Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon Sunday, June 30, 20130

Economists Have A One-Page Solution To Climate Change...Price Carbon

What ecologists have known for some time, economists are coming to realize: an easy and non-bureaucratic climate solution exists that would have a...
Islands Make Wakes...who knew? Saturday, June 29, 20130

Islands Make Wakes...who knew?

Like a saliboat on a calm sea, a canoe on a lake, or a vessel on any body of water, islands can produce a wake as well. Who knew?

Friday, June 28, 2013

Your Future Has Arrived

By Reilly Capps People like to complain that the futuristic-sounding year 2000 came and went without a particularly futuristic feel. Where's my...
Voyager Still Surprises Friday, June 28, 20130

Voyager Still Surprises

The Voyager space probe has passed into a strange and unpredicted zone of space. The original models will all need to be changed.
Ponderosa Pines: 2 Views Thursday, June 27, 20130

Ponderosa Pines: 2 Views

Colorado has been burning. Part of the reason is past forest management.

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

What Counts on Speeches? Optics, and Pit Stains

By Reilly Capps Obama's speech on the environment had excellent optics -- but they could have been even better. If Obama wants to attract...

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

A Big Day for the Environment: DeChristopher is on Letterman

By Reilly Capps Tim DeChristopher, recently sprung from federal prison, is scheduled to be on "The Late Show with David Letterman" tonight....
Science Fair Projects That Will Get You Noticed Monday, June 24, 20130

Science Fair Projects That Will Get You Noticed

By Lucas Gardner When school comes back around this spring, some of you younger readers might find yourself in need of some ideas for science...

Sunday, June 23, 2013

The New Genius

By Reilly Capps There've been a few people lately standing up for for poetry and literature, but poetry's old and tired. Homer. The psalmist....
Denying Science Thursday, January 10, 20190

Denying Science

Rejecting 'magic beans'.

What is Invisible? Tuesday, January 8, 20190

What is Invisible?

Dealing with the invisible.

Low-cost Reforestation Monday, January 7, 20190

Low-cost Reforestation

Successful reforesation that 'works with nature'.

When Big is Better Sunday, January 6, 20190

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Friday, January 4, 20190

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost a 1000 years ago.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Thursday, January 3, 20190

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

An animated story of de-extension.

New Years Flyby Tuesday, January 1, 20190

New Years Flyby

A robotic explorer beyond the known frontier.

Caving on Mars Monday, December 31, 20180

Caving on Mars

Living underground on Mars.

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2 Saturday, December 29, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2

Krakatau is again active.

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Friday, December 28, 20180

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program for fossil fuel sobriety.

A Rover's Photo Album Thursday, December 27, 20180

A Rover's Photo Album

Martian geology seen by Curiosity. 

A Frozen Crater Lake Tuesday, December 25, 20180

A Frozen Crater Lake

A lake on Mars.

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space Friday, December 21, 20180

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space

A photograph that changed perceptions.

Surf's Up, Way Up Wednesday, December 19, 20180

Surf's Up, Way Up

Stay well back!

Rare Bird Rediscovered Tuesday, December 18, 20180

Rare Bird Rediscovered

Rediscovered cloud forest species.

Plant Intelligence Monday, December 17, 20180

Plant Intelligence

An understanding of intelligence in plants.

Plant of the Month Saturday, December 15, 20180

Plant of the Month

An occasional series of botanical treats.

Life on Mars, 2020 Thursday, December 13, 20180

Life on Mars, 2020

A new Mars rover will search for past life.