering gear, the Veazie Dam has been breached on the Penobscot River in Maine.
Size Doesn't Matter Thursday, July 25, 20130

Size Doesn't Matter

Hurricanes and cyclones can be tiny or large. Irrespective of the size they are a danger.
Echoes of Carl Wednesday, July 24, 20130

Echoes of Carl

Carl Sagan coined the famous phrase: a pale blue dot to describe how Earth would appear if seen from far in outer space.
River Running Monday, July 22, 20130

River Running

Environmental restoration has multiple meanings. Reseeding a tall-grass prairie, helping to recover endangered sea turtles, or restoring a river...
As Irma Approaches Wednesday, September 6, 20170

As Irma Approaches

Hurricane Irma is arriving 1-week after Harvey!

Endangered Species...Individual Actions Sunday, September 3, 20170

Endangered Species...Individual Actions

Individuals involved directly in species conservation.

Juno as Monet Friday, September 1, 20170

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge Thursday, August 31, 20170

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge

Remembering good times before the bad.

Parking Lot Wednesday, August 30, 20170

Parking Lot

"They paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event Tuesday, August 29, 20170

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event

Harvey is breaking all rainfall records and it's still raining.
What Climate Models Show & Predict Sunday, August 27, 20170

What Climate Models Show & Predict

Weather events are amplified by climate change.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 26, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Here Comes Harvey Thursday, August 24, 20170

Here Comes Harvey

Hurricane Harvey carrying a 'waterworld' of rain.

Environmental Space Monitoring Wednesday, August 23, 20170

Environmental Space Monitoring

Volcanic eruption seen from space.

Tetons in Totality Monday, August 21, 20170

Tetons in Totality

A national and local eclipse festival.

Night Vision Thursday, August 17, 20170

Night Vision

Tracking ice cracks in thermal infrared.

Elemental Haikus Wednesday, August 16, 20170

Elemental Haikus

A table of elemental poems with purpose.

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him? Tuesday, August 15, 20170

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him?

Phillipe Cousteau invisions a new environmental movement.

Fractal Jupiter Monday, August 14, 20170

Fractal Jupiter

Imagine Jupiter as a Grateful Dead poster.

Volcanoes Underwater Saturday, August 12, 20170

Volcanoes Underwater

Undersea island formation explained by volcanoes.

Greeenland Is Burning Friday, August 11, 20170

Greeenland Is Burning

When Big is Better Thursday, August 10, 20170

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.