Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Yardangs & Salt Flats Monday, June 30, 20140

Yardangs & Salt Flats

Inhospitable might best describe the Salar de Arizaro in South America.
Placing Lids on Emissions Sunday, June 29, 20140

Placing Lids on Emissions

A new map shows that real progress can be made in reducing air pollutants if "lids" are put on the gases.
Orion Rising Saturday, June 28, 20140

Orion Rising

The Greeks named the three stars oriented like beads on a string as Orion's Belt. The Hunter also carried a sword.
Martian Selfie Friday, June 27, 20140

Martian Selfie

The Martian explorer Curiosity took a birthday selfie.
Risky Business Thursday, June 26, 20140

Risky Business

Risk analysis is used in business to identify factors that can jeopardize a project. Climate change is ideal for such an analysis.
Mission Ocean Wednesday, June 25, 20140

Mission Ocean

The Global Oceans Commission has just released an important report: Mission Ocean
Auroras by Any Name Tuesday, June 24, 20140

Auroras by Any Name

A progression of stunning ultra-violet auroras.
Wavy Jets Monday, June 23, 20140

Wavy Jets

The jet stream has been making some big waves lately. 
March of the Penguins Sunday, June 22, 20140

March of the Penguins

Science is self-correcting as new data disrupts old dogmas. A colony of marching penguins shows the way.
As Irma Approaches Wednesday, September 6, 20170

As Irma Approaches

Hurricane Irma is arriving 1-week after Harvey!

Endangered Species...Individual Actions Sunday, September 3, 20170

Endangered Species...Individual Actions

Individuals involved directly in species conservation.

Juno as Monet Friday, September 1, 20170

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge Thursday, August 31, 20170

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge

Remembering good times before the bad.

Parking Lot Wednesday, August 30, 20170

Parking Lot

"They paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event Tuesday, August 29, 20170

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event

Harvey is breaking all rainfall records and it's still raining.
What Climate Models Show & Predict Sunday, August 27, 20170

What Climate Models Show & Predict

Weather events are amplified by climate change.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 26, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Here Comes Harvey Thursday, August 24, 20170

Here Comes Harvey

Hurricane Harvey carrying a 'waterworld' of rain.

Environmental Space Monitoring Wednesday, August 23, 20170

Environmental Space Monitoring

Volcanic eruption seen from space.

Tetons in Totality Monday, August 21, 20170

Tetons in Totality

A national and local eclipse festival.

Night Vision Thursday, August 17, 20170

Night Vision

Tracking ice cracks in thermal infrared.

Elemental Haikus Wednesday, August 16, 20170

Elemental Haikus

A table of elemental poems with purpose.

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him? Tuesday, August 15, 20170

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him?

Phillipe Cousteau invisions a new environmental movement.

Fractal Jupiter Monday, August 14, 20170

Fractal Jupiter

Imagine Jupiter as a Grateful Dead poster.

Volcanoes Underwater Saturday, August 12, 20170

Volcanoes Underwater

Undersea island formation explained by volcanoes.

Greeenland Is Burning Friday, August 11, 20170

Greeenland Is Burning

When Big is Better Thursday, August 10, 20170

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.